Route toll for motor vehicles weighing up to 3.5 t

General information

Caution

These rules apply to all persons participating in road traffic in Austria.

On particularly cost-intensive trans-Alpine crossing of the Austrian motorway and motorway network, special tariffs (route tolls) apply to motor vehicles up to 3.5 t maximum permissible gross weight. These route toll sections are:

  • A 9 Pyhrn motorway: between the Spital/Pyhrn junction and the Ardning (Bosruck Tunnel) junction, and the section between the St. Michael junction and the Übelbach (Gleinalm Tunnel) junction
  • A 10 Tauern motorway on the section between the Flachau junction and the Rennweg (Tauern-/Katschberg Tunnel) junction
  • A 11 Karawanken motorway on the section between the St. Jakob im Rosental junction and the state border in the Karawanken Tunnel
  • A 13 Brenner motorway
  • S 16 Arlberg express road on the section between the St. Anton am Arlberg junction and the Langen am Arlberg (Arlberg Tunnel) junction

Vignettes are not mandatory on those sections of road subject to a route toll.

Route tolls can be paid per trip or annually (exception for multiple trips: Karawanken Tunnel). A ticket for a single trip can be used within one year from the date of issue. Annual passes are valid for 365 days from when they become valid.

New

The two toll stations on the A 9 Pyhrn motorway (Bosruck and Gleinalm) can now also be passed through without barriers, if a valid digital section toll ticket or an annual pass has been purchased beforehand (more information on the ASFINAG website).

Affected

Drivers of vehicles with a maximum gross vehicle weight of up to 3.5 t.

Requirements

Not applicable

Deadlines

There are no specific deadlines.

Competent authority

Motorway and Express Road Financing Corporation (→ ASFINAG) – collection of the tolls and implementation of the operational tasks is carried out by the company ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH.

Procedure

Route toll passes (single pass or annual pass) can be purchased directly from the relevant toll gate either in cash, by credit card, with a fuel card, by debit car or online in the ASFINAG toll shop. The online purchase must be completed before the journey.

Drivers can then enter any open lane at the toll gate or – if a route toll ticket has already been purchased in advance – into the green marked lane (A 9). Except the specially marked GO lane on the A 10, A 11, A 13 and S 16 – passenger vehicles weighing up to 3.5 t are prohibited from using these lanes. Their motor vehicle registration number will be automatically recognised and with a valid ticket, the barrier opens automatically.

When purchasing a digital route ticket, special attention should be paid to the correct entry/registration of the motor vehicle registration number. Motor vehicle drivers who use motorway sections subject to section toll with a vehicle whose registration number has not been registered correctly commit an administrative offence.

Caution

If the digital annual pass is purchased online as a consumer (in the ASFINAG toll shop or via the ASFINAG app "Unterwegs"), it is valid at the earliest 18 days after purchase. This results from legal provisions (consumer protection) in connection with the right of withdrawal of consumers in distance selling. If the digital annual pass is purchased at a toll station, it is valid immediately.

The digital route toll annual pass can also be purchased on subscription. If you take out a digital subscription, your digital route toll pass will renew automatically each year and the applicable amount will be charged until you cancel your subscription. Then the new annual pass will become valid as soon as the previous one expires.

Required documents

  • Annual pass without vignette deduction, single trip passes, 14-trip monthly pass for the A11: no documents required
  • Annual pass with vignette deduction:
    • receipt slip (base film) for the annual vignette sticker; or
    • product ID for a valid digital annual vignette that is registered to the same vehicle registration number.
  • Annual pass for commuters, annual pass for individuals performing military or civilian service, annual pass for drivers of disability assistance vehicles, annual pass for drivers with a disability on the A 13, residents pass A 13: see application forms

Costs and fees

Information on the route toll prices can be found on the ASFINAG website.

Advice

Commuters and individuals performing military/civil service can obtain an annual pass for a particular route toll section free of charge if they have a valid annual vignette and meet all of the prescribed conditions. The conditions can be found on the ASFINAG website.

Further information

"FLEX Digital Route Toll" service

The "FLEX Digital Route Toll" is a free service provided by ASFINAG that allows you to pay the route toll without cash and without stopping at the toll gates. With the FLEX service, invoicing takes place automatically in retrospect.

It can be activated for every licence plate that is registered in the ASFINAG toll shop. Each time you pass a toll gate, the trip will be recorded under "My account". Tolls are charged to the driver's credit card (American Express, Diners Club, MasterCard, VISA) or paid via SEPA direct debit. It is possible to activate additional vehicle registration numbers or change the stored payment details at any time.

Toll replacement fees and administrative penalties

The toll for the use of a specific route is deemed to have been paid only if a route-specific toll ticket is registered against the motor vehicle registration, or if a ticket is bought at the relevant toll booth.

Drivers who use sections of road subject to individual tolls without paying the associated consideration in the prescribed manner will be asked by ASFINAG to pay a replacement toll. If this replacement fee is not paid, offenders will be liable to administrative penalties as set out in the Bundesstrassen-Mautgesetz 2002. These penalties range from 300 Euro to 3,000 Euro.

You can find out more about toll replacement fees and administrative penalties on the Service and Controls page of ASFINAG's website.

Further links

Legal basis

Expert information

There is no expert information available.

Link to form

Authentication and signature

Not applicable

Means of redress or appeal

Not applicable

Assistance and problem-solving services

There are no assistance or problem-solving services.

Further service points

If you have any queries or complaints regarding toll motorways and express roads in Austria, you can contact the ASFINAG Service Centre:

ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH
Phone: 0800 400 12 400 (free of charge from Austria and Germany)
Phone: +43 1 955 1266
Fax: +43 1 955 1277

E-mail: info@asfinag.at
Postal adress: Alpenstraße 99, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 20 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Streckenmaut für Fahrzeuge bis 3,5 t

Allgemeine Informationen

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten für alle Verkehrsteilnehmerinnen/Verkehrsteilnehmer in Österreich.

Auf besonders kostenintensiven Alpenüberquerungen gelten für Kraftfahrzeuge mit bis 3,5 t höchstzulässigem Gesamtgewicht grundsätzlich gesonderte Streckenmauttarife. Die Streckenmautabschnitte sind folgende Abschnitte des Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßennetzes:

  • A 9 Pyhrn Autobahn in den Abschnitten zwischen der Anschlussstelle Spital/Pyhrn und der Anschlussstelle Ardning (Bosrucktunnel) und zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Michael und der Anschlussstelle Übelbach (Gleinalmtunnel),
  • A 10 Tauern Autobahn im Abschnitt zwischen der Anschlussstelle Flachau und der Anschlussstelle Rennweg (Tauern-/Katschbergtunnel),
  • A 11 Karawanken Autobahn im Abschnitt zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Jakob im Rosental und der Staatsgrenze im Karawankentunnel,
  • A 13 Brenner Autobahn,
  • S 16 Arlberg Schnellstraße im Abschnitt zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Anton am Arlberg und der Anschlussstelle Langen am Arlberg (Arlbergtunnel).

Auf den Streckenmautabschnitten besteht keine Vignettenpflicht.

Für die Streckenmaut sind sowohl Einzelfahrten als auch Jahreskarten (abweichende Regelungen für mehrfache Fahrten durch den Karawankentunnel) erhältlich. Die Einzelfahrt bleibt ein Jahr ab Ausstellungsdatum gültig. Die Jahreskarte ist ab dem Tag der ersten Gültigkeit 365 Tage lang gültig.

Weitere Informationen zur Vignette für Fahrzeuge bis 3,5 t finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Neu

Die beiden Mautstellen an der A 9 Pyhrn Autobahn (Bosruck und Gleinalm) können mit einem digitalen Streckenmautticket oder einer Jahreskarte nun auch schrankenlos durchfahren werden (Nähere Informationen auf der Seite der ASFINAG).

Betroffene

Lenkerinnen/Lenker von Fahrzeugen mit einem höchstzulässigen Gesamtgewicht bis zu 3,5 t

Voraussetzungen

Keine Angaben

Fristen

Es sind keine Fristen zu beachten.

Zuständige Stelle

Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßen-Finanzierungs-Aktiengesellschaft (→ ASFINAG), wobei die Einhebung bzw. die Durchführung der operativen Aufgaben durch die ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH erfolgt.

Verfahrensablauf

Die Streckenmauttickets (Einzelfahrt oder Jahreskarte) können entweder in bar, mit Kreditkarte, Tankkarte oder Bankomatkarte direkt an der jeweiligen Mautstelle bezahlt werden. Außerdem kann die Streckenmaut auch online vorab mit dem Kauf eines Tickets für die Digitalen Streckenmaut entrichtet werden.

Beim Kauf der Digitalen Streckenmaut wird das betroffene Kennzeichen registriert (Vignettenevidenz). Der Kauf ist vor Reiseantritt möglich. Lenkerinnen/Lenker können mit dem Pkw an der Mautstelle in eine beliebige geöffnete Abfertigungsspur (außer in die extra gekennzeichnete GO Spur auf der A 10, A 11, A 13 und S 16, wo für Kfz bis 3,5 t ein Fahrverbot auf dieser GO-Spur gilt!) oder in die grün markierte Spur fahren. Das Autokennzeichen wird elektronisch erkannt, der Schranken öffnet sich auf der A 10, A 11, A 13 und S 16 automatisch. Auf der A 9 befinden sich auch schrankenlose Spuren für Kfz. Die Bezahlung vor Ort entfällt, sofern die Digitale Streckenmaut genutzt wird.

Beim Erwerb einer Digitalen Streckenmaut sollte besonderes Augenmerk auf die richtige Eingabe/Angabe des Fahrzeugkennzeichens gelegt werden. Kfz-Lenkerinnen/Kfz-Lenker, die eine streckenmautpflichtige Strecke mit einem Fahrzeug, dessen Kennzeichen nicht richtig registriert wurde, benutzen, begehen eine Verwaltungsübertretung.

Achtung

Wird die Digitale Jahreskarte als Konsumentin/Konsument online (im Webshop der ASFINAG bzw. über die ASFINAG-App "Unterwegs") gekauft, ist sie frühestens 18 Tage nach dem Kauf gültig. Dies ergibt sich aus gesetzlichen Bestimmungen (Konsumentenschutz) im Zusammenhang mit dem Rücktrittsrecht von Verbraucherinnen/Verbrauchern im Fernabsatz. Wird die Digitale Jahreskarte bei einer Mautstelle erworben, ist sie sofort gültig.

Die Jahreskarte Digitale Streckenmaut kann auch im Abo bezogen werden. Mit Abschluss des Digitalen Abos verlängert sich die Digitale Streckenmaut zu dem jeweils gültigen Tarif bis auf Widerruf automatisch für die Folgejahre. Die neue Jahreskarte ist dann direkt nach Ablauf der alten Jahreskarte gültig.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

  • Jahreskarte ohne Vignettenanrechnung, Einzelfahrten, 14-Fahrten-Monatskarte auf der A 11: keine Unterlagen erforderlich
  • Jahreskarte mit Vignettenanrechnung:
    • Quittungsallonge (Trägerfolie) der Jahres-Klebevignette oder
    • Produkt-ID einer für das idente Kfz-Kennzeichen gültigen Jahresvignette
  • Jahreskarte für Pendlerinnen/Pendler, Jahreskarte für Präzenz- und Zivildiener, Jahreskarte für Lenkerinnen/Lenker von Behindertenfahrzeugen, Jahreskarte für Lenkerinnen/Lenker mit Behinderung auf der A 13, A 13 Anrainerkarte: siehe Antragsformulare

Kosten

Informationen zu den Tarifen der Streckenmaut finden sich auf den Seiten der ASFINAG.

Hinweis

Berufspendlerinnen/Berufspendler sowie Präsenz- und Zivildiener erhalten in Kombination mit einer gültigen Jahresvignette und unter Erfüllung aller Voraussetzungen eine Jahreskarte für einen Streckenmautabschnitt gratis. Die Voraussetzungen finden sich auf den Seiten der ASFINAG.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Die ASFINAG bietet die Möglichkeit, mit dem Service „Digitale Streckenmaut FLEX“ durch die Kennzeichenerkennung ohne Anhalten und ohne vorheriges Kaufen der jeweiliger Streckenmaut-Tickets für die verschiedenen Abschnitte durch die Mautstellen zu fahren. Die Abrechnung erfolgt mit FLEX nach jeder Fahrt automatisch.

Für jedes Kennzeichen, das im Webshop unter „Mein Konto“ hinterlegt ist, kann die „Digitale Streckenmaut FLEX“ aktiviert werden. Alle Durchfahrten werden übersichtlich unter "mein Konto" aufgelistet. Abgerechnet werden die Fahrten über die Kreditkarte (American Express, Diners Club, Mastercard, VISA) bzw. mittels SEPA-Lastschrift. Die Aktivierung weiterer Kfz-Kennzeichen bzw. Änderung des hinterlegten Zahlungsmittels ist jederzeit möglich.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung

Zum Formular

Authentifizierung und Signatur

Keine Angaben

Rechtsbehelfe

Keine Angaben

Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste

Es sind keine Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste vorhanden.

Weitere Servicestelle

Für Anfragen oder Beschwerden im Bereich der österreichischen mautpflichtigen Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen steht das ASFINAG Service Center zur Verfügung:

Kontakt ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH
Telefon: 0800 400 12 400 (aus Österreich und Deutschland kostenlos)
Telefon: +43 (1) 95 51 266 (aus allen Ländern kostenpflichtig)
Fax: +43 (1) 95 51 277

E-Mail: info@asfinag.at
Postanschrift: Alpenstraße 99, 5020 Salzburg

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.