General information on waste prevention and sorting

The Austrian Abfallwirtschaftsgesetz (Waste Management Act) sets out the main principles of Austrian waste management, which include sustainability, the protection of human beings and the environment, and the conservation of natural resources.

Waste prevention is the top priority of waste management. Prevention slows down the accumulation of our waste or reduces its harmfulness – this preserves our groundwater, saves energy and raw materials, and makes an active contribution to climate protection.

Waste prevention measures include the use of reusable packaging instead of single-use packaging, repair or rental instead of new purchases, and passing on goods which you no longer use.

Unavoidable waste should be sorted and, as far as possible, sent for re-use preparation or recycling.

Most glass, plastics, metals, waste paper and organic waste can be recycled or processed.

Under the Deponieverordnung (Landfill Ordinance), residual waste must undergo thermal or mechanical biological treatment to ensure that only waste which is non-hazardous for health and the environment is sent to landfill. This also prevents chemical reactions in landfill sites which could contaminate the air, soil or water.

Every individual should not only help to avoid waste but should also sort household waste when disposing of it.

Tip

There are major regional differences in the collection and recycling of waste (especially plastic packaging and metals). The best way to find out exactly how waste separation is handled at the place of residence is to ask the respective municipality or the waste management associations.

Further links

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 7 April 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Allgemeines zur Müllvermeidung und Mülltrennung

Das österreichische Abfallwirtschaftsgesetz definiert u.a. Nachhaltigkeit, Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt und Schonung der natürlichen Ressourcen als wichtige Leitlinien der österreichischen Abfallwirtschaft.

In der Hierarchie der Abfallwirtschaft steht die Abfallvermeidung an oberster Stelle. Vermeidung bremst das Wachstum unserer Abfallmengen oder verringert die Schädlichkeit der Abfälle – dadurch wird unser Grundwasser geschont, Energie und Rohstoffe eingespart und ein aktiver Beitrag zum Klimaschutz geleistet.

Die Nutzung von Mehrweg- statt Einwegverpackungen, Reparatur bzw. Miete statt Neukauf und die Weitergabe nicht mehr gebrauchter Gegenstände gehören zu den abfallvermeidenden Maßnahmen.

Nicht vermeidbare Abfälle sollten getrennt gesammelt und so weit wie möglich einer Vorbereitung zur Wiederverwendung oder einem Recycling zugeführt werden.

Glas, Kunststoff, Metalle, Altpapier und Bioabfall können großteils recycelt oder verarbeitet werden.

Restabfall muss aufgrund der Deponieverordnung thermisch oder mechanisch biologisch behandelt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass nur für Gesundheit und Umwelt ungefährlicher Abfall auf Deponien abgelagert wird. Damit werden auch chemische Reaktionen auf Deponien vermieden, die Luft, Boden und Wasser gefährden könnten.

Jede Einzelne/jeder Einzelne sollte nicht nur helfen Abfall zu vermeiden, sondern den anfallenden Hausmüll auch getrennt entsorgen.

Tipp

Es gelten große regionale Unterschiede in der Sammlung und Weiterverwertung von Abfällen (besonders bei Kunststoffverpackungen und Metallen). Wie die Abfalltrennung am Wohnort genau gehandhabt wird, kann am besten bei der jeweiligen Gemeinde oder den Abfallwirtschaftsverbänden erfragt werden.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 7. April 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie