Looking for work in the EU area

Looking for work locally

Austrian citizens have the right to look for work in any EU member state and, following their search, to decide whether they wish to stay in their adopted country as expatriates. The specific requirements for individual countries are set out on the "Europa für Sie" (Europe for You) portal. Alternatively, you can request further details by contacting the authorities of the country in which you wish to work.

Tip

If you can't find the information you need on Europa für Sie (see the section on Arbeit und Ruhestand - work and retirement), you can contact EUROPA DIREKT free of charge on 00800/67 89 10 11 or online at the Citizens Signpost Service. The experts from the Citizens Signpost Service will answer your questions related to the mobility of labour within the single market free of charge within one week.

You will be granted a period of six months to find work in another country within the single market. Once the six-month period has elapsed, the authorities in the country concerned cannot demand you return to Austria provided that you can produce credible evidence of having looked for work or have a realistic prospect of finding a job (for example, if you have arranged an interview for a job).

Further links

Looking for work via Arbeitsmarktservice (AMS) Österreich

The Austrian Labour Market Service (AMS)  provides a comprehensive range of services for people looking for jobs elsewhere in Europe. Alternatively, you can use the AMS "eJobRoom" to find a job abroad.

You can also contact AMS for any questions on working in the EU and your right to unemployment benefit.

Online advice portal and calculator

AMS entitlements outside AustriaGerman text

Weiterführende Links

EURES – Finding a job in the EU/EEA

EURES is a network of services run jointly by the European Commission, the bodies administering the labour market in individual EU member states and other organisations providing services connected to the jobs market. EURES is designed to encourage cross-border mobility within the EU/EEA labour market, and employs a network of about 1,000 advisers across the EEA and Switzerland. The EURES online application tool is a quick way to submit professional applications for jobs all over the EU/EEA. The EURES portal also provides information about the labour market and living conditions for people working abroad, as well as details of transitional freedom of movement arrangements for employees in all EU/EEA member states.

Tip

You can find information on a variety of important issues, including finding accommodation, schools, taxes, living costs and healthcare, in the "About living & working" section of the EURES website.

Further links

Labour market services/job centres on the Internet

The following countries provide information about their labour market/job openings on the Internet

The United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020. A transitional period has been agreed until 31 December 2020. No major changes affecting access to the labour market are expected during this period. You can find more information about Brexit and what it means for you on the Federal Chancellery's webpages.

Certified Translation
Last update: 18 July 2022
Responsible for the content:
  • oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff
  • Federal Ministry of Labour and Economy

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Arbeitsuche im EU-Raum

Arbeitsuche vor Ort

Österreichische Bürgerinnen/österreichische Bürger haben das Recht, sich in jedem Mitgliedstaat der EU auf Arbeitsuche zu begeben und danach zu entscheiden, ob sie als Auslandsösterreicherin/als Auslandsösterreicher im Land ihrer Wahl bleiben wollen. Die genauen Bestimmungen des jeweiligen Landes sind auf dem Portal "Europa für Sie" verfügbar oder können direkt bei den Behörden des Landes, in dem die Arbeit aufgenommen werden soll, erfragt werden.

TippTipp

Wer auf dem Portal "Europa für Sie" (Kapitel "Arbeit und Ruhestand") die gewünschten Informationen nicht finden konnte, hat die Möglichkeit, eine Anfrage an EUROPA DIREKT unter der kostenfreien Telefonnummer 00800/67 89 10 11 oder online an Citizens Signpost Service zu stellen. Die Expertinnen/Experten von Citizens Signpost Service beantworten kostenlos innerhalb einer Woche Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Mobilität im europäischen Binnenmarkt.

Der Zeitraum, der zur Arbeitsuche eingeräumt wird, umfasst sechs Monate. Auch nach Ablauf der sechs Monate, die zur Arbeitsuche eingeräumt werden, kann nicht zur Rückreise nach Österreich aufgefordert werden, solange die Stellensuche glaubwürdig belegt werden kann oder begründete Erfolgsaussichten (wie etwa Vorstellungsgespräche) nachgewiesen werden können.

Weiterführende Links

Arbeitsuche über das Arbeitsmarktservice (AMS) Österreich

Das Arbeitsmarktservice Österreich bietet einen umfassenden Service zum Thema "Europaweite Vermittlung". Es kann auch im eJobRoom des AMS nach einem Job im Ausland gesucht werden.

Für alle Fragen zum Thema EU- und Arbeitslosenversicherungsrecht, kann ebenfalls das AMS kontaktiert werden.

Online-Ratgeber und -Rechner

AMS-Ansprüche im Ausland

Weiterführende Links

EURES – Europaweite Arbeitsvermittlung

EURES (EURopean Employment Services) ist ein Kooperationsnetzwerk zwischen der Europäischen Kommission, den öffentlichen Arbeitsmarktverwaltungen der Mitgliedstaaten sowie anderen mit Arbeitsmarktdienstleistungen befassten Organisationen, das die Mobilität im Bereich des Arbeitsmarktes über Grenzen hinweg fördert. Rund 1.000 EURES-Beraterinnen/-Berater sind in den EWR-Ländern und der Schweiz tätig. Mit einem Online-Bewerbungstool können europaweite Bewerbungen rasch und professionell erledigt werden. Das EURES Portal enthält auch Informationen zu Arbeitsmarkt, Lebensbedingungen sowie zu den Übergangsbestimmungen zur Freizügigkeit von Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern in allen Mitgliedsländern.

TippTipp

Auf dem EURES-Portal finden sich im Kapitel "Leben und Arbeiten" Informationen zu einer Reihe wichtiger Fragen, wie Wohnungssuche, Schule, Steuern, Lebenserhaltungskosten, Gesundheit etc..

Weiterführende Links

Arbeitsmarktservice via Internet

Folgende Länder bieten Informationen über ihr Arbeitsmarktservice via Internet an:

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019
Abgenommen durch: Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit und Konsumentenschutz