Voluntary Social Year

The Voluntary Social Year combines educational and vocational orientation elements. It is also an important form of social commitment and serves the common good as well as the participant’s own personal development.

Possible placement locations are not-for-profit institutions from the following areas:

  • social and disability assistance;
  • care for the elderly;
  • care for drug-dependent persons;
  • care for people affected by violence;
  • care for refugees and displaced persons;
  • care for the homeless;
  • childcare;
  • working with children, young people and senior citizens;
  • rescue services.

The Voluntary Social Year can only be performed at a placement location designated by a recognised institution.

Minimum age

As a general rule, it is possible to complete a Voluntary Social Year programme from the age of 17. In the case of special suitability, the Voluntary Social Year is also possible for young people from the age of 16. The existence of special suitability is determined on the basis of the application, an admission interview and a selection seminar.

Duration

The Voluntary Social Year may only be completed once. The duration is limited to a maximum of twelve months.

Pocket money

The institution is responsible for paying pocket money to the participants.

Family allowance

Under the Familienlastenausgleichsgesetz, family allowances for children of full age are generally only granted if they are in vocational education or training. There are specific arrangements for the Voluntary Social Year, which allow family allowances to be granted until the person concerned reaches the age of 24.

Sickness, accident and pension insurance

Under the ASVG, participants in the Voluntary Social Year programme are insured under the sickness, accident and pension insurance schemes.

Counting towards civilian service

Under the Voluntary Work Act, participation for an uninterrupted ten-month period in a Voluntary Social Year, Voluntary Environmental Protection Year, Austrian Holocaust Memorial Service or Peace and Social Service Abroad programme can count towards a person’s regular civilian service.

Advice

In principle, citizens from other EU Member States also have the opportunity to participate in a Voluntary Social Year. More detailed information about this can be obtained directly from the approved institutions – freiwilligenweb portal for voluntary work (→ BMSGPK)German text or from the expert advisor of the Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection (→ BMSGPK)German text.

Further Links

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 4 March 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Freiwilliges Sozialjahr

Das Freiwillige Sozialjahr vereint Bildungs- und Berufsorientierungselemente. Außerdem ist es eine wichtige Form des gesellschaftlichen Engagements und dient dem Gemeinwohl genauso wie der eigenen Persönlichkeitsentwicklung.

Mögliche Einsatzstellen sind nicht gewinnorientierte Einrichtungen aus den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Sozial- und Behindertenhilfe
  • Betreuung alter Menschen
  • Betreuung von Drogenabhängigen
  • Betreuung von Menschen, die von Gewalt betroffen sind
  • Betreuung von Flüchtlingen und Vertriebenen
  • Betreuung von Obdachlosen
  • Kinderbetreuung
  • Arbeit mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Seniorinnen/Senioren
  • Rettungswesen

Das Freiwillige Sozialjahr kann nur bei einer von einem anerkannten Träger zugewiesenen Einsatzstelle erbracht werden.

Mindestalter

Grundsätzlich kann man ab dem Alter von 17 Jahren ein Freiwilliges Sozialjahr absolvieren. Bei einer besonderen Eignung ist das Freiwillige Sozialjahr auch bei Jugendlichen ab 16 Jahren möglich. Ob eine besondere Eignung vorliegt, wird anhand der Bewerbung, eines Aufnahmegesprächs und Auswahlseminars festgestellt.

Dauer

Das Freiwillige Sozialjahr darf höchstens einmal absolviert werden. Die Dauer ist auf maximal zwölf Monate beschränkt.

Taschengeld

Den Träger trifft die Verantwortung für die Auszahlung eines Taschengeldes an die Teilnehmerin/den Teilnehmer.

Familienbeihilfe

Nach dem Familienlastenausgleichsgesetz wird die Familienbeihilfe für volljährige Kinder grundsätzlich nur dann gewährt, wenn sie sich in Berufsausbildung befinden. Für das Freiwillige Sozialjahr besteht eine Sonderregelung, mit der die Gewährung der Familienbeihilfe bis zur Vollendung des 24. Lebensjahres möglich ist.

Kranken-, Unfall- und Pensionsversicherung

Die Teilnehmerinnen/die Teilnehmer des Freiwilligen Sozialjahres sind nach dem ASVG kranken-, unfall- und pensionsversichert.

Anrechnung auf den Zivildienst

Eine zehnmonatige durchgehende Teilnahme an einem Freiwilligen Sozialjahr, Freiwilligen Umweltschutzjahr, Gedenk- bzw. Friedens- oder Sozialdienst im Ausland kann nach dem Freiwilligengesetz auf den ordentlichen Zivildienst angerechnet werden.

Hinweis

Die Möglichkeit der Leistung eines Freiwilligen Sozialjahres steht grundsätzlich auch Bürgerinnen/Bürgern aus anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten offen. Nähere Informationen dazu bekommt man direkt bei den zugelassenen Trägern – freiwilligenweb (→ BMSGPK) oder bei der Fachreferentin/dem Fachreferenten des Bundesministeriums für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz (→ BMSGPK).

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 29. Juli 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz