General information on property income tax

Since 1 April 2012, all profits obtained from the sale of property are, in principle, subject to income tax liability. The former speculation period lasting, in principle, ten years (reference was often incorrectly made in this context to a speculation tax in the sense of its own tax) was abolished.

Advice

Further information on on income tax liability of citizens from other EU/EEA Member States in Austria and on the double taxation convention can be found at USP.gv.at.

The following are classified as property:

  • land,
  • buildings (including commonhold properties),
  • rights equivalent to property (building rights).

The former 10-year speculation period still has significance, however, as "old properties"i.e. most properties acquired before 31 March 2002, are normally only liable for a moderate income tax of 4.2 percent of the proceeds of the sale.

The property income tax only covers acquisition or sales transactions against payment. The transfer of a property without payment is, in principle, not relevant for tax purposes as these transactions do not involve any proceeds from the sale in the form of a consideration and thus no capital gains. In principle, therefore, gifts and inheritances are not subject to property income tax.

In particular, the primary residence of the seller and self-built buildings are exempt from taxation.

Legal basis

Sections 30 and following Einkommensteuergesetz (EStG)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021
Responsible for the content:
  • Federal Ministry of Finance
  • oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Allgemeines zur Immobilienertragsteuer

Seit dem 1. April 2012 unterliegen grundsätzlich sämtliche Gewinne aus der Veräußerung von Grundstücken der Einkommensteuerpflicht. Die vormalige Spekulationsfrist von grundsätzlich zehn Jahren (in diesem Zusammenhang wird oft fälschlicherweise von einer Spekulationssteuer im Sinne einer eigenen Steuer gesprochen) wurde abgeschafft. 

Hinweis

Weitere Informationen zur Einkommensteuerpflicht von Bürgerinnen/Bürgern aus anderen EU-/EWR-Staaten in Österreich und zu Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen finden sich auf USP.gv.at.

Als Grundstücke gelten

  • Grund und Boden,
  • Gebäude (inklusive Eigentumswohnungen) und
  • grundstücksgleiche Rechte (z.B. Baurechte).

Die bisherige zehnjährige Spekulationsfrist hat aber noch insofern Bedeutung, als für "Alt-Grundstücke", das sind die meisten vor dem 31. März 2002 angeschafften Grundstücke, normalerweise nur eine moderate Einkommensteuer von 4,2 Prozent (ab dem Jahr 2016; vorher 3,5 Prozent) des Veräußerungserlöses anfällt.

Von der Immobilienertragsteuer erfasst sind nur entgeltliche Erwerbs- bzw. Veräußerungsvorgänge. Nicht steuerrelevant ist grundsätzlich die unentgeltliche Übertragung einer Liegenschaft, da es hier keinen Verkaufserlös in Form einer Gegenleistung gibt und somit kein Veräußerungsgewinn entsteht. Daher fällt bei Schenkungen und Erbschaften grundsätzlich keine Immobilienertragsteuer an.

Von der Besteuerung ausgenommen bleiben weiterhin insbesondere der Hauptwohnsitz der Veräußerin/des Veräußerers sowie selbst hergestellte Gebäude.

Rechtsgrundlage

§§ 30 ff Einkommensteuergesetz (EStG)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 26. Februar 2020
Für den Inhalt verantwortlich:
  • Bundesministerium für Finanzen
  • oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion