Working in the EU area

Austrian nationals are entitled to work as EU citizens in any member-state of the European Union either for an employer or as a self-employed person.

Gainful employment

This right is a fundamental element of European Union citizenship and covers:

  • the right to seek work locally in another Member State,
  • the right to work in another Member State,
  • the right to reside there for that purpose,
  • the right to equal treatment in respect of access to employment, working conditions and all other advantages which could help to facilitate the worker’s integration in the host Member State.

Tip

If you are unable to find the information that you need on the ‘Your Europe’ portal (‘Working Abroad’ section), you can put your question to Europe Direct using the free telephone number  0800/67 89 10 11 or online to the Citizens Signpost Service. The experts of the Citizens Signpost Service answer questions in connection with your personal problem in your preferred language free of charge within 1 week.

Gainful self-employment

In order to engage in gainful self-employment, you must meet the conditions and qualification requirements applicable under national law of the country of residence.

Right to equal treatment in relation to employment

Any Austrian national, as an EU citizen, has the right to take up gainful employment in another Member State under the same conditions as apply to its own nationals. There cannot be a requirement for a work permit. There is an exception for language skills:  A certain level of proficiency may be required for a job if language skills are needed for the activity concerned.

Equal treatment applies not only to general working conditions (such as pay or dismissal), but also to training.

Tip

The transition period agreed between the EU and the United Kingdom in the course of the 'Brexit' withdrawal agreement expired on 31 December 2020. The United Kingdom has thus left the EU Single Market and the Customs Union. More information on the topic of  ‘Brexit and its consequences (→ BKA)German text’ can be found on the pages of the Federal Chancellery.

Family members

If an Austrian national works in another EU member state, his/her family members, irrespective of their nationality, also have the right to reside and work in the same state. This means that they do not need a work permit, even if they are non-EU citizens. Due to the right to equal treatment, they are also entitled to all social and tax advantages.
The children, regardless of their nationality, have the right to education in this state. They may not be discriminated against in the awarding of scholarships and educational grants.

Further links

Certified translation
Last update: 3 March 2022

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Arbeiten im EU-Raum

Österreicherinnen/Österreicher können als EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürger in jedem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union selbstständig oder unselbstständig arbeiten.

Unselbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit

Dieses Recht ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Unionsbürgerschaft und umfasst

  • das Recht auf Arbeitsuche vor Ort in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat,
  • das Recht, in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat zu arbeiten,
  • das Recht, sich zu diesem Zweck dort aufzuhalten und
  • das Recht auf Gleichbehandlung in Bezug auf den Zugang zur Beschäftigung, die Arbeitsbedingungen und auf alle anderen Vergünstigungen, die dazu beitragen, die Integration der Arbeitnehmerin/des Arbeitnehmers im Aufnahmeland zu erleichtern.

Tipp

Können auf dem Portal "Europa für Sie" (Kapitel "Arbeiten im Ausland") die gewünschten Informationen nicht gefunden werden, besteht die Möglichkeit, eine Anfrage an Europe Direct unter der kostenfreien Telefonnummer 0800/67 89 10 11 oder online an "Europa für Sie – Beratung" (Citizens Signpost Service) zu stellen. Die Expertinnen/Experten beraten Sie innerhalb einer Woche kostenlos und in Ihrer Sprache zu Ihrem persönlichen Problem.

Selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit

Für die Ausübung einer selbstständigen Erwerbstätigkeit müssen die nach dem nationalen Recht des Aufenthaltsstaates geltenden Voraussetzungen und Qualifikationsanforderungen erfüllt werden.

Recht auf Gleichbehandlung in Bezug auf die Erwerbstätigkeit

Jede Österreicherin/jeder Österreicher hat als EU-Bürgerin/EU-Bürger das Recht, in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat unter den gleichen Voraussetzungen, die auch für Inländerinnen/Inländer gelten, eine Erwerbstätigkeit aufzunehmen. Es darf keine Arbeitserlaubnis verlangt werden. Eine Ausnahme gilt für Sprachkenntnisse: Ein gewisses Niveau der Sprachkenntnisse kann für eine Beschäftigung verlangt werden, wenn sie für die betreffende Tätigkeit erforderlich sind.

Die Gleichbehandlung gilt nicht nur in Hinsicht auf die allgemeinen Arbeitsbedingungen (wie etwa Entlohnung oder Kündigung), sondern auch für Fortbildungsmaßnahmen.

Tipp

Die im Zuge des Austrittsabkommens zum "Brexit" zwischen der EU und dem Vereinigten Königreich vereinbarte Übergangsphase ist am 31.Dezember 2020 ausgelaufen. Damit hat das Vereinigte Königreich den EU-Binnenmarkt und die Zollunion verlassen. Nähere Informationen zum Thema "Brexit und seine Folgen (→ BKA)" finden sich auf den Seiten des Bundeskanzleramtes.

Familienangehörige

Arbeitet eine Österreicherin/ein Österreicher in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat, haben ihre/seine Familienangehörigen ungeachtet ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit, ebenfalls das Recht, sich in diesem Staat aufzuhalten und dort zu arbeiten. D.h. sie benötigen keine Arbeitserlaubnis, auch wenn sie Nicht-EU-Bürgerinnen/Nicht-EU-Bürger sind. Aufgrund des Rechts auf Gleichbehandlung stehen ihnen auch alle sozialen und steuerlichen Vergünstigungen zu.

Die Kinder haben, ungeachtet ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit, das Recht auf Bildung in diesem Staat. Sie dürfen bei der Vergabe von Stipendien und Ausbildungsbeihilfen nicht benachteiligt werden.

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 30. März 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion