Legal advice

General

Free legal advice is available in connection with the asylum procedure. In the event of certain types of decisions being issued, legal advisers are provided ex officio to assist applicants, for example in filing appeals.

Since 1 January 2021, legal advice has been the responsibility of Federal Agency for Reception and Support Services.

In the admission procedure

A claim to legal advice as part of the admission procedure arises where there is an intention to hold a hearing within 72 hours of the delivery of a notification of plans to reject or dismiss an application for international protection, where this hearing is for the purposes of hearing the parties involved. In these cases, the asylum-seeker will be referred to the legal advice service by the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum (BFA) before a hearing is held. If the asylum-seeker has made use of this legal advice, a legal adviser must be present at the hearing.

In cases involving unaccompanied minors, the legal adviser acts as the minor's legal representative until the registration procedure is concluded. The legal adviser must be present whenever the minor is questioned, and authorities can be instructed to repeat initial questioning in the presence of the legal adviser.

In the admitted procedure

There is no entitlement to legal advice in the admitted asylum procedure.

However, free legal advice can be provided to foreigners subject to ongoing proceedings within the remit of the BFA, where circumstances allow. This includes assistance in finding an interpreter and advice on their prospects as part of the asylum procedure.

If no legal advice is given, the foreign national concerned must be provided with legal and procedural information free of charge upon request.

Appeal proceedings before the Federal Administrative Court

In all appeal proceedings against decisions by the BFA - with the exception of rulings regarding costs or the submission of files in connection with an appeal on the grounds of omission - legal advice is provided ex officio.

Tip

Further information on the Federal Agency for Reception and Support Services can be found on its website. In addition, a list of other centres providing advice and support to asylum-seekers, recognised refugees and migrants can be found on oesterreich.gv.at.f

Further links

Federal Agency for Reception and Support Services (→ BBU)

Legal basis

Certified Translation
Last update: 7 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of the Interior

Rechtsberatung

Allgemeines

Im Asylverfahren besteht die Möglichkeit, kostenlose Rechtsberatung in Anspruch zu nehmen. Bei bestimmten Entscheidungen werden von Amts wegen Rechtsberaterinnen/Rechtsberater zur Seite gestellt, um etwa bei der Beschwerdeeinbringung zu unterstützen.

Seit 1. Jänner 2021 obliegt die Rechtsberatung der Bundesagentur für Betreuungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (BBU oder Bundesagentur).

Im Zulassungsverfahren

Ein Anspruch auf Rechtsberatung im Zulassungsverfahren entsteht, wenn beabsichtigt wird, innerhalb von 72 Stunden ab Ausfolgung einer Mitteilung über eine geplante Zurück- bzw. Abweisung des Antrags auf internationalen Schutz eine Einvernahme zur Wahrung des Parteiengehörs durchzuführen. In diesen Fällen wird die Asylwerberin/der Asylwerber vor der Durchführung einer Einvernahme vom Bundesamt für Fremdenwesen und Asyl (BFA) an die Rechtsberatung verwiesen. Hat die Asylwerberin/derAsylwerber diese Rechtsberatung in Anspruch genommen, so hat eine Rechtsberaterin/ein Rechtsberater bei der Einvernahme anwesend zu sein.

Hinsichtlich unbegleiteter Minderjähriger ist die Rechtsberaterin/der Rechtsberater gesetzliche Vertreterin/gesetzlicher Vertreter der/des Minderjährigen bis zum Ende des Zulassungsverfahrens. Sie/er ist bei jeder Befragung der/des Minderjährigen anwesend bzw. kann verlangt werden, dass die Erstbefragung im Beisein der Rechtsberaterin/des Rechtsberaters wiederholt wird.

Im zugelassenen Verfahren

Im zugelassenen Asylverfahren besteht kein Anspruch auf Rechtsberatung.

Nach Maßgabe der faktischen Möglichkeiten kann jedoch kostenlose Rechtsberatung für Fremde in offenen Verfahren im Zuständigkeitsbereich des Bundesamtes für Fremdenwesen und Asyl (BFA) durchgeführt werden. Diese umfasst die Unterstützung bei der Beischaffung einer Dolmetscherin/eines Dolmetschers und die Beratung über die Aussichten im Asylverfahren.

Wird keine Rechtsberatung erteilt, sind der fremden Person auf Verlangen rechts- und verfahrenstechnische Auskünfte kostenlos zu erteilen.

Im Beschwerdeverfahren vor dem Bundesverwaltungsgericht

In allen Beschwerdeverfahren gegen Entscheidungen des Bundesamtes für Fremdenwesen und Asyl (BFA) – mit Ausnahme von Kostenentscheidungen oder der Aktenvorlage im Rahmen einer Säumnisbeschwerde – ist von Amts wegen eine Rechtsberatung vorgesehen.

Tipp

Weitere Informationen zur Bundesagentur für Betreuungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen finden sich auf der Website der BBU. Zusätzlich findet sich eine Auflistung anderer Beratungs- und Betreuungsstellen für Asylwerberinnen/Asylwerber, anerkannte Flüchtlinge sowie Migrantinnen/Migranten ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.f

Weiterführende Links

Bundesagentur für Betreuungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen (→ BBU)

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Jänner 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Inneres