Working in the non-EU area

General information

Rules regarding entry, residence rights, the right to work and social security vary between countries. It is therefore recommended to contact the diplomatic representation of the country concerned in Austria in the first instance. They should be able to provide comprehensive information and helpful tips for foreigners looking to work in the country concerned.

The Working Holiday Programme

The Working Holiday Programme covers Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea. Taiwan, Australia, Chile, Argentina and Canada. Under the scheme, Austrian citizens aged 18 to 30 can take a working holiday in these countries lasting six or twelve months, doing a job of their choice. The scheme is subject to the applicable rules regarding pay, working conditions and social security provisions.

The Working Holiday Programme is based on the principle of reciprocity, meaning that young Hong Kongers, Israelis (or holders of Israeli citizenship), Japanese, New Zealanders, South Koreans, Taiwanese, Australians, Chileans, Argentinians and Canadians can have a working holiday in Austria under the same conditions.

Applicants to the scheme may need to apply for the relevant visa at the representation of the country concerned in Austria.

Further links

Certified Translation
Last update: 16 February 2023

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs