Supervised on-road practice

After receiving their permit, applicants must undertake the core module of their practical training in the form of on-road practice sessions. They must cover at least 1.000 km during on-road practice. The conditions to be met by persons wishing to supervise a learner driver can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Tip

Before you go on your first on-road practice drive, it is advisable to contact the vehicle insurer to notify them that the vehicle is being used by a learner driver.

Caution

In general, these rules also apply to EU citizens in Austria.

A log book must be filled in after every on-road practice session. Each entry must provide a faithful account of the practice drive, and must be signed by the applicant and their supervisor. This log book must be presented to the driving licence authority.

The following documents must be carried during on-road practice sessions:

Once learners have completed 1.000 km of practice drives, they will be taken on an observation drive at the driving school by one of the instructors together with their supervisor. The final part of the training will consist of skill refinement training and test preparation at a driving school. Detailed information about on-road practice – observation drive, skill refinement training and test preparation at a driving school can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Caution

  • During on-road practice sessions, both the applicant and their supervisor’s blood alcohol content may not exceed 0.1 g/l (as opposed to the usual 0.5 g/l).
  • No particular rules apply to the carrying of passengers. The permitted number of passengers is that indicated on the vehicle registration document. However, the supervisor must always sit next to the learner.
  • On-road practice may only take place in Austria.
  • It is permitted to tow a trailer.

A log bookGerman text template can be downloaded from oesterreich.gv.at.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 10 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Übungsfahrten mit der Begleitperson

Nach Erhalt des Bewilligungsbescheids hat die Bewerberin/der Bewerber die praktische Hauptschulung in Form von Übungsfahrten durchzuführen. Es müssen mindestens 1.000 km Übungsfahrten absolviert werden. Die Voraussetzungen, die die Begleitperson(en) erfüllen muss (müssen), finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

TippTipp

Es wird empfohlen, vor Beginn der Übungsfahrten die Kfz-Versicherung(en) zu kontaktieren und die Führerscheinwerberin/den Führerscheinwerber dort zu melden.

Jede Übungsfahrt ist in ein Fahrtenprotokoll einzutragen. Es ist wahrheitsgetreu zu führen und muss sowohl von der jeweiligen Begleitperson als auch von der Bewerberin/dem Bewerber unterschrieben werden. Das Fahrtenprotokoll ist der Behörde vorzulegen.

Bei den Übungsfahrten sind folgende Dokumente mitzuführen:

Nach mindestens 1.000 gefahrenen Kilometern erfolgt gemeinsam mit einer Fahrlehrerin/einem Fahrlehrer und der Begleitperson eine Beobachtungsfahrt in der Fahrschule. Den Abschluss der Schulungen bilden die Perfektionsschulung und die Prüfungsvorbereitung in der Fahrschule. Ausführliche Informationen zum Thema "Übungsfahrten – Beobachtungsfahrt, Perfektionsschulung und Prüfungsvorbereitung in der Fahrschule" finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

AchtungAchtung

  • Bei der Durchführung von Übungsfahrten gilt für die Bewerberin/den Bewerber als auch für die Begleiterin/den Begleiter eine Alkoholgrenze von 0,1 Promille (statt 0,5 Promille).
  • Für die Personenbeförderung gelten keine besonderen Bestimmungen. Es dürfen so viele Personen mitgenommen werden, wie die Zulassungsbescheinigung des Fahrzeugs angibt. Die Begleitperson muss jedoch neben der Bewerberin/dem Bewerber sitzen.
  • Übungsfahrten dürfen nur im Inland stattfinden.
  • Das Ziehen von Anhängern ist zulässig.

oesterreich.gv.at bietet Ihnen ein Fahrtenprotokoll zum Download an.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 01.01.2019
Abgenommen durch: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion, Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie