Checklist for purchasing plots of land or property in Austria

This checklist gives a brief overview of the most important points to be aware of when purchasing property.

Escrow arrangements and property services In order to secure yourself against financial risks, property purchases are often handled by a notary or lawyer through escrow arrangements. Further information on ancillary costs when purchasing apartments and property can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Viewing the land
classification plan

The main possible uses of a property are initially defined in the land classification and development plan of the relevant municipality. There are restrictions on the use of holiday homes (holiday houses and second homes) in some regional planning laws at federal state level and the land classification plans of the municipalities, which are based on those laws.
Land register extract Obtaining a land register extract before purchasing a property provides clarity on ownership structures and possible encumbrances on the property. Further information on viewing the land register, which is available to all, can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.
Development Municipalities usually sell properties that are connected (to the public road network and to the supply and disposal network – water, wastewater, power, telecommunications). If development has not yet taken place, the purchase price is set lower as the costs of development will be incurred subsequently. Information on development can be obtained from the relevant municipality.
Buying The written purchase agreement must contain at least the name of the municipality in which the property is located, any joint ownership shares, and a description of the property. Further information on the purchasing procedure and on the recommended priority notation in the land register can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Authorisation requirement/
Acquiring property as
a foreign national

Nationals of third countries must obtain authorisation to acquire property. Citizens of EU/EEA countries are exempt from this authorisation requirement. In addition, the acquisition (e.g. purchase) of agricultural plots of land first requires authorisation from the property transfer authority established in each federal state.
Acquisition of ownership and real estate transfer tax In Austria, ownership is only acquired once the ownership title has been entered in the land register (registration). In addition to the written deed of purchase, proof is also required that the real estate transfer tax has been paid to the relevant tax office (what is known as the tax clearance certificat) and, if appropriate, a legally binding authorisation from the property transfer authority.
Property income tax Anyone who makes a profit from selling a property may have to pay property income tax if the purchaser is liable for income tax in Austria. In this context, it should also be checked whether there is a double taxation agreement between Austria and another EU Member State.

Advice

Just like regional planning and construction law, the legislation and enforcement of property transfer law is a state matter.  Authorisations from property transfer authorities and building permits are granted and land classification and development plans issued in accordance with these various state laws. This may thus result in very different rules and requirements for compliant use of a property or acquisition of property in this area in the nine federal states of Austria.

Further information on commonhold ownership can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 27 January 2021

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Checkliste zum Kauf von Grundstücken bzw. Immobilien in Österreich

Diese Checkliste gibt einen kurzen Überblick über die wichtigsten Punkte, die beim Immobilienkauf zu beachten sind.

Treuhandschaft und Immobiliendienstleistung Um sich gegen wirtschaftliche Risiken abzusichern, wird Immobilienkauf häufig über Treuhandschaft durch eine Notarin/einen Notar oder eine Rechtsanwältin/Rechtsanwalt abgewickelt. Weitere Informationen über z.B. Nebenkosten bei Wohnungs- und Grundstückskauf  finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.
Einsichtnahme in Flächenwidmungsplan Prinzipielle Nutzungsmöglichkeiten einer Immobilie ergeben sich zunächst aus Festlegungen im Flächenwidmungs- und Bebauungsplan der jeweiligen Gemeinde. In einigen Raumordnungsgesetzen der Bundesländer und den darauf basierenden Flächenwidmungsplänen der Gemeinden gibt es Einschränkungen hinsichtlich der Nutzung von Freizeitwohnsitzen (Ferien- und Zweitwohnsitzen).
Grundbuchsauszug Ein Grundbuchsauszug vor dem Kauf eines Grundstücks gibt Klarheit über Eigentumsverhältnisse und eventuelle Belastungen der Immobilie. Weitere Informationen zur Grundbuchseinsicht, die für jede/jeden möglich ist, finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.
Aufschließung Gemeinden verkaufen Grundstücke meist aufgeschlossen (an das öffentliche Straßennetz sowie an das Versorgungs- und Entsorgungsnetz – Wasser, Abwasser, Strom, Telekommunikation). Ist die Aufschließung noch nicht erfolgt, ist der Kaufpreis niedriger angesetzt, da die Kosten der Erschließung nachträglich anfallen. Informationen zur Aufschließung kann die jeweilige Gemeinde geben.
Kauf Der schriftliche Kaufvertrag muss zumindest den Namen der Gemeinde, in der sich die Immobilie befindet, eventuelle Miteigentumsanteile und eine Beschreibung der Immobilie enthalten. Weitere Informationen zur Kaufabwicklung  und zur empfehlenswerten Anmerkung der Rangordnung im Grundbuch finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.
Genehmigungspflicht/
Ausländergrunderwerb
Angehörige von Drittstatten müssen eine Genehmigung für den Grunderwerb einholen. BürgerInnen/-Bürger von EU- /EWR-Staaten sind von dieser Genehmigungspflicht ausgenommen. Zusätzlich bedarf vor allem der Erwerb (z.B. Kauf) von landwirtschaftlichen Grundstücken einer Genehmigung durch die in jedem Bundesland eingerichtete Grundverkehrsbehörde.
Eigentumserwerb und Grunderwerbsteuer Eigentum wird in Österreich erst durch Eintragung des Eigentumsrechts in das Grundbuch (Verbücherung) erworben. Voraussetzung dafür ist neben der schriftlichen Kaufurkunde, der Nachweis, dass die Grunderwerbsteuer an das zuständige Finanzamt entrichtet wurde (sogenannte Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung) und gegebenenfalls eine rechtskräftige grundverkehrsbehördliche Genehmigung.
Immobilienertragssteuer Wer bei der Veräußerung einer Immobilie einen Gewinn macht, muss unter Umständen eine Immobilienertragsteuer zahlen, wenn die Käuferin/der Käufer in Österreich einkommenssteuerpflichtig ist. In diesen Zusammenhang ist auch zu prüfen, ob ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zwischen Österreich und einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat besteht.

Hinweis

Das Grundverkehrsrecht ist ebenso wie das Raumordnungs- und Baurecht in Gesetzgebung und Vollziehung Landessache.  Auf Basis dieser verschiedenen Landesgesetze werden grundverkehrsbehördliche Genehmigungen und Baubewilligungen erteilt sowie Flächenwidmungs- und Bebauungspläne erlassen. Daher kann es in diesem Bereich in den neun Bundesländern Österreichs zu sehr unterschiedlichen Regelungen und Voraussetzungen für die rechtskonforme Nutzung eines Grundstücks bzw. den Grunderwerb kommen.

Weitere Informationen zum Wohnungseigentum finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 26. Februar 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion