Promoting and encouraging women in the private sector

Women on supervisory boards of state-owned enterprises

The Federal Government is committed to ensuring that a set percentage of seats on the supervisory boards of state-owned enterprises are occupied by women (i.e., to introducing a quota). For these purposes, "state-owned enterprises" are defined as companies in which the Austrian state holds at least 50 per cent of the shares (e.g. ASFINAG, ÖBB, OeNB).

Initially, the government set the target of ensuring that 25 per cent of the seats on supervisory boards of state-owned companies were held by women by the end of 2013, rising to 35 per cent by the end of 2018. On 3 June 2020, the Austrian cabinet adopted a resolution stating this quota should rise to 40 per cent. However, the quotas only apply to individuals posted from Austrian government ministries to the relevant company's supervisory board, not for all appointments to supervisory boards.

The Federal Government's self-imposed regulations on promoting and encouraging women in the civil service are codified in the Public Corporate Governance Code (→ parlament.gv.at).

Women on supervisory boards of private enterprises

When seats on the supervisory boards of publicly listed companies and companies with more than 1,000 staff become available, there is a legal requirement for at least 30 per cent of seats to be filled by women  (incidentally, the same quota also applies to men). Where this target is not met, the 'empty chair' rule applies, meaning that the post remains unfilled.

Further links

Women in leadership roles in the economyn (→ BKA)

Legal basis

Gleichstellungsgesetz von Frauen und Männern im Aufsichtsrat (GFMA-G)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 10 March 2022

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Frauenförderung in Unternehmen

Frauen in Aufsichtsräten von staatsnahen Unternehmen

Die Bundesregierung hat sich selbst dazu verpflichtet, einen bestimmten Frauenanteil ("Frauenquote") in den Aufsichtsräten von staatsnahen Unternehmen einzuführen. Bei staatsnahen Unternehmen handelt es sich um solche Unternehmen, an denen der Staat mit mindestens 50 Prozent beteiligt ist (z.B. ASFINAG, ÖBB, OeNB).

Als Ziel wurde vereinbart, bis Ende des Jahres 2013 in den Aufsichtsräten staatsnaher Unternehmen einen Frauenanteil von 25 Prozent und bis Ende des Jahres 2018 einen Frauenanteil von 35 Prozent zu erreichen. Mit Ministerratsbeschluss vom 3. Juni 2020 wurde festgelegt, dass der Frauenanteil in diesen staatsnahen Unternehmen auf 40 Prozent angehoben werden soll.Die Quoten gelten allerdings nur für jene Aufsichtsratsmitglieder, die aus dem Bundesministerium in den Aufsichtsrat des jeweiligen Unternehmens entsendet werden. Die Frauenquotenregelung gilt somit nicht für den gesamten Aufsichtsrat eines staatsnahen Unternehmens.

Die seitens der Bundesregierung selbst auferlegte Frauenförderungsregelung wurde im" Public Corporate Governance Kodex (→ parlament.gv.at)" verankert.

Frauen in Aufsichtsräten von privaten Unternehmen

Bei Neubestellungen von Aufsichtsräten in börsennotierten Unternehmen sowie in Unternehmen mit mehr als 1.000 Beschäftigten ist einen Mindestanteil von 30 Prozent für Frauen und Männer im Aufsichtsrat vorgesehen. Bei Nichteinhaltung dieser Zielvorgabe gilt die "leerer Stuhl"-Regelung, d.h. das Mandat bleibt unbesetzt.

Weiterführende Links

Frauen in wirtschaftlichen Führungspositionen (→ BKA)

Rechtsgrundlagen

Gleichstellungsgesetz von Frauen und Männern im Aufsichtsrat (GFMA-G)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14. Juni 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion