Driving licences in the EU

Within the EEA, driving licences issued by a competent authority in another EEA country (EU Member StatesLiechtenstein, Iceland and Norway) are deemed equivalent to national driving licences.

As a result, if you move your place of residence to another EEA country, you do not need to convert your licence. The authorities in your new country of residence may, however, apply national provisions relating to validity, medical examinations and taxation to holders of driving licences from other EEA countries.

Conversion not mandatory for Austrian driving licences

When travelling elsewhere in the EU, there is no obligation to convert your old paper licence into an EU driving licence (photocard licence). However, holders of an Austrian licence who do wish to convert their licence to a photocard driving licence must visit their local driving licence authority in person.

Further information about converting EU/EEA driving licences and other foreign licences can be found under EU photocard driving licence – general information, EU photocard driving licence – how to apply and d Foreign driving licences – conversion at oesterreich.gv.at.

Further Links

Legal basis

Sections 23 and 33 of the Führerscheingesetz (FSG)EU

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 22 April 2020

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Führerschein in der EU

Eine von der zuständigen Behörde eines EWR-Staates (EU-Mitgliedstaaten, Liechtenstein, Island, Norwegen) ausgestellte Lenkberechtigung ist innerhalb des EWR einer nationalen Lenkberechtigung gleichgestellt.

Der Führerschein muss daher bei einer Wohnsitzverlegung in einen EWR-Staat nicht umgeschrieben werden. Die Behörden des neuen Wohnsitzlandes können aber auf Führerscheinbesitzerinnen/Führerscheinbesitzer eines anderen EWR-Landes die nationalen Bestimmungen hinsichtlich der Gültigkeit, der ärztlichen Untersuchungen und der steuerlichen Bestimmungen anwenden.

Keine Umtauschpflicht für österreichische Führerscheine

Bei Fahrten ins EU-Ausland besteht für den alten Papierführerschein keine Umtauschpflicht in einen EU-Führerschein (Scheckkartenführerschein). Will die Führerscheinbesitzerin/der Führerscheinbesitzer den österreichischen Führerschein jedoch in einen Scheckkartenführerschein umtauschen, muss sie/er sich persönlich an die Behörde wenden.

Weitere Informationen zur Umschreibung von EU-Führerscheinen/EWR-Führerscheinen und sonstigen ausländischen Führerscheinen finden sich unter Scheckkartenführerschein – Allgemeine Informationen, Scheckkartenführerschein – Beantragung und ausländische Führerscheine – Umschreibung ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

§§ 23, 33 Führerscheingesetz (FSG)EU

Letzte Aktualisierung: 22. April 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie