Day mothers/day fathers

Day mothers/Day fathers (childminders) look after one or more children at home in a family environment. This means they are able to address children’s individual needs. Their' working hours also tend to be more flexible than crèches, nurseries or children's groups.

Day mothers/Day fathers provide care as part of the family's daily routine. They cook for the children, ensure they have the opportunity to play and exercise and provide toys and games for them to use.

They have to have a licence granted by the local District Administration. In most Austrian provinces they must have teaching qualifications in order to practice and they are expected to engage in continuous professional development.

You can find details of local organisations that can help you place your children with day mothers/day fathers on this list of addresses and further information on childcare.

Certified Translation
Last update: 4 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Chancellery

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Tagesmütter/Tagesväter

Eine Tagesmutter/ein Tagesvater betreut ein oder mehrere Kinder bei sich zu Hause im Familienverband. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, auf individuelle Bedürfnisse der Kinder einzugehen. Meist sind die Betreuungszeiten bei Tagesmüttern/Tagesvätern flexibler als bei Kinderkrippen, Kindergärten oder Kindergruppen.

Tagesmütter/Tagesväter bieten Betreuung innerhalb des Familienalltags. Sie kochen selbst, sorgen für Spiel- und Bewegungsangebot und stellen Spielmaterial zur Verfügung.

Tagesmütter/Tagesväter benötigen eine Pflegestellenbewilligung der zuständigen Bezirksverwaltungsbehörde. Sie sind in den meisten Bundesländern verpflichtet, eine pädagogische Ausbildung nachzuweisen. Ständige Weiterbildung wird erwartet.

Auf der Seite "Adressen und weiterführende Informationen zur Kinderbetreuung" finden sich regionale Organisationen, die freie Betreuungsplätze bei Tageseltern vermitteln.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019

Abgenommen durch: Bundeskanzleramt - Frauen, Familien und Jugend