Cross-border family benefits in the EU

In principle, persons whose centre of main interests is in Austria are entitled to family benefits in Austria. Registration of residence in Austria or Austrian or EU citizenship is therefore not sufficient in itself.

Advice

The Childcare Allowance Helpline can be contacted regarding questions about the childcare allowance in Austria from Monday to Thursday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. on the free telephone number 0800 240 014
The Federal Family Service is available to answer questions about family allowances and can be contacted on the free telephone number 0800 240 262 from Monday to Thursday between 9 a.m. and 12 p.m. or by email via familienservice@bka.gv.at.

In order to reduce waiting time, the question of which state has competence for the payment of family benefits should be clarified in advance if there is any doubt, and the application should first be submitted in the State having primary competence.

Responsibility under the EU regulation

For citizens of EU Member States, EEA States and Switzerland, the EU regulation on the coordination of social security systems regulates competences in cross-border cases. Under certain conditions they are entitled to Austrian family benefits (family allowances and childcare allowance). However, overlapping benefits in several countries are excluded and will result in recoveries. It is also not possible to choose which State is responsible.

Pursuant to the EU regulation, the EU member state in which a parent is employed and insured has primary competence for the payment of family benefits (State of employment principle). Supplementary payments may be due in the State in which the family has its centre of main interests (State of residence) if the family benefits of the State of employment are lower.

If both parents are employed in different States, family benefits must be granted with priority in the State of employment in which the child lives with the parents (State of residence principle; this is the State in which they have their centre of main interests). The other State of employment may have to grant supplementary payments.

Tip

These rules also apply to separated or divorced parents. There are special rules for posted workers, civil servants or those working in several countries and pensioners etc.

Criteria for employment

Pursuant to the EU Regulation, the term ‘employment’ refers to activity as an employed or self-employed person in Austria that is actually pursued. Under certain conditions, the period of statutory maternity leave from employment in Austria after the maternity protection period following employment is deemed to be equivalent to such employment.

In the case of childcare allowance, only an activity that is subject to compulsory sickness and pension insurance is regarded as employment within the meaning of the EU regulation. The following are not covered by the concept of employment: Minor employment, activities falling below the threshold for compulsory (sickness and pension) insurance, existing employment contracts (not involving gainful employment) or gaps in employment and long-service leave even if insurance continues to be compulsory and remuneration continues to be paid (special leave, sabbatical etc.)

There is an exception with regard to childcare allowance. Under certain conditions, the period of statutory maternity leave from employment in Austria after the maternity protection period following employment is deemed to be equivalent to employment subject to compulsory sickness and pension insurance. These conditions are:

  • the pursuit of an activity subject to social insurance contributions in the 182-day period preceding that period without receiving unemployment insurance benefits during that period
  • a valid employment relationship existing throughout the period; a confirmation of maternity leave (nationally standardised form) issued by the Austrian employer must be submitted
  • special leave agreed with the employer is not regarded as employment within the meaning of the aforementioned EU Regulation

Change of responsibility

If the family’s circumstances change, the State’s responsibility for family benefits may also change. This includes, for example, a transfer of residence and/or employment to Austria or another EU Member State or termination of employment.

Advice

change of responsibility will not take effect until the first day of the following calendar month. All relevant changes must be notified to the sickness insurance institution without delay (notification obligation) in order to avoid any recoveries or loss of claims.

Supplementary payments in respect of the childcare allowance

If a family lives in an EU Member State other than that in which one of the parents is employed, there may be a right to supplementary payments in the country of residence. This is the difference between the foreign childcare allowance and the Austrian childcare allowance; in this regard, it is irrelevant which parent applies for or receives the benefits.

Supplementary payments are applied for in Austria using the childcare allowance application form. The processing time will be reduced if all relevant documents and evidence of the personal and employment situation are submitted together with the form.

Supplementary payments in respect of the family allowance

The supplementary payment is the difference between the foreign benefit and the Austrian family allowance. It is applied for in Austria using the supplementary payment application form.

Tip

The application for family benefits should be submitted in the Member State which has primary responsibility for the provision of family benefits. The other Member State may calculate the amount of the supplementary payment subsequently.

This authority pays the family benefits and forwards a copy of the application and the relevant information to the State having secondary competence. After that, the parents must provide the State having secondary competence with their data (the best way of doing that is to fill out the application forms used by that State and submit supporting documents). As soon as the State having secondary competence has received all the required information from the State having primary competence, it can then calculate the amount of the supplementary payment and pay it out. If the parents do not follow this procedure, the waiting time will be longer. Parents in both countries must fulfil their obligations to cooperate and provide information in order to prevent delays.

If Austria makes a supplementary payment in respect of the childcare allowance, it is linked to the sickness (co-) insurance of the non-working parent or child in Austria. This is subject to the condition that there is no possibility of (co-)insurance in the State with primary competence for providing family benefits.

Earnings-related childcare allowance

If Austria is competent for the family benefits under the EU Regulation, it is possible to receive flat-rate childcare allowance in any event. For the earnings-related childcare allowance, an additional eligibility condition must be fulfilled: six months of gainful employment before the birth of the child.

This gainful activity must be subject to compulsory sickness and pension insurance; this means that sickness insurance contributions and pension insurance contributions are and have been compulsorily paid on the basis of the applicable legislation.

Further links

Legal basis

EU Regulation on the coordination of social security systems

Forms

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 25 May 2020

Responsible for the content: Federal Chancellery

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Grenzüberschreitende Familienleistungen in der EU

Allgemeine Informationen

In Österreich haben grundsätzlich Personen Anspruch auf Familienleistungen, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Österreich haben. Eine Wohnsitzmeldung in Österreich oder eine österreichische bzw. eine EU-Staatsbürgerschaft allein reichen daher nicht aus.

Hinweis

Die Infoline Kinderbetreuungsgeld ist bei Fragen zum Kinderbetreuungsgeld in Österreich von Montag bis Donnerstag von 9:00 bis 15:00 Uhr unter der kostenfreien Telefonnummer 0800 240 014 erreichbar. 
Für Fragen zur Familienbeihilfe steht das Familienservice des Bundes zur Verfügung, erreichbar unter der kostenlosen Rufnummer 0800 240 262, von Montag bis Donnerstag zwischen 9:00 und 12:00 Uhr oder per Mail unter oder per E-Mail unter familienservice@bmafj.gv.at.

Zur Verkürzung der Wartezeit sollte im Zweifel vorab geklärt werden, welcher Staat für die Auszahlung von Familienleistungen zuständig ist und der Antrag zuerst im vorrangig zuständigen Staat gestellt werden.

Zuständigkeit nach EU-Verordnung

Für Bürgerinnen aus EU-, EWR-Staaten und der Schweiz regelt die EU-Verordnung zur Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit die Zuständigkeiten in grenzüberschreitenden Fällen. Diese haben unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen Anspruch auf österreichische Familienleistungen (Familienbeihilfe und Kinderbetreuungsgeld). Doppelbezüge in mehreren Staaten sind jedoch ausgeschlossen und ziehen Rückforderungen nach sich. Es besteht auch keine Wahlmöglichkeit.

Nach der EU-Verordnung ist vorrangig jener EU-Mitgliedstaat für die Auszahlung der Familienleistungen zuständig, in dem ein Elternteil beschäftigt und versichert ist (Beschäftigungsstaatprinzip). In dem Staat, in dem die Familie den Mittelpunkt der Lebensinteressen hat (Wohnortstaat), gebühren möglicherweise Ausgleichszahlungen, wenn die Familienleistungen des Beschäftigungsstaates niedriger sind.

Wenn beide Elternteile in verschiedenen Staaten beschäftigt sind, so sind die Familienleistungen in jenem Beschäftigungsstaat vorrangig zu gewähren, in dem das Kind mit den Eltern lebt (Wohnortstaatprinzip; das ist jener Staat, in dem der Mittelpunkt ihrer Lebensinteressen liegt). Der andere Beschäftigungsstaat hat möglicherweise Ausgleichszahlungen zu gewähren.

Tipp

Diese Regelungen gelten auch für getrennt lebende bzw. geschiedene Elternteile. Sonderregelungen gibt es für entsandte Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer, Beamtinnen/Beamte oder mit Beschäftigungen in mehreren Staaten, Renten- bzw. Pensionsbezieherinnen/-bezieher, etc.

Kriterien für Beschäftigung

Unter dem Begriff Beschäftigung ist gemäß der EU-Verordnung eine selbstständige oder unselbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit in Österreich zu verstehen, die auch tatsächlich ausgeübt wird. Die Zeit während des gesetzlichen karenzierten österreichischen Dienstverhältnisses nach dem Mutterschutz im Anschluss an eine Beschäftigung ist einer solchen Beschäftigung unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen gleichgestellt.

Beim Kinderbetreuungsgeld ist nur eine kranken- und pensionsversicherungspflichtige Erwerbstätigkeit eine Beschäftigung im Sinne der EU-Verordnung. Nicht unter den Beschäftigungsbegriff fallen: Geringfügige Beschäftigungen, Erwerbstätigkeiten unter der (Kranken-und Pensions-) Versicherungspflicht-Grenze, aufrechte Dienstverträge (ohne Erwerbsausübung) oder Erwerbslücken und Dienstfreistellungen auch bei Versicherungspflicht und Entgeltfortzahlung (Sonderurlaub, Sabbatical, etc.).

Es besteht eine Ausnahme in Bezug auf das Kinderbetreuungsgeld. Die Zeit während des gesetzlichen karenzierten österreichischen Dienstverhältnisses nach dem Mutterschutz im Anschluss an eine Beschäftigung ist der Ausübung einer kranken- und pensionsversicherungspflichtigen Beschäftigung unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen gleichgestellt. Diese Voraussetzungen sind:

  • die Ausübung der sozialversicherungspflichtigen Erwerbstätigkeit im 182-Tage-Zeitraum davor und kein Bezug von Leistungen aus der Arbeitslosenversicherung in diesem Zeitraum
  • ein durchgehendes aufrechtes Dienstverhältnis; es ist eine Karenz-Bestätigung (bundeseinheitliches Formular) der österreichischen Dienstgeberin/des österreichischen Dienstgebers vorzulegen
  • ein darüber hinaus mit der Dienstgeberin/dem Dienstgeber vereinbarter Sonderurlaub ist keine Beschäftigung im Sinne der genannten EU-Verordnung

Änderung der Zuständigkeit

Wenn sich die Lebensumstände der Familie verändern, kann sich auch die Zuständigkeit eines Staates für die Familienleistungen ändern. Darunter fallen etwa Wohnort- und/oder Beschäftigungsverlegungen nach Österreich bzw. ins EU-Ausland oder Beendigung einer Beschäftigung.

Hinweis

Die Änderung einer Zuständigkeit wird erst mit dem ersten Tag des nächsten Kalendermonats wirksam. Sämtliche relevante Änderungen sind dem Krankenversicherungsträger unverzüglich zu melden (Meldepflicht), damit werden eventuelle Rückforderungen oder der Verlust von Ansprüchen vermieden.

Ausgleichszahlungen zum Kinderbetreuungsgeld

Wohnt eine Familie in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat als in jenem, in dem ein Elternteil seine Erwerbstätigkeit ausübt, besteht eventuell ein Anspruch auf Ausgleichszahlungen im Wohnortstaat. Das ist der Differenzbetrag zwischen den ausländischen Kinderbetreuungsgeld-Leistungen und dem österreichischen Kinderbetreuungsgeld; irrelevant ist dabei, welcher Elternteil die Leistungen beantragt oder bezieht.

Die Ausgleichszahlung wird in Österreich mit dem Kinderbetreuungsgeld-Antragsformular beantragt. Wenn alle relevanten Unterlagen und Nachweise über die Lebens- und Beschäftigungssituation mit vorgelegt werden, verkürzt sich die Bearbeitungsdauer.

Ausgleichszahlungen zur Familienbeihilfe

Die Ausgleichszahlung ist der Differenzbetrag zwischen der ausländischen Leistung und der österreichischen Familienbeihilfe. Diese wird in Österreich mit dem Antragsformular auf Ausgleichszahlung beim Finanzamt beantragt.

Tipp

Der Antrag auf Zuerkennung von Familienleistungen sollte in jenem Mitgliedstaat gestellt werden, der für die Erbringung von Familienleistungen vorrangig zuständig ist. In weiterer Folge kann der andere Mitgliedstaat, die Höhe der Ausgleichszahlung berechnen.

Diese Behörde zahlt die Familienleistungen aus und leitet eine Kopie des Antrages sowie Informationen an den nachrangig zuständigen Staat weiter. Danach müssen die Eltern dem nachrangig zuständigen Staat ihre Daten bekannt geben (am besten durch Ausfüllen der dortigen Antragsformulare und Vorlegen von Nachweisen). Sobald der nachrangig zuständige Staat alle Informationen vom vorrangig zuständigen Staat erhalten hat, kann er in weiterer Folge die Höhe der Ausgleichszahlung berechnen und diese auszahlen. Eine andere Vorgehensweise der Eltern führt zu längeren Wartezeiten. Eltern müssen in beiden Staaten ihre Mitwirkungspflichten und Mitteilungspflichten erfüllen, um Verzögerungen zu verhindern.

Leistet Österreich eine Ausgleichszahlung zum Kinderbetreuungsgeld, so ist damit eine Kranken(mit)versicherung des nicht erwerbstätigen Elternteils bzw. des Kindes in Österreich verbunden. Voraussetzung ist, dass in dem Staat, der als erster zur Erbringung der Familienleistung zuständig ist, keine Möglichkeit einer (Mit-)Versicherung besteht.

Einkommensabhängiges Kinderbetreuungsgeld

Wenn Österreich nach der EU-Verordnung für die Familienleistungen zuständig ist, so besteht jedenfalls die Möglichkeit, ein pauschales Kinderbetreuungsgeld zu beziehen. Für das Einkommensabhängiges Kinderbetreuungsgeld muss eine zusätzliche Anspruchsvoraussetzung erfüllt sein: eine sechsmonatige Erwerbstätigkeit vor der Geburt des Kindes.

Diese Erwerbstätigkeit muss kranken- und pensionsversicherungspflichtig sein; das heißt, dass Krankenversicherungsbeiträge und Pensionsversicherungsbeiträge aufgrund gesetzlicher Bestimmungen verpflichtend zu leisten sind und geleistet wurden.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

EU-Verordnung zur Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit

Zum Formular

Inhaltlicher Stand: 25. Mai 2020

Abgenommen durch: Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Familie und Jugend