Electronic identity (eID) of other EU Member States

General information

One of the aims of the European eIDAS Regulation is to also be able to use national electronic identities (eIDs) for online applications of other EU Member States. It therefore regulates the cross-state acceptance of certain high-quality eIDs. The central eIDAS node of the Republic of Austria enables EU citizens to register for Austrian online applications with the electronic identity (eID) of their EU country of origin. The mutual recognition of national eIDs is gradually taking place in the EU.

Procedure

EU citizens are forwarded to the central eIDAS node of the Republic of Austria if they have initiated a registration in an Austrian online application by clicking on ‘EU Login’. The subsequent procedure is as follows:

  • An EU citizen selects a Member State.
  • He/she is then forwarded to the usual registration environment of the respective Member State.
  • There he/she can register with his/her eID as usual.
  • Following successful registration, the person is automatically forwarded to the online application (from which he/she came to this selection page) and registered there with the identity data of his/her eID.
  • At the same time, with the first registration, the EU citizen is entered in the Austrian supplementary register for natural persons (ERnPin this way with his/her eID data.
  • This means that he/she can also be successfully and clearly identified in the course of future registration processes for Austrian online applications.

Further Links

Discover eIDAS (→ EC)

Legal Basis

eIDAS Regulation (EU)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 26 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs

Elektronische Identität (eID) anderer EU-Mitgliedstaaten

Allgemeine Informationen

Die europäische eIDAS-Verordnung verfolgt unter anderem das Ziel, nationale elektronische Identitäten (eIDs) auch für Online-Anwendungen anderer EU-Mitgliedstaaten verwenden zu können. Sie regelt damit die staatenübergreifende Akzeptanz bestimmter qualitätsvoller eIDs. Der zentrale eIDAS-Knoten der Republik Österreich ermöglicht EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürgern eine Anmeldung zu österreichischen Online-Anwendungen mit der elektronischen Identität (eID) ihres EU-Herkunftsstaates. Die wechselseitige Anerkennung nationaler eIDs erfolgt in der EU schrittweise.

Ablauf

EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürger werden zum zentralen eIDAS-Knoten der Republik Österreich weitergeleitet, wenn sie in einer österreichischen Online-Anwendung eine Anmeldung via Klick auf "EU-Login" initiiert haben. Die weitere Vorgehensweise sieht wie folgt aus:

  • Eine EU-Bürgerin/ein EU-Bürger wählt einen Mitgliedstaat aus.
  • Danach wird sie/er an die gewohnte Anmeldeumgebung des jeweiligen Mitgliedstaates weitergeleitet.
  • Dort kann sie/er sich mit ihrer/seiner eID wie gewohnt anmelden.
  • Nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung wird die Person automatisch an die Online-Anwendung (von der aus sie auf diese Auswahlseite gelangt ist) weitergeleitet und dort mit den Identitätsdaten ihrer eID angemeldet.
  • Gleichzeitig wird die EU-Bürgerin/der EU-Bürger bei der ersten Anmeldung auf diesem Weg mit ihren/seinen eID-Daten in das österreichische Ergänzungsregister für natürliche Personen (ERnP) eingetragen.
  • Damit kann sie/er auch im Rahmen zukünftiger Anmeldeprozesse zu österreichischen Online-Anwendungen erfolgreich und eindeutig identifiziert werden.

Weiterführende Links

eIDAS entdecken (Europäische Kommission)

Rechtsgrundlagen

eIDAS-Verordnung (EU)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 2. Dezember 2019

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.