Domestic partnerships - general information

Nowadays, living together with a partner doesn't automatically mean getting married. Couples often choose to enter a domestic partnership rather than get married.

What is the legal definition of a "domestic partnership"?

In Austria, a domestic partnership is when a couple have been living together for a prolonged period and are in an economic and sexual relationship, but are not married.

However, the couple do not have to be living together in the same house to be considered as being in a domestic partnership. Couples living at different addresses (for example, for work reasons) can still be considered as in a domestic partnership.

The two members of the domestic partnership are not subject to any of the obligations of a marriage, such as fidelity or the obligation to support their partner financially.

Advice

In its decision of 4 december 2017German text, the Constitutional Court of Austria overruled the various regulations that had previously applied to heterosexual and homosexual couples. This opened the way for homosexual couples to marry in Austria, and they have been able to do so in principle since 1 January 2019. Since then, heterosexual couples have also had the option of registering a civil partnerschip (Eingetragene Partnerschaft). The effects of a civil partnership, especially as far as rights to maintenance, inheritance and social security law are concerned, do not extend to domestic partnerships.

Domestic partnerships outside of marriage are not generally associated with any legal obligations. With this in mind, people in such relationships should make timely care provision for the event of their partner falling ill. They can regulate their affairs by means of written agreements. You can find advice about when it might be advisable to arrange (power of attorney) or draw up written agreements on our  Partnershio Agreement page.

Further links

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Austrian Chamber of Civil-Law Notaries

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Allgemeines zur nicht ehelichen Lebensgemeinschaft

Mit einer Partnerin/einem Partner zusammenzuleben bedeutet heute nicht mehr automatisch, dass zwei Menschen auch heiraten wollen. Häufig wird die nicht eheliche Lebensgemeinschaft als Form des Zusammenlebens gewählt.

Was heißt "nicht eheliche Lebensgemeinschaft"?

Von einer nicht ehelichen Lebensgemeinschaft spricht man dann, wenn eine Partnerin/ein Partner länger andauernd in einer Wohn-, Wirtschafts- und Geschlechtsgemeinschaft zusammenleben und diese nicht verheiratet sind.

Eine nicht eheliche Lebensgemeinschaft ist allerdings nicht vom gemeinsamen Wohnen abhängig. Auch bei getrennten Wohnsitzen des Paares (z.B. aus beruflichen Gründen) kann eine Lebensgemeinschaft vorliegen.

In nicht ehelichen Partnerschaften haben Partnerinnen/Partner keine Verpflichtungen (z.B. Treue- oder Unterhaltspflicht) wie in der Ehe.

HinweisHinweis

Der Verfassungsgerichtshof (VfGH) hat mit Erkenntnis vom 4. Dezember 2017 die unterschiedlichen Regelungen für verschieden- und gleichgeschlechtliche Paare aufgehoben. Damit können auch gleichgeschlechtliche Paare in Österreich heiraten. Das ist grundsätzlich seit 1. Jänner 2019 möglich. Weiters haben verschiedengeschlechtliche Paare seit diesem Zeitpunkt die Möglichkeit zur Begründung einer Eingetragenen Partnerschaft. Die Wirkungen einer eingetragenen Partnerschaft (insbesondere in den Bereichen Unterhaltsrecht, Erbrecht, Sozialversicherungsrecht) kommen nicht ehelichen Lebensgemeinschaften nicht zu.

Nicht eheliche Lebensgemeinschaften sind ein rechtlich weitgehend unverbindliches Zusammenleben. Es sollte daher zeitgerecht für etwaige Krankheitsfälle der Partnerin/des Partners Vorsorge getroffen werden. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, sich durch schriftliche Übereinkommen abzusichern. Wann Vollmachten (Vorsorgevollmacht) oder Verträge sinnvoll sein könnten, erfahren Sie auf unseren Seiten zum Thema Partnerschaftsverträge.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019
Abgenommen durch: Österreichische Notariatskammer