Working in the non-EU area

General information

Rules regarding entry, residence rights, the right to work and social security vary between countries. It is therefore recommended to contact the diplomatic representation of the country concerned in Austria in the first instance. They should be able to provide comprehensive information and helpful tips for foreigners looking to work in the country concerned.

The Working Holiday Programme

The Working Holiday Programme covers Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea. Taiwan, Australia, Chile, Argentina and Canada. Under the scheme, Austrian citizens aged 18 to 30 can take a working holiday in these countries lasting six or twelve months, doing a job of their choice. The scheme is subject to the applicable rules regarding pay, working conditions and social security provisions.

The Working Holiday Programme is based on the principle of reciprocity, meaning that young Hong Kongers, Israelis (or holders of Israeli citizenship), Japanese, New Zealanders, South Koreans, Taiwanese, Australians, Chileans, Argentinians and Canadians can have a working holiday in Austria under the same conditions.

Applicants to the scheme may need to apply for the relevant visa at the representation of the country concerned in Austria.

Further links

Certified Translation
Last update: 7 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Arbeiten im Nicht-EU-Raum

Allgemeines

Da die Regelungen bezüglich Einreise, Aufenthaltsrecht, Arbeitserlaubnis und Sozialversicherung von Land zu Land unterschiedlich sind, empfiehlt es sich, in einem ersten Schritt die ausländische Vertretungsbehörde in Österreich zu kontaktieren. Dort sind ausführliche Informationen und hilfreiche Tipps für die Arbeitsaufnahme im Ausland erhältlich.

Working Holiday-Programme

Die Working Holiday-Programme mit Hongkong, Israel, Japan, Neuseeland, Südkorea, Taiwan, Australien, Chile und Kanada ermöglichen jungen Österreicherinnen/Österreichern zwischen 18 und 30 Jahren während eines sechs- bzw. zwölfmonatigen Ferienaufenthalts in diesen Ländern einer beliebigen Beschäftigung nachzugehen. Dabei sind die geltenden Lohn- und Arbeitsbedingungen sowie die sozialversicherungsrechtlichen Vorschriften einzuhalten.

Das Working Holiday-Programm basiert auf Gegenseitigkeit, d.h. auch junge Hongkongerinnen/Hongkonger, Japanerinnen/Japaner, Neuseeländerinnen/Neuseeländer, Süd-Koreanerinnen/Süd-Koreaner und Taiwanerinnen/Taiwaner, Australierinnen/Australier, Chileninnen/Chilenen und Kanadierinnen/Kanadier dürfen unter den gleichen Voraussetzungen während eines Working Holiday-Aufenthaltes in Österreich arbeiten.

Je nach Dauer des geplanten Aufenthalts ist bei der ausländischen Vertretungsbehörde in Österreich ein Visum zu beantragen.

Weiterführende Links

Inhaltlicher Stand: 16.01.2019

Abgenommen durch: Bundesministerium für europäische und internationale Angelegenheiten