The Directory of States

Current information on the directory of states, the definition of a state, official abbreviations and the number of continents

The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental association. It currently lists 193 states as UN member states. In addition to these, a number of other states, nations, countries or territories are not considered states in international law.

According to traditional international law, a state is defined as an entity with:

  • a permanent population
  • a defined territory (i.e a geographically definable part of the earth’s surface) and
  • a government (a stable government exercising effective power)

Below you can find a list of UN member states (along with the Vatican City State), their official abbreviations and a link to information about that state provided by the Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs (BMEIA).

Instructions

First, please choose one of the seven continents. An A-Z list will then appear. 

Determining the number of continents

For the purposes of this list, countries have been divided into seven continents according to the list in the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

In ancient times, the historian and geographer Herodotus of Halicarnassus divided the world into three continents: Europe, Asia and Libya (today’s Africa). This division remained in place throughout antiquity. It was only after Amerigo Vespucci’s sea voyage that it was proved that America had to be a new continent of its own - the "New World." Since North and South America were then considered one continent, there were four continents until Australia was discovered. Only at the end of the 18th century did Australia come to be considered as a continent of its own. After the end of World War II, America was divided into North and South America, and Antarctica was recognised as a separate continent.

Today, continents can be counted in a number of different ways. Depending on the method used, the number of continents can vary between four and eight.

Certified Translation
Last update: 30 March 2021

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Staatenverzeichnis

Aktuelle Informationen zu Staatenverzeichnis, Definition eines Staates, offiziellen Abkürzungen, Anzahl der Kontinente

Die Vereinten Nationen (UNO) als zwischenstaatlicher Zusammenschluss verzeichnen derzeit 193 Staaten als Mitglieder. Zusätzlich bestehen weitere Staaten, Nationen, Länder oder Territorien, bei denen die Staatseigenschaft ungesichert ist.

Nach dem klassischen Völkerrecht ist die Definition eines Staates:

  • Ein Staatsvolk (Bevölkerung),
  • ein Staatsgebiet (geografisch abgrenzbarer Teil der Erdoberfläche) und
  • eine Staatsgewalt (stabile Regierung, die effektive Gewalt ausübt)

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung der UNO Staaten und des Vatikanstaates, deren offizielle Abkürzung und den Link zu den Informationen des Bundesministeriums für Europa, Integration und Äußeres (BMEIA).

Anleitung

Wählen Sie bitte zunächst aus den sieben Kontinenten aus. Im Anschluss erscheint eine Auflistung von A-Z. 

Anzahl der Kontinente

Die gewählte Aufteilung in sieben Kontinente folgt der Aufstellung der Encyclopædia Britannica.

In der Antike teilte der Geschichtsschreiber und Geograph Herodot von Halikarnass die Welt in drei Kontinente auf. Diese waren Europa, Asien und Libyen (das heutige Afrika). Diese Zählweise blieb das gesamte Altertum über bestehen. Erst nach der Seereise Amerigo Vespuccis wurde bewiesen, dass es sich bei Amerika um einen neuen eigenen Kontinent – eine "Neue Welt" – handeln müsse. Da Nord- und Südamerika als ein Kontinent angesehen wurden, waren es bis zur Entdeckung Australiens vier Kontinente. Erst Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts wurde Australien ein eigener Kontinent. Nach dem Ende des 2. Weltkriegs wurde Amerika als Kontinent geteilt und die Antarktis als Kontinent dazugezählt.

Heute existieren unterschiedliche Zählweisen. Je nachdem kann die Anzahl von vier Kontinenten bis zu acht Kontinenten variieren.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019
Abgenommen durch: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion