Screening programme: Early detection of breast cancer

General information

Since 2014, Austria has had a national, quality-assured programme for the early detection of breast cancer with low-threshold access (automatic activation of the e-card). In addition to the mammogram, an ultrasound examination is also included in the screening programme. Participation in the early detection programme is not mandatory.

Procedure

As part of the breast cancer early detection programme, all women with social insurance in Austria between the ages of 45 and 69 are invited to have an early detection mammogram every two years. The women concerned are automatically sent a reminder letter regarding the examination. The invitation letters are sent out by the coordination body of the Austrian Breast Cancer Early Detection Programme. The address can be obtained from the relevant health insurance provider.

Advice

Women between the ages of 45 and 69 can also arrange an appointment at a participating radiology institute for early detection mammography every two years, simply by using the e-card, without the need to be referred by a doctor.

Women in this age group who do not have insurance, as well as younger women over 40 and women over 70, can also request an invitation from the telephone service line on 0800 500 181. Would-be participants can also register to take part online via the following link (→ früh-erkennen) German text.

The invitation contains a list of the certified radiologists in each federal province. You can also contact the telephone service line on 0800 500 181 and visit → früh-erkennen.at to find any relevant addresses throughout Austria. Mammogram appointments can be made directly with the selected X ray facility.

It is possible to nominate a trusted doctor (e.g. gynaecologist or general medical practitioner) to the radiologist. This doctor can than discuss any questions about the breast cancer early detection programme before the examination and can also be contacted to discuss the results.

Organisation

The Austrian Breast Cancer Early Detection Programme is run centrally via a coordination body, which is based at the Austrian health insurance fund. It is funded by the federal government, the provinces and the social insurance fund.

Quality criteria for the examination

Breast examinations are subject to full quality assurance. For every mammogram, diagnosis is made according to the dual control principle and independently by two radiologists. Furthermore, all doctors taking part in the programme must adhere to strict quality criteria, e.g. special advanced training diplomas and a minimum number of examinations per year. Defined requirements are also set for the technical equipment used by the radiology institutes, stating that only low-radiation, digital mammography devices may be used.

Objectives of the programme

  • Mobilising and informing the programme’s target groups
  • Early detection of breast cancer in a non-invasive or non-metastatic stage
  • Improved chances of cure and use of more gentle therapies
  • Increasing the proportion of breast-conserving operations
  • Minimising unnecessary medical interventions thanks to a standardised and quality-assured clarification procedure
  • Reduction of the breast-cancer mortality rate

Further links

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 September 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Screening-Programm: Brustkrebs-Früherkennung

Allgemeines

Seit 2014 gibt es in Österreich ein nationales, qualitätsgesichertes Programm zur Früherkennung von Brustkrebs mit niederschwelligem Zugang (automatische Freischaltung der e-card). Zusätzlich zur Mammographie ist auch eine Ultraschall-Untersuchung im Screening-Programm enthalten. Die Teilnahme am Früherkennungsprogramm ist nicht verpflichtend.

Ablauf

Im Zuge des Brustkrebs-Früherkennungsprogramms werden alle in Österreich sozialversicherten Frauen zwischen 45 und 69 Jahren alle zwei Jahre zu einer Früherkennungs-Mammografie aufgefordert. Die betreffenden Frauen werden automatisch schriftlich an die Untersuchung erinnert. Die Einladungsbriefe werden von der Koordinierungsstelle des Österreichischen Brustkrebs-Früherkennungsprogramms verschickt. Diese bekommt die Adresse vom jeweiligem Krankenversicherungsträger.

Hinweis

Frauen zwischen 45 und 69 Jahren können zudem alle zwei Jahre, einfach mit der e-card nach vorheriger Terminvereinbarung ein teilnehmendes Radiologie-Institut zur Früherkennungsmammografie aufsuchen – ohne ärztliche Überweisung.

Auch nicht versicherte Frauen dieser Altersgruppe sowie jüngere Frauen ab 40 Jahren und Frauen ab 70 Jahren können eine Einladung bei der Telefon-Serviceline unter 0800 500 181 anfordern. Ebenso steht ein Web Opt-In "Registrierung zur Teilnahme über das Internet (→ früh-erkennen)" zur Verfügung.

Die Einladung enthält eine Liste mit den zertifizierten Radiologinnen/Radiologen im jeweiligen Bundesland. Alle österreichweiten Adressen können auch bei der Telefon-Serviceline unter 0800 500 181 und im Internet unter www.frueh-erkennen.at in Erfahrung gebracht werden. Die Termine für eine Mammografie können direkt bei der gewählten Röntgeneinrichtung vereinbart werden.

Es ist möglich, bei der Radiologin/dem Radiologen eine Ärztin/einen Arzt des Vertrauens (z.B. Gynäkologin/Gynäkologe, Allgemeinmedizinerin/Allgemeinmediziner) zu nennen. Mit dieser Vertrauensärztin/diesem Vertrauensarzt können Fragen zum Brustkrebs-Früherkennungs-Programm bereits vor dieser Untersuchung erörtert werden bzw. kann diese/dieser auch zur Befundbesprechung kontaktiert werden.

Organisation

Das Österreichische Brustkrebs-Früherkennungsprogramm wird zentral über eine Koordinierungsstelle geführt, welche in der Österreichischen Gesundheitskasse stationiert ist. Die Finanzierung übernehmen der Bund, die Länder und die Sozialversicherung.

Qualitätskriterien der Untersuchung

Die Brustuntersuchungen unterliegen einer umfassenden Qualitätssicherung. Bei jeder Mammografie erfolgt die Befundung nach dem Vier-Augen-Prinzip unabhängig voneinander von zwei Radiologinnen/Radiologen. Weiters müssen alle am Programm teilnehmenden Ärztinnen/Ärzte strenge Qualitätskriterien erfüllen, z.B. spezielle Fortbildungsdiplome und eine Mindestanzahl an Untersuchungen pro Jahr. Auch an die technische Ausstattung der Radiologie-Institute sind definierte Anforderungen gestellt, so dürfen ausschließlich strahlungsarme, digitale Mammografiegeräte zur Anwendung kommen.

Ziele des Programms

  • Mobilisierung und Information der Zielgruppen des Programms
  • Früherkennung von Brustkrebs in einem nicht-invasiven bzw. metastasenfreien Stadium
  • Verbesserung der Chancen auf Heilung sowie Anwendung schonenderer Therapien
  • Erhöhung des Anteils an brusterhaltenden Operationen
  • Minimierung von unnötigen medizinischen Eingriffen durch ein standardisiertes und qualitätsgesichertes Abklärungsverfahren
  • Senkung der Brustkrebssterblichkeit

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 7. Juli 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz