Driving with foreign number plates

Advice

If a person moves their place of residence from another EU country to Austria temporarily (for no longer than one year), their existing third-party vehicle insurance policy will continue to apply for the originally agreed term.

Main residence outside Austria

Individuals whose main residence is outside of Austria may use a vehicle or trailer with foreign number plates in Austria for a maximum of one year. The one-year period begins when the vehicle is first brought into Austria.

If, as a result of a longer stay in the country, Austria becomes an individual's centre of vital interests, the foreign vehicle must be re-registered.

Main residence in Austria

Individuals whose main residence is in Austria may use a trailer or trailer with foreign number plates in Austria for one month. The one‑month period begins when the vehicle is first brought into Austria. Temporarily moving the vehicle outside Austria does not suspend this period.

It is possible to extend this period by a further month if convincing arguments are provided as to why it was not possible to have the vehicle registered in Austria. No further extension is possible.

Once these time limits have expired, the vehicle registration certificate and foreign number plates must be handed in to the competent Federal Police head office (Landespolizeidirektion)) or district authority (Bezirkshauptmannschaft). From then on, Austrian number plates must be used; registration in Austria is required for this. In order to apply for registration, evidence of third-party vehicle insurance that is valid in Austria must be provided. The insurance policy must be taken out with an insurance provider that is entitled to provide third-party liability insurance services in Austria.

For the purpose of registration, vehicles without EU type-approval require a single approval, and vehicles with EU type-approval must have their data entered in the approval database. The competent body for this is the relevant government office of the Bundesland in question (technical testing centre) bzw. the general importer of the vehicle.

Caution

Individuals in breach of the rules on driving with foreign number plates risk high administrative and financial penalties.

Towing foreign trailers with Austrian vehicles

A trailer with a foreign number plate may only be towed by a vehicle with Austrian number plates if an Austrian number plate is provided for the trailer. This must cover the foreign number plate. The number plate is red, and has the same registration number as the towing vehicle. The permitted duration for using a trailer with an Austrian number plate depends on whether the driver's main residence is outside Austria outside Austria or in Austria.

Legal Basis

Sections 82, 83 of the Kraftfahrgesetz (KFG)

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 10 February 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Fahren mit ausländischen Kennzeichen

Hinweis

Wenn jemand vorübergehend (längstens ein Jahr) seinen Wohnsitz aus einem anderen EU-Land nach Österreich verlegt, bleibt die bestehende Versicherungspolice der Kfz-Haftpflichtversicherung für den ursprünglich vereinbarten Zeitraum weiterhin gültig.

Hauptwohnsitz außerhalb Österreichs

Menschen, die ihren Hauptwohnsitz außerhalb Österreichs haben, dürfen ein Kfz oder einen Anhänger mit ausländischen Kennzeichen längstens ein Jahr in Österreich verwenden. Die Jahresfrist beginnt mit der Einbringung des Fahrzeugs nach Österreich zu laufen.

Wenn die Person durch einen längeren Aufenthalt in Österreich auch den Mittelpunkt ihrer Lebensbeziehungen im Inland hat, muss das ausländische Fahrzeug umgemeldet werden.

Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich

Menschen, die ihren Hauptwohnsitz in Österreich haben, dürfen ein Kfz oder einen Anhänger mit ausländischen Kennzeichen einen Monat lang in Österreich verwenden. Die Monatsfrist beginnt mit der erstmaligen Einbringung des Fahrzeugs nach Österreich zu laufen. Eine vorübergehende Verbringung des Fahrzeugs aus Österreich unterbricht diese Frist nicht.

Eine Verlängerung um einen weiteren Monat ist möglich, wenn glaubhaft gemacht werden kann, dass eine inländische Zulassung nicht vorgenommen werden konnte. Eine weitere Verlängerung ist ausgeschlossen.

Nach Ablauf dieser Fristen müssen die Zulassungsbescheinigung und die ausländischen Kennzeichentafeln bei der zuständigen Landespolizeidirektion oder Bezirkshauptmannschaft abgegeben werden. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt müssen österreichische Kennzeichentafeln verwendet werden, für die eine österreichische Zulassung benötigt wird. Für die Anmeldung ist eine in Österreich gültige Kraftfahrzeug-Haftpflichtversicherung nachzuweisen. Die Versicherung muss bei einem Versicherungsunternehmen abgeschlossen sein, das berechtigt ist, in Österreich Haftpflichtversicherungsleistungen zu erbringen.

Für die Zulassung ist bei Fahrzeugen ohne EU-Betriebserlaubnis eine Einzelgenehmigung bzw. bei Fahrzeugen mit EU-Betriebserlaubnis die Eingabe der Daten in die Genehmigungsdatenbank erforderlich. Zuständig ist das jeweilige Amt der Landesregierung (Technische Prüfstelle) bzw. die Generalimporteurin/der Generalimporteur für dieses Fahrzeug.

Achtung

Wer gegen die Bestimmungen zum Fahren mit ausländischen Kennzeichen verstößt, riskiert hohe Verwaltungs- und Finanzstrafen.

Ziehen ausländischer Anhänger mit österreichischen Kfz

Ein Anhänger mit ausländischen Kennzeichen darf mit einem Kfz mit österreichischen Kennzeichen nur gezogen werden, wenn für den Anhänger ein österreichisches Kennzeichen verwendet wird. Dieses muss das ausländische Kennzeichen überdecken. Die Kennzeichentafel ist rot und hat dasselbe Kennzeichen wie das Zugfahrzeug. Die erlaubte Dauer der Verwendung eines Anhängers mit österreichischen Kennzeichen richtet sich danach, ob der Hauptwohnsitz der Lenkerin/des Lenkers außerhalb Österreichs oder in Österreich liegt.

Rechtsgrundlagen

§§ 82, 83 Kraftfahrgesetz (KFG)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 29. Januar 2020
Für den Inhalt verantwortlich:
  • Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie
  • oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion