Registering as an unemployed job seeker with the Austrian Public Employment Service (AMS)

General information

Unemployed people and workers facing a career change have the option of registering as an unemployed job seeker with the Austrian Public Employment Service (AMS). This can be done in the regional offices of the AMS in all Federal Provinces and larger cities. As soon as a person registers as an unemployed job seeker with the AMS, they will receive professional counselling from a personal adviser.

A person can register as an unemployed job seeker with the AMS regardless of any entitlement to a benefit from the unemployment insurance scheme (e.g. unemployment allowance, emergency assistanc). To receive one of these services, you need to submit an application for unemployment allowance or an application for emergency assistance.

Caution

These rules also apply to all EU citizens in Austria.

Deadlines

If there is a claim for benefits from the unemployment insurance scheme, registration with the AMS as a job seeker must take place no later than on the first day of unemployment and the required deadlines must be met in order to be eligible for this benefit.

Tip

If registering as a job seeker online at the AMS website before the start of unemployment it will be sufficient to contact an AMS office in person within ten days after the start of unemployment.

Competent authority

The AMS officeGerman text with responsibility for each person's primary place of residence.

Procedure

Applicants have to attend in person to complete various forms at the competent AMS office. There, the job seeker will be allocated a personal adviser who will discuss the next steps in the job search process.

Advice

If there is a claim for an insurance benefit from the unemployment insurance scheme, the application can either be picked up personally from the competent AMS office and returned within a specified deadline or completed online, in which case, however, an in-person visit to the office will be required in any case within 10 days or within a longer amount of time as determined by the AMS.

Required documents

Depending on the individual’s situation, different paperwork and documents will need to be submitted. You should call the competent AMS office to ask what papers and documents you need to bring with you.

Further information

Even if a person is not entitled to benefits from the unemployment insurance scheme, they may in some circumstances still be entitled various forms of help from the AMS. Ideally, the support options available for each individual will be discussed by the adviser at the AMS.

To start work as soon as possible, you need to work with the AMS and take advantage of the job opportunities offered. This includes writing applications and introducing yourself to companies. Even though the AMS strives to offer you the best possible support, personal initiative is the most important factor for you to get back to work. Application tips can also be found on oesterreich.gv.at.

Online guide and calculator

Further Links

Legal basis

Arbeitslosenversicherungsgesetz (AlVG)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 13 September 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Labour

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Arbeitslosmeldung beim Arbeitsmarktservice (AMS)

Allgemeine Informationen

Arbeitslose Personen und Personen, die vor einer beruflichen Veränderung stehen, haben die Möglichkeit sich beim Arbeitsmarktservice (AMS) arbeitslos zu melden. Dies ist in den regionalen in allen Bundesländern und größeren Städten  möglich. Sobald sich eine Person beim AMS arbeitslos meldet, erfolgt eine professionelle Beratung durch eine persönliche Betreuerin oder einen persönlichen Betreuer.

Die Möglichkeit einer Arbeitslosmeldung beim AMS besteht unabhängig von einem eventuellen Anspruch auf eine Leistung aus der Arbeitslosenversicherung (z.B. Arbeitslosengeld, Notstandshilfe). Um eine dieser Leistungen zu beziehen, müssen Sie einen Antrag auf Arbeitslosengeld oder einen Antrag auf Notstandshilfe stellen.

Voraussetzungen

Fristen

Besteht ein Leistungsanspruch aus der Arbeitslosenversicherung, muss die Meldung als arbeitssuchend beim AMS spätestens am ersten Tag der Arbeitslosigkeit erfolgen und die vorgegebenen Termine müssen eingehalten werden, um diese Leistung in Anspruch nehmen zu können.

TippTipp

Erfolgt eine Meldung als Arbeitsuchende/Arbeitsuchender schon vor Eintritt der Arbeitslosigkeit online auf den Seiten des AMS, genügt eine persönliche Kontaktaufnahme bei der AMS-Geschäftsstelle innerhalb von zehn Tagen nach Eintritt der Arbeitslosigkeit.

Zuständige Stelle

Die Geschäftsstelle des AMS, die für den jeweiligen Hauptwohnsitz zuständig ist.

Verfahrensablauf

Ein persönliches Erscheinen und Ausfüllen verschiedener Formulare bei der zuständigen AMS-Geschäftsstelle ist notwendig. Dort wird der arbeitsuchenden Person eine persönliche Beraterin/ein persönlicher Berater zugeteilt, welche/welcher die weitere Vorgangsweise in Bezug auf die Jobsuche bespricht.

HinweisHinweis

Besteht ein Anspruch auf eine Versicherungsleistung aus der Arbeitslosenversicherung, kann der Antrag entweder persönlich bei der zuständigen AMS-Geschäftsstelle abgeholt und innerhalb einer Rückgabefrist abgegeben werden oder online erledigt werden, wobei aber jedenfalls binnen 10 Tagen oder einer vom AMS gesetzten längeren Frist eine persönliche Vorsprache erforderlich ist.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

Je nach individueller Situation müssen unterschiedliche Unterlagen und Dokumente vorgelegt werden. Es wird empfohlen, bei der zuständigen AMS-Geschäftsstelle telefonisch nachzufragen, welche Unterlagen und Dokumente mitgebracht werden sollen.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Auch wenn kein Anspruch auf Leistungen aus der Arbeitslosenversicherung besteht, gibt es verschiedene Beihilfen des AMS, welche unter Umständen trotzdem zustehen. Am besten werden die individuellen Fördermöglichkeiten mit der Beraterin/dem Berater beim AMS besprochen.

Für eine rasche Arbeitsaufnahme ist es notwendig, mit dem AMS zusammenzuarbeiten und die angebotenen Jobchancen zu nutzen. Dazu gehört, Bewerbungen zu schreiben und sich bei Unternehmen vorzustellen. Auch wenn das AMS bemüht ist, Ihnen die bestmögliche Unterstützung zu bieten, ist Eigeninitiative der wichtigste Faktor, um schnell wieder eine Beschäftigung aufnehmen zu kommen. Tipps für die Bewerbung finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Online-Ratgeber und -Rechner

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Arbeitslosenversicherungsgesetz (AlVG)

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019
Abgenommen durch: Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit und Konsumentenschutz