General information on employee assessment

General information

Caution

In general, these regulations also apply to citizens of EU Member States in Austria.

Your salary tax is calculated as if you had earned the same amount over the entire year. If your income has fluctuated – due to a change of job, for example – an employee assessment is worthwhile. This will cause the tax to be recalculated and distributed equally across the year. This often reveals that too much tax has been paid and there will be a salary tax credit direct to your account. On the other hand, if in your case it results in an additional tax payment, you may withdraw your application for employee assessment, unless there are grounds for compulsory assessment.

With an employee assessment (Form L 1), you can claim the following after the end of the year:

  • Sole earner or single parent credit (even if this has already been claimed from the employer)
  • Multiple child supplement
  • Flat-rate commuter credit (unless this has already been claimed from the employer)
  • Additional contribution to health insurance for co-insured dependants
  • Any mandatory insurance contributions on account of marginal employment
  • Additional occupational expenses (e.g. specialist literature, professional development training costs)
  • Any special expenses that have not been automatically notified
  • Maintenance credit (Form L 1k)
  • Until 2018: Child tax credit (Form L 1k)
  • From 2019: Family Bonus Plus (Form L 1k)
  • Exceptional costs (Form L 1ab, e.g. due to disability)
  • Any tax-free sums for holders of Victims’ Welfare certificates and passes

For assessment years from 2016, employees have in certain cases received their tax credit automatically if all of their income is subject to salary tax (Employee assessment without application).

Voluntary employee assessment

Employees who are expecting a tax credit can submit an employee assessment to the tax officeGerman text on their own account using form L 1.

Persons subject to salary tax (office-holders, employees, officials, pensioners) are assessed for income tax (→ USP) by the tax office under the ‘employee assessment’ (previously ‘annual settlement’) process.

A tax credit can normally be expected in the following cases:

  • If during the year you have received different levels of income and your employer has not used the rolling-up process
  • If during the year you have changed employer or were not employed for the whole year
  • If, due to your low level of pay, you are entitled to "SV repayment"German text (tax credit)
  • If you are entitled to the sole earner/single parent credit or a flat-rate commuter credit that has not been taken into account in your current salary calculation.
  • If you are claiming occupational expenses, special expenses or exceptional costs that have not yet been taken into account in a personal tax credit assessment.
  • If you are claiming allowances for income-related expenses, special expenses or extraordinary expenses that have not yet been taken into account in an allowance notice

Mandatory employee assessment

Under the following conditions, you must enter an employee assessment (mandatory assessment) using Form L 1:

If your income in the relevant year has exceeded 12,000 Euro and the following specific points apply:

  • If the sole earner/single parent credit, the increased travel credit or increased pensioner credit has been applied in the current salary calculation but the conditions for these have not been met
  • If during the calendar year you have been in receipt, at least temporarily, of two or more incomes simultaneously that are subject to salary tax and that have not have been jointly taxed for salary tax purposes (e.g. company pension alongside ASVG pension).
  • If you have claimed a flat-rate commuter credit to which you are not entitled or at the incorrect level or have not supplied the required notification of a change of circumstances
  • From 2019: If a Family Bonus Plus has been included in the salary calculation but the conditions for this have not been met or if it transpires that a sum to which you were not entitled has been applied

oesterreich.gv.at also provides information on the subject of the flat-rate commuter credit and on aspects of tax law for persons with disabilities and traders (→ USP).

If, in addition to income subject to salary tax, you have received other income (e.g. income from trading or from rentals and lettings) exceeding a total amount of 730 Euro (assessment-free limit), you must similarly submit a tax return. In this case, an income tax return must be used (form E1 together with supplement E 1a for business income).

Deadlines

  • Voluntary employee assessment
    You have five years in which to apply for an employee assessment (e.g. the application for 2019 can be made up to the end of December 2024).
  • Mandatory employee assessment
    Deadline: 30 April or (for online returns) 30 June of the following year

Competent authority

The tax officeGerman text

Procedure

You can send your application for an employee assessment to the tax office electronically via FinanzOnline. You can, of course, also still send you application by post or submit it in person to your tax office. The tax office processes applications in order of receipt.

The tax office will carry out an employee assessment at your request and transfer the salary tax credit to your account.

Do not enclose any salary certificates with the declarations that you send in order for the employee assessment to be carried out. These are sent to the tax office by the employer (or the body paying the pension). Nor should you enclose with your declarations any records (invoices, acknowledgements, remittance advices) for occupational expenses, special expenses or exceptional costs. Retain these records, for seven years, though, as you must be able to present them if they are demanded by the tax office.

If you yourself do not submit or are not required to submit an employee assessment return, the tax officeGerman text will, in the following circumstances, ask you to submit a return (by sending a Form L1German text) and will carry out a mandatory assessment:

  • If during the calendar year you have been in receipt, at least temporarily, of two or more incomes simultaneously that are subject to salary tax and that have not have been jointly taxed for salary tax purposes (e.g. company pension alongside ASVG pension)
  • If during the calendar year you have been paid sick pay out of statutory social security funds, have received money under the Armed Forces Payments Act (e.g. for troop or squad exercises), have received payment of a service voucher or if mandatory social security payments have been refunded
  • If payments have been received from the Insolvency Remuneration Fund.
  • If a tax credit assessment has been included in your salary calculation during the relevant calendar year.

Further information

Back-payments and corrective payments

A corrective payment may be required in particular if multiple payments subject to salary tax have been received simultaneously and were not jointly taxed when the payments were calculated. In this case, each body or pension fund making a payment will have calculated the salary tax due only on the basis of the sums or pensions that it alone has paid out. This means that too little salary tax will have been paid in total.

During the employee assessment, these payments are taxed as if you had received the total in the form of a single payment. You will thus be in the same position as a person who has just one employment but has received the same wage or pension as has been paid to you from a number of sources. In such cases, regular prepayments must be made; these will be balanced against the demands for outstanding tax and will reduce the latter or ensure that there is no need for a corrective payment.

Prepayments

Those liable for income tax must make quarterly prepayments equalling the anticipated income taxGerman text.

Prepayments may be required from those subject to salary tax in particular if multiple payments subject to salary tax have been received simultaneously and were not jointly taxed when the payments were calculated. The first time that two payments occur together, it may happen that in that year, the corrective payment for the previous year coincides with the prepayment for the current year. On the other hand, the prepayments for the current year will save you having to make possible corrective payments as a result of the subsequent assessment for this year.

Income tax return (Form E 1)

You are required to submit an income tax return (Income tax return – E 1German text and additional enclosures) if

  • In addition to income subject to salary tax, you have received other income (e.g. from contracts for work, income as a new self-employed person, income from rentals and lettings) totalling more than 730 Euro. Fully taxed capital yields do not count towards this total.
  • You have received income from capital assets from which no capital yields tax has been deducted (Enclosure E 1kv)
  • You have received income from private taxable sales of land that were not taxed at the time of the sale.

Deadline: 30 April or (for online returns) 30 June of the following year

Taxation of multiple pensions

Where multiple pensions are received simultaneously (e.g. statutory pensions, civil service pensions, pensions from previous service with a federal province, pensions from domestic pension funds), joint taxation is required in order to avoid the need for prepayments and corrective payments.

Example

If a person receives a pension from the federal government or from a province and in addition a widow’s pension from the Pension Insurance Institution for Employees, the body paying the higher pension withholds the applicable salary tax due on both sources of remuneration.

If you receive a company pension in addition to your ASVGGerman text(social security) pension, there is no joint taxation requirement. In such cases, however, the previous employer can assume responsibility for the payment and taxation of your ASVG pension (although it is not obliged to do so).

Further links

Advice

When a person dies, their heir generally has the right to submit the dead person’s employee return. As evidence of their general right of succession, it is necessary to present to the tax office the Decision of Delegation (Einantwortungsbeschluss) (with the official stamp).

Link to form

FormsGerman text on this matter

Since assessment year 2010, Forms L 1, L 1i, L 1ab and L 1k have been machine-read to avoid errors and improve processing. For this reason, the relevant forms are no longer available as downloadable versions but can be ordered free of charge on the website of the Federal Ministry of Finance (→ BMF)German text. Only the accessible forms for blind and partially sighted people are still downloadable. It is even quicker to handle the employee assessment through FinanzOnline.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Allgemeines zur Arbeitnehmerveranlagung

Allgemeine Informationen

Ihre Lohnsteuer wird so berechnet, als ob Sie das ganze Jahr über gleich viel verdient hätten. Wenn Ihr Einkommen aber geschwankt hat – z.B. wegen eines Jobwechsels – zahlt sich eine Arbeitnehmerveranlagung aus. Hierbei wird die Steuer neu berechnet und gleichmäßig übers Jahr verteilt. Häufig stellt sich dabei heraus, dass man zu viel bezahlt hat und es gibt eine Lohnsteuergutschrift direkt auf Ihr Konto. Sollte es in Ihrem Fall jedoch zu einer Steuernachzahlung kommen, können Sie, wenn kein Pflichtveranlagungsgrund vorliegt, den Antrag auf Arbeitnehmerveranlagung zurückziehen.

Bei der Arbeitnehmerveranlagung können Sie nach Ablauf des Jahres mit dem Formular L1 Folgendes geltend machen:

  • Alleinverdiener- und Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag
    (auch wenn dieser schon gegenüber der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber geltend gemacht wurde)
  • Unterhaltsabsetzbetrag
  • Mehrkindzuschlag
  • Pendlerpauschale (soweit nicht schon gegenüber der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber geltend gemacht)
  • Zusatzbeitrag in der Krankenversicherung für mitversicherte Angehörige
  • Eventuell Pflichtversicherungsbeiträge aufgrund einer geringfügigen Beschäftigung
  • Weitere Werbungskosten (z.B. Fachliteratur, Fortbildungskosten)
  • Eventuell Sonderausgaben, die nicht automatisch vermittelt werden
  • Bis 2018: Kinderfreibetrag (Formular L1k)
  • Ab 2019: Familienbonus Plus (Formular L1k)
  • Außergewöhnliche Belastungen (Formular L1ab, z.B. aufgrund einer Behinderung)
  • Eventuell Freibeträge für Inhaber von Amtsbescheinigungen und Opferausweisen

Seit dem Veranlagungsjahr 2016 erhalten Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer in bestimmten Fällen ihre Steuergutschrift automatisch, wenn sie ausschließlich lohnsteuerpflichtige Einkünfte beziehen (antraglose Arbeitnehmerveranlagung).

Freiwillige Arbeitnehmerveranlagung

Wer eine Lohnsteuergutschrift erwartet, kann von sich aus mit dem Formular L1 beim Finanzamt die Arbeitnehmerveranlagung einreichen.

Lohnsteuerpflichtige (Angestellte, Arbeiterinnen/Arbeiter, Beamtinnen/Beamte, Pensionistinnen/Pensionisten) werden vom Finanzamt im Rahmen der sogenannten "Arbeitnehmerveranlagung" (früher: Jahresausgleich) zur Einkommensteuer erfasst.

Eine Steuergutschrift ist normalerweise in folgenden Fällen zu erwarten:

  • Wenn Sie während des Jahres unterschiedlich hohe Bezüge erhalten haben und die Arbeitgeberin/der Arbeitgeber keine Lohnsteuer-Aufrollung durchgeführt hat
  • Wenn Sie während des Jahres die Arbeitgeberin/den Arbeitgeber gewechselt haben oder nicht ganzjährig beschäftigt waren
  • Wenn Sie aufgrund der geringen Höhe Ihrer Bezüge Anspruch auf "SV-Rückerstattung" (Steuergutschrift) haben
  • Wenn Sie Anspruch auf den Alleinverdiener-/Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag oder auf ein Pendlerpauschale haben, der oder das bei der laufenden Lohnverrechnung nicht berücksichtigt wurde
  • Wenn Sie Werbungskosten, Sonderausgaben oder außergewöhnliche Belastungen geltend machen, die noch nicht in einem Freibetragsbescheid berücksichtigt wurden

Verpflichtende Arbeitnehmerveranlagung

Unter folgenden Voraussetzungen müssen Sie eine Arbeitnehmerveranlagung (Pflichtveranlagung) mit dem Formular L1 durchführen:

Wenn Ihr Einkommen im betreffenden Jahr 12.000 Euro überstiegen hat und insbesondere folgende Punkte zutreffen:

  • Wenn der Alleinverdiener-/Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag, der erhöhte Verkehrsabsetzbetrag oder der erhöhte Pensionistenabsetzbetrag bei der laufenden Lohnverrechnung berücksichtigt worden ist, die Voraussetzungen aber nicht vorliegen.
  • Wenn Sie im Kalenderjahr zumindest zeitweise gleichzeitig zwei oder mehrere lohnsteuerpflichtige Einkünfte bezogen haben, die beim Lohnsteuerabzug nicht gemeinsam versteuert wurden (z.B. Firmenpension neben ASVG-Pension).
  • Wenn Sie ein Pendlerpauschale zu Unrecht oder in unrichtiger Höhe in Anspruch genommen haben oder Ihrer Meldepflicht über die Änderung der Verhältnisse nicht nachgekommen sind.
  • Wenn Sie unrichtige Angaben für die Steuerbefreiung von Kinderbetreuungskosten abgegeben haben oder Ihrer Meldepflicht über die Änderung der Verhältnisse nicht nachgekommen sind.
  • Ab 2019: Wenn ein Familienbonus Plus bei der Lohnverrechnung berücksichtigt wurde, aber die Voraussetzungen nicht vorlagen oder wenn sich ergibt, dass ein nicht zustehender Betrag berücksichtigt wurde.

oesterreich.gv.at bietet auch Informationen zum Thema "Pendlerpauschale" sowie zu steuerrechtlichen Aspekten für Menschen mit Behinderungen und Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer an.

Wenn Sie neben lohnsteuerpflichtigen Einkünften andere Einkünfte (z.B. Einkünfte aus Gewerbebetrieb oder Einkünfte aus Vermietung und Verpachtung) bezogen haben, die in Summe den Betrag von 730 Euro übersteigen (Veranlagungsfreibetrag), müssen Sie ebenfalls eine Steuererklärung abgeben. In diesem Fall ist das Formular E1 (Einkommensteuererklärung) zu verwenden.

Fristen

  • Freiwillige Arbeitnehmerveranlagung
    Für den Antrag auf Durchführung einer Arbeitnehmerveranlagung haben Sie fünf Jahre Zeit (z.B. kann der Antrag für das Jahr 2018 bis Ende Dezember 2023 gestellt werden).
  • Verpflichtende Arbeitnehmerveranlagung
    Frist: 30. April bzw. 30. Juni (bei Online-Erklärungen) des Folgejahres

Zuständige Stelle

Das Wohnsitzfinanzamt

Verfahrensablauf

Sie können Ihren Antrag zur Arbeitnehmerveranlagung über FinanzOnline elektronisch an das Finanzamt übermitteln. Selbstverständlich ist es weiterhin möglich, Ihren Antrag per Post zu senden oder persönlich bei Ihrem zuständigen Finanzamt abzugeben. Das Finanzamt bearbeitet die Anträge in der Reihenfolge des Einlangens.

Das Finanzamt führt auf Ihren Antrag eine Arbeitnehmerveranlagung durch und überweist die Lohnsteuergutschrift auf Ihr Konto.

Legen Sie den Erklärungen zur Durchführung der Arbeitnehmerveranlagung bitte keine Lohnzettel bei. Diese werden von der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber (oder der pensionsauszahlenden Stelle) dem Finanzamt übermittelt. Legen Sie den Erklärungen auch keine Belege (Rechnungen, Bestätigungen, Zahlungsbelege) für Werbungskosten, Sonderausgaben oder außergewöhnliche Belastungen bei. Bewahren Sie die Belege aber sieben Jahre auf, da sie auf Verlangen des Finanzamtes vorgelegt werden müssen.

Wenn Sie von sich aus keine Erklärung zur Arbeitnehmerveranlagung abgeben oder abgeben müssen, wird Sie das Finanzamt in folgenden Fällen zur Einreichung einer Erklärung auffordern (durch Zusendung eines Formulars L1) und eine Pflichtveranlagung durchführen:

  • Wenn Sie im Kalenderjahr zumindest zeitweise gleichzeitig zwei oder mehrere lohnsteuerpflichtige Einkünfte bezogen haben, die beim Lohnsteuerabzug nicht gemeinsam versteuert wurden (z.B. Firmenpension neben ASVG-Pension)
  • Wenn Ihnen im Kalenderjahr Krankengeld aus der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung oder Bezüge nach dem Heeresgebührengesetz (z.B. für Truppen- oder Kaderübungen) ausbezahlt wurden, Bezüge aus einem Dienstleistungsscheck vorliegen oder Sozialversicherungspflichtbeiträge rückerstattet worden sind 
  • Wenn Zahlungen aus dem Insolvenz-Entgelt-Fonds bezogen wurden 
  • Wenn für das jeweilige Kalenderjahr ein Freibetragsbescheid bei der Lohnverrechnung berücksichtigt wurde

Zusätzliche Informationen

Nachzahlungen

Zu einer Nachzahlung kann es insbesondere kommen, wenn mehrere lohnsteuerpflichtige Bezüge gleichzeitig bezogen wurden und bei der Lohnverrechnung keine gemeinsame Versteuerung erfolgt ist. Dann berechnet jede bezugs- oder pensionsauszahlende Stelle die Lohnsteuer nur für die von ihr ausbezahlten Bezüge oder Pensionen. Insgesamt ergibt sich dadurch eine zu geringe Lohnsteuer.

Bei der Arbeitnehmerveranlagung werden diese Bezüge so besteuert, als hätten Sie den Gesamtbetrag in Form eines Bezugs erhalten. Sie werden also jemandem gleichgestellt, der nur ein Dienstverhältnis hat, aber ebensoviel Gehalt oder Pension bezieht, wie Ihnen aus mehreren Bezügen zugeflossen ist. In solchen Fällen sind regelmäßig Vorauszahlungen zu leisten, die mit der Steuernachforderung gegengerechnet werden und sie verringern oder dazu führen, dass es zu keiner Nachzahlung kommt.

Vorauszahlungen

Einkommensteuerpflichtige müssen in Höhe der voraussichtlichen Einkommensteuer vierteljährlich Vorauszahlungen entrichten.

Bei Lohnsteuerpflichtigen kann es dann zu Vorauszahlungen kommen, wenn mehrere lohnsteuerpflichtige Bezüge gleichzeitig bezogen wurden und bei der Lohnverrechnung keine gemeinsame Versteuerung erfolgt ist. Wenn erstmals zwei Bezüge nebeneinander anfallen, können in einem Jahr die Nachzahlung für das vorangegangene Jahr mit der Vorauszahlung für das laufende Jahr zusammentreffen. Andererseits ersparen Sie sich aufgrund der Vorauszahlungen für das laufende Jahr allfällige Nachzahlungen aus der späteren Veranlagung dieses Jahres.

Einkommensteuererklärung (Formular E1)

Sie sind zur Abgabe einer Einkommensteuererklärung (Einkommensteuererklärung – E1 und Beilagen dazu) verpflichtet, wenn

  • Sie neben lohnsteuerpflichtigen Einkünften andere Einkünfte (z.B. aus Werkverträgen, Einkünfte als neue Selbstständige, Einkünfte aus Vermietung und Verpachtung) von insgesamt mehr als 730 Euro erhalten haben. Endbesteuerte Kapitalerträge sind hier nicht einzurechnen.
  • Sie Einkünfte aus Kapitalvermögen erzielt haben, die keinem Kapitalertragsteuerabzug unterliegen (Beilage E1kv).
  • Sie Einkünfte aus privaten steuerpflichtigen Grundstücksveräußerungen erzielt haben, die beim Verkauf nicht versteuert wurden.

Frist: 30. April bzw. 30. Juni (bei Online-Erklärungen) des Folgejahres

Versteuerung mehrerer Pensionen

Bei gleichzeitigem Bezug von mehreren Pensionen (z.B. gesetzlichen Pensionen, Beamtenpensionen, Pensionen aus einem früheren Dienstverhältnis zu einem Bundesland, Pensionen aus inländischen Pensionskassen) ist eine gemeinsame Versteuerung verpflichtend vorgesehen, um Nach- und Vorauszahlungen zu vermeiden.

Beispiel

Wenn jemand eine Pension vom Bund oder Land und zusätzlich eine Witwenpension von der Pensionsversicherungsanstalt der Angestellten erhält, wird von jener auszahlenden Stelle, die die höhere Pension ausbezahlt, die auf beide Bezüge entfallende Lohnsteuer einbehalten.

Wenn Sie neben Ihrer ASVG-Pension auch eine Firmenpension erhalten, besteht keine Pflicht zur gemeinsamen Versteuerung. In diesen Fällen kann aber die ehemalige Arbeitgeberin/der ehemalige Arbeitgeber die Auszahlung und Versteuerung Ihrer ASVG-Pension übernehmen (sie/er ist dazu jedoch nicht verpflichtet).

Weiterführende Links

Zum Formular

Formulare zu diesem Thema

Seit dem Veranlagungsjahr 2010 werden die Formulare L1, L1i, L1ab sowie L1k maschinell eingelesen, um Fehler zu vermeiden und eine noch bessere Bearbeitung zu ermöglichen. Daher stehen die entsprechenden Formulare nicht mehr als Downloadversion zur Verfügung, können jedoch kostenlos auf den Seiten des Bundesministeriums für Finanzen bestellt werden. Nur die barrierefreien Formulare für blinde und sehbehinderte Personen sind weiterhin downloadbar. Noch rascher kann die Arbeitnehmerveranlagung über FinanzOnline erledigt werden.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 04.07.2019

Abgenommen durch: Bundesministerium für Finanzen