Guarantee and consumer protection

Guarantee and warranty are often confused in everyday language.

Consumers are granted warranty rights against the vendor for defective products on the basis of legal provisions. A guarantee, however, is a voluntary contractual benefit provided by a principal (usually by manufacturers, but also by third-party providers, such as insurance providers, or vendors). Guarantees are only partially governed by law and exist in addition to the legal warranty rights.

It is usually guaranteed that the product will remain free of defects for a certain period of time (generally 1 to 5 years). If the product develops a defect within this time, any guarantee claims that the provider of the guarantee has agreed to in the guarantee declaration (repair, exchange, refund of the purchase price or other remedy) can be asserted against them. Unlike warranty claims, it is not important here whether the defect already existed when the product was handed over or only occurred subsequently.

The guarantee may, but need not, be free of charge and can in principle take any form (which defects are covered, whether costs are incurred for the guarantee, etc.) Guarantees are often limited and only cover certain parts or properties of a product (e.g. only the spare parts themselves, but not other repair costs are covered or wear parts are fully excluded from the guarantee).

In consumer transactions, the guarantee must fulfil the following points:

  • Reference to warranty

The principal must expressly refer to the vendor’s legal warranty obligation and make it clear that the legal warranty is not restricted by the guarantee.

  • Binding promises in advertising

The business person is bound by promises made in the guarantee pledge and by the contents of the guarantee which have been publicised in advertising.

  • Minimum information and comprehensibility

The guarantee must contain the guarantor's name and address and a comprehensible description of the content of the guarantee (term, geographical scope and guarantee claim procedure). If the guaranteed features are not described, the liability is for the usually expected features.

  •  Written form

At the consumer’s request, the guarantee must be set forth in writing or on available permanent data carriers (a guarantee displayed on a website is not sufficient).

If the business person infringes these conditions, the guarantee nevertheless remains in force, and the business person is liable for the resultant loss.

Further information on online shoppingGerman text and cross-border consumer contracts in the EUGerman text is also available at oesterreich.gv.at.

Further links

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 22 January 2021
Responsible for the content:
  • Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection
  • Federal Ministry of Justice

Garantie und Verbraucherschutz

Garantie und Gewährleistung werden im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch häufig verwechselt.

Verbraucherinnen/Verbrauchern stehen bei mangelhaften Produkten aufgrund gesetzlicher Vorschriften Gewährleistungsrechte gegenüber der Verkäuferin/dem Verkäufer zu. Eine Garantie hingegen ist eine freiwillige vertragliche Leistung einer Unternehmerin/eines Unternehmers (meist von Herstellerinnen/Herstellern, aber auch von Drittanbieterinnen/Drittanbietern, etwa Versicherungen, oder Verkäuferinnen/Verkäufern). Garantien sind nur teilweise gesetzlich geregelt und bestehen zusätzlich zu den gesetzlichen Gewährleistungsrechten.

Zumeist wird die Mangelfreiheit eines Produkts über einen bestimmten Zeitraum garantiert (in der Regel ein bis fünf Jahre). Geht das Produkt innerhalb dieser Zeit kaputt, können jene Garantieansprüche gegenüber der Garantiegeberin/dem Garantiegeber geltend gemacht werden, zu der sie oder er sich in der Garantierklärung verpflichtet hat (Reparatur, Austausch, Kaufpreisrückerstattung oder sonstige Abhilfe). Anders als bei Gewährleistungsansprüchen ist dabei nicht von Bedeutung, ob der Mangel schon bei der Übergabe des Produkts vorhanden war oder erst später aufgetreten ist.

Die Garantie kann, muss aber nicht kostenlos sein und ist grundsätzlich beliebig gestaltbar (welche Mängel gedeckt sind, ob Kosten für die Garantie entstehen etc.). Häufig sind Garantien beschränkt und umfassen nur bestimmte Teile oder Eigenschaften eines Produkts (z.B. werden nur die Ersatzteile selbst, nicht aber sonstige Reparaturkosten gedeckt oder Verschleißteile gänzlich von der Garantie ausgenommen).

Bei Verbrauchergeschäften muss die Garantieerklärung folgende Punkte erfüllen:

  • Hinweis auf Gewährleistung

Die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer muss ausdrücklich auf die gesetzliche Gewährleistungspflicht der Verkäuferin/des Verkäufers hinweisen und klarstellen, dass die gesetzliche Gewährleistung durch die Garantie nicht eingeschränkt wird.

  • Zusagen aus der Werbung verbindlich

Die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer ist an die Zusagen in der Garantieerklärung und an den in der Werbung bekannt gemachten Inhalt der Garantie gebunden.

  • Mindestinformation und Verständlichkeit

Die Garantieerklärung hat den Namen, die Anschrift der Garantin/des Garanten und auf eine verständliche Art den Inhalt der Garantie (Dauer, räumliche Geltung, Vorgehensweise, um die Garantie in Anspruch zu nehmen) zu enthalten. Wenn die garantierten Eigenschaften nicht hervorgehen, wird für die gewöhnlich vorausgesetzten Eigenschaften gehaftet.

  •  Schriftlichkeit

Auf Verlangen der Verbraucherin/des Verbrauchers ist die Garantie schriftlich oder auf verfügbaren dauerhaften Datenträger zu erklären (Garantierklärung auf Website genügt nicht) .

Wenn die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer gegen diese Bestimmungen verstößt, gilt die Garantie trotzdem. Sie/er haftet für den daraus entstandenen Schaden.

Weitere Informationen zu Online-Shopping - Einkaufen im Internet und grenzüberschreitenden Verbraucherverträge in der EU finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsquellen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 22. Januar 2021
Für den Inhalt verantwortlich:
  • Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz
  • Bundesministerium für Justiz

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.