Voting eligibility for elections to the European Parliament

All those who meet the following conditions are eligible to vote in elections to the European Parliament:

  • those who have Austrian citizenship or non-Austrian EU citizens whose primary residenceGerman text is located in Austria,
  • are 16 years old at the latest on the day of the election,
  • who have not been disqualified from voting in Austria or have not lost their voting eligibility in their Member State of origin as a result of a civil or criminal law decision in an individual case and
  • are listed in the European electral register of an Austrian municipality on the date of the election.

Austrian citizens with a primary domestic residence are automatically entered in the European electoral register. Austrian citizens whose primary residence is located abroad (‘Austrians abroad’), as well as non-Austrian EU citizens whose primary residence is located in Austria, must submit a request to be entered in the European electoral register.

Austrians abroad

Austrian citizens whose primary residence is located abroad (Austrians abroad) are entitled to participate in elections to the European Parliament in Austria and to elect the members if tge Austrian European Parliament. This requires entry in the European electoral register in Austria.

Each Austrian abroad whose primary residence is located in a Member State of the European Union is entitled to submit a vote to select the Austrian Members of the European Parliament or the representatives of his/her host country. For electing Austrian Members, a formal declaration must be made when requesting entry in the European electoral register.

Further information on the entry of Austrians abroad in the European electoral register can be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Other EU citizens with primary residence in Austria

Other EU citizens whose primary residence is located in Austria may also choose whether they wish to vote to select the Austrian Members of the European Parliament or the representatives of their Member State of origin. You must be entered in the European electoral register in Austria in order to vote to select the Austrian Members. This application must be accompanied by a formal declaration that you wish to vote to elect the Austrian Members of the European Parliament.

Further information on the entry of other EU citizens with primary residence in Austria in the European electoral register can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Only eligible voters whose names are included in the closed electoral roll may participate in an election. You are entitled to view the electoral roll prior to the election during a specific viewing period and, if necessary, submit a request for correction. Further information on the registration of eligible voters (electoral register, electoral roll) can be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

For elections to the European Parliament, voting is also possible using a voting card at any polling station or by way of postal voting. If required, a visit from a special electoral authority (‘flying electoral commission’) can also be requested.

Austrian citizens whose primary residence is located abroad (who are entered in the electoral register of an Austrian municipality upon request) and persons who are only staying abroad temporarily have the option of voting from abroad by postal vote.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of the Interior

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Aktive Wahlberechtigung bei Europawahlen

Aktiv wahlberechtigt bei Europawahlen, d.h. zur Stimmabgabe berechtigt, sind alle Personen,

  • die die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft besitzen oder nicht österreichische EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürger mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich,
  • spätestens am Wahltag 16 Jahre alt sind,
  • in Österreich nicht vom Wahlrecht ausgeschlossen sind bzw. in ihrem Herkunftsmitgliedstaat nicht infolge einer zivil- oder strafrechtlichen Einzelfallentscheidung ihr aktives Wahlrecht verloren haben und
  • am Stichtag in der Europa-Wählerevidenz einer österreichischen Gemeinde geführt werden.

Österreicherinnen/Österreicher mit Hauptwohnsitz im Inland werden automatisch in die Europa-Wählerevidenz eingetragen. Österreicherinnen/Österreicher mit Hauptwohnsitz im Ausland ("Auslandsösterreicherinnen/Auslandsösterreicher") müssen ebenso wie nicht österreichische EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürger mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich einen Antrag stellen, um in die Europa-Wählerevidenz aufgenommen zu werden.

Auslandsösterreicher

Österreicherinnen/Österreicher mit Hauptwohnsitz im Ausland (Auslandsösterreicherinnen/Auslandsösterreicher) haben das Recht, an Europawahlen in Österreich teilzunehmen und die österreichischen Europäischen Parlaments zu wählen. Hierfür ist eine Eintragung in die Europa-Wählerevidenz in Österreich erforderlich.

Jene Auslandsösterreicherinnen/Auslandsösterreicher, die ihren Hauptwohnsitz in einem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union haben, haben das Recht, wahlweise die österreichischen Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments oder die Abgeordneten ihres Gastlandes zu wählen. Für die Wahl der österreichischen Mitglieder muss beim Antrag auf Eintragung in die Europa-Wählerevidenz eine förmliche Erklärung dazu abgegeben werden.

Nähere Informationen zur Eintragung von Auslandsösterreicherinnen/Auslandsösterreichern in die Europa-Wählerevidenz finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Andere EU-Bürger mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich

Andere EU-Bürgerinnen/andere EU-Bürger mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich können ebenfalls entscheiden, ob sie die österreichischen Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments oder die Abgeordneten ihres Herkunftsmitgliedstaates wählen möchten. Für die Wahl der österreichischen Mitglieder ist eine Eintragung in die Europa-Wählerevidenz in Österreich erforderlich. Bei diesem Antrag muss eine förmliche Erklärung abgegeben werden, die österreichischen Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments wählen zu wollen.

Nähere Informationen zur Eintragung von anderen EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürgern mit Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich in die Europa-Wählerevidenz finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

An einer Wahl können nur Wahlberechtigte, deren Namen im abgeschlossenen Wählerverzeichnis enthalten sind, teilnehmen. In dieses können Sie vor der Wahl in einem bestimmten Einsichtszeitraum Einsicht nehmen und gegebenenfalls einen Berichtigungsantrag dagegen stellen. Nähere Informationen zur Erfassung der Wahlberechtigten (Wählerevidenz, Wählerverzeichnis) finden sich auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Bei der Europawahl ist die Stimmabgabe auch mittels Wahlkarte – in jedem Wahllokal oder in Form der Briefwahl – möglich. Bei Bedarf kann der Besuch durch eine besondere Wahlbehörde ("Fliegende Wahlkommission") angefordert werden.

Österreicherinnen/Österreicher mit Hauptwohnsitz im Ausland (die auf Antrag in einer österreichischen Gemeinde in die Wählerevidenz eingetragen sind) sowie Personen, die sich nur vorübergehend im Ausland aufhalten, haben die Möglichkeit der Stimmabgabe im Ausland mittels Briefwahl.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Inneres