Taxing employees according to double tax conventions

Employees who work across borders are generally subject to taxation in more than one country. On the one hand, the country in which they are resident has the right to tax all their income, regardless of the country in which it is accrued. On the other hand, the state in which the individual is working has the right to tax income earned in that country. It is therefore relatively common for the same income to be subject to taxation both in the country where an employee is working, and in the country where they are ordinarily resident. As a rule, this means that the employee concerned is subject to a double tax liability. In order to avoid double taxation, Austria has concluded double tax conventions (DTCs). These agreements set out which state has the right to tax the relevant earnings and how any risk of double taxation will be avoided.

As a rule, the taxation of employees depends on where they work. The state in which the employee is resident must either exempt the income obtained outside the country from tax or deduct (wage) tax already paid overseas from the individual's tax bill (see also "Ways of avoiding double taxation (→ USP)"). However, in the case of short-term activities abroad, provided that the employee does not work for a permanent establishment of the Austrian company in the country of activity or works for a foreign company, the right of taxation remains with the employee's country of residence.

Since the rules in the individual DTCs vary, it is recommended in all cases to seek clarification of the legal position according to the DTC in advance, from a competent source. If the country where the work takes place has the right of taxation, then the precise details (does the employee herself/himself submit the tax return and make the payment?) will be determined solely by tax law in that country. Employees and employers must ensure for themselves that the taxation has been applied correctly in that country – the Austrian tax office can offer no assistance in this respect.

Entrepreneurs can find more information about double taxation (→ USP) on USP.gv.at.

Posting workers overseas

Difficult issues can arise with employee postings within the group and with staff leasing. In cases where staff are supplied (as a passive service), the person for whom the work is being performed is generally regarded as the employer. Hence the leased employees' income (wages/salaries) should be taxed in the country where the activity takes place, even in the case of short-term activities. You should always seek professional advice to help you determine whether a given employment qualifies as employee posting within the meaning of the relevant double tax conventions.

If it is determined that the income of the employee can be taxed in the country where the work takes place and is indeed taxed there, then under certain conditions it may not be necessary to deduct wage tax in Austria. It is recommended in all cases to seek clarification in advance, from a competent source, since the Austrian employer continues in principle to be liable for correct withholding and payment of wage tax.

If an employee of a foreign company is working in Austria, Austria has the right to tax the wages/salary associated with this employment. This right is generally exercised by assessing the individual concerned for tax or making a voluntary deduction from the employee's pay.

If employees are hired out to perform work in Austria, the Austrian employer is subject to special obligations (→ USP).

Further links

Certified Translation
Last update: 21 September 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Besteuerung nach Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen bei Arbeitnehmern

Grenzüberschreitend tätige Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer unterliegen in der Regel der Besteuerungshoheit mehrerer Staaten: Einerseits hat der Wohnsitzstaat das Besteuerungsrecht für alle Einkünfte, unabhängig davon, in welchem Land sie erzielt werden. Andererseits besteuert auch der Staat, in dem die Tätigkeit ausgeübt wird, die betroffenen Einkünfte. Somit kann es vorkommen, dass dieselben Einkünfte sowohl im Tätigkeitsstaat als auch im Wohnsitzstaat zu versteuern sind. Es kommt also grundsätzlich zu einer doppelten Steuerpflicht. Um diese Doppelbesteuerung zu vermeiden, hat Österreich mit vielen Ländern Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) abgeschlossen. Im Rahmen dieser Abkommen wird geregelt, welcher Staat die Einkünfte besteuern darf und wie eine allfällige Doppelbesteuerung vermieden wird.

Die Besteuerung von Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern richtet sich in den DBA in der Regel danach, wo sie tätig werden (Besteuerung im Tätigkeitsstaat). Der Ansässigkeitsstaat muss die Einkünfte dann befreien oder ausländische (Lohn-)Steuer anrechnen (siehe dazu "Methoden zur Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung (→ USP)"). Bei kurzfristigen Auslandstätigkeiten, sofern die Arbeitnehmerin/der Arbeitnehmer nicht für ein ausländisches Unternehmen oder für eine Betriebsstätte des inländischen Unternehmens im Tätigkeitsstaat arbeitet, verbleibt jedoch das Besteuerungsrecht beim Ansässigkeitsstaat der Arbeitnehmerin/des Arbeitnehmers.

Da die Regelungen in den einzelnen DBA jedoch unterschiedlich sind, empfiehlt sich im Einzelfall jedenfalls eine kompetente Abklärung der DBA‑Rechtslage. Wenn der ausländische Tätigkeitsstaat ein Besteuerungsrecht hat, richten sich die näheren Umstände (Steuererklärung und ‑entrichtung durch die Arbeitnehmerin/den Arbeitnehmer) ausschließlich nach dortigem Steuerrecht. Die Arbeitnehmerin/der Arbeitnehmer bzw. die Arbeitgeberin/der Arbeitgeber muss sich um die korrekte Versteuerung in diesem Staat kümmern, das österreichische Finanzamt kann dabei keine Hilfe leisten.

Weitere Informationen für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer zum Thema "Doppelbesteuerung (→ USP)" finden sich auf USP.gv.at.

Grenzüberschreitende Entsendung (Gestellung) von Arbeitnehmern

Schwierige Fragen und Abgrenzungsprobleme können sich bei der Arbeitnehmerentsendung im Konzern sowie beim Personalleasing ergeben. Denn im Falle einer Arbeitskräftegestellung (im Sinne einer Passivleistung) ist grundsätzlich davon auszugehen, dass die Beschäftigerin/der Beschäftiger als Arbeitgeberin/Arbeitgeber anzusehen ist. Somit sind die Einkünfte der gestellten Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer (Löhne, Gehälter) selbst bei kurzfristigen Entsendungen im Tätigkeitsstaat zu besteuern. Es empfiehlt sich jedenfalls eine vorherige kompetente Abklärung, ob im konkreten Einzelfall eine Arbeitskräftegestellung im Sinne der DBA-Regelungen vorliegt.

Steht bei der Entsendung ins Ausland fest, dass die Einkünfte der Arbeitnehmerin/des Arbeitnehmers im Tätigkeitsstaat besteuert werden dürfen und auch tatsächlich besteuert werden, so kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen ein Lohnsteuerabzug im Entsendungsstaat Österreich unterbleiben. Es empfiehlt sich jedenfalls eine vorherige kompetente Abklärung, da die österreichische Arbeitgeberin/der österreichische Arbeitgeber grundsätzlich weiterhin für die richtige Einbehaltung und Abfuhr der Lohnsteuer haftet.

Übt eine Arbeitnehmerin/ein Arbeitnehmer eines ausländischen Unternehmens eine Tätigkeit in Österreich aus, so darf Österreich die auf die Tätigkeit entfallenden Löhne/Gehälter besteuern. Das Besteuerungsrecht wird in der Regel im Wege der Veranlagung oder eines freiwilligen Lohnsteuerabzugs wahrgenommen.

Werden im Rahmen einer Arbeitskräftegestellung Arbeitskräfte zur Arbeitsausübung im Inland überlassen, treffen die österreichische Beschäftigerin/den österreichischen Beschäftiger besondere Pflichten (→ USP).

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 21. September 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen