Secondary school

The aim of secondary schools is to provide the best possible individual support for each pupil and ensure equality of opportunity. Through sound educational and vocational training, pupils receive targeted advice designed to help them make better educational and training decisions at the end of secondary school.

In principle, all pupils are taught together in class across all the subjects on the middle school curriculum. In German, Mathematics and Modern Languages (usually English), as well as in the compulsory subjects for specific specialist areas (as chosen by the school), teachers can make use of a variety of teaching techniques to support pupils as well as possible. These include teachers teaching in teams ("team teaching"), flexible grouping or providing support for remedial and advanced courses.

Also pupils with special educational needs are free to attend mainstream secondary schools along with their peers. Secondary schools suitable for pupils with special needs are identified as part of a process in which the relevant education directorates and the child's parents are involved. The responsible diversity managers of the relevant education directorate will support parents and the child's new school to help them create the best possible conditions for educating their new pupil in an inclusive environment appropriate to the pupil’s disability and individual needs. Specialist teaching staff are available to provide support. Teaching and assessment are carried out according to the curriculum specified in the SPF decision. Teaching pupils with disabilities alongside their non-disabled peers provides opportunities for disabled and non-disabled children and young people to experience learning together.

The secondary school curriculum is identical to that of the Realgymnasium in terms of the content taught. It covers four possible areas of focus, specifically:

  • Languages and humanities
  • Science and mathematics
  • Economics and lifeskills
  • Music and creative arts

There are also special secondary schools focusing on sport or the arts (sports secondary schools, music secondary schools).

Performance assessment from school year 2020/21 onwards

In Year 5 (the first year of secondary school), the same grading system is used as in primary schools, with each subject graded on the 5-grade scale.

From Year 6 onwards, pupils in German, Mathematics and Modern Foreign Languages are split into two different performance levels, called "Standard" and "Standard AHS", respectively. Work at both levels is graded from 1-5. Grading at "Standard AHS" level can be mapped across to the

  • to the junior years of the AHS system. For example,
  • a grade of "Satisfactory" at "Standard AHS" level is equivalent to a grade of "Good" at the "Standard" level,
  • while a grade of "Not Satisfactory" at the "Standard AHS" level is at best equivalent to "Satisfactory" at "Standard" level.
  • A grade of "Very good" at the "Standard" level will be at least equivalent to a grade of "Satisfactory" at "Standard AHS" level.

Supplementary feedback

In order to highlight their individual strengths, all pupils will continue to receive a Supplementary Differentiated Description of Performance (known by its German acronym EDL) in addition to their report cards. The EDL describes the areas in which they excel and the progress they are making in their learning. In addition, regular Child-Parent-Teacher Meetings (known as KEL meetings) are held, during which pupils discuss their achievements, progress and learning processes with their parents and teachers.

Transfer criteria from school year 2020/21 onwards

Transferring to a secondary academic or vocational higher school

(Matura; for example AHS, HTL, HAK, BORG, HLW)

A pupil who has successfully completed the first year of secondary school may transfer to the second year of the junior AHS, provided that their grades in German, their Modern Foreign Language and Mathematics are no lower than "Good."

If they have successfully completed the second, third or fourth year of the lower secondary school, pupils can transfer to the next grade of an upper secondary school provided they have been assessed no worse than "Good" in all their performance-differentiated compulsory subjects according either to the higher performance level (Standard AHS) or the lower performance level (Standard).

If these requirements are not met in any of the compulsory subjects, the pupil will have to sit an entrance examination. For pupils transferring to a general secondary school, this also applies to compulsory subjects which the pupil has not studied before, but which will be taught in the school year they are attempting to transfer into.

Different rules apply for admitting pupils with special educational needs to the 2nd, 3rd or 4th years of a secondary academic school. Pupils with special educational needs must have completed the previous year at secondary school or a special school.

Transfer to a secondary school for a course of study of at least 3 years

(no Matura; for example Fachschule, Handelsschule)

To be admitted into a vocational secondary school, pupils must successfully complete the eighth year of school. In addition, to be admitted to a vocational secondary school for studies lasting at least three years, pupils must not have been graded lower than "Satisfactory" in German, Modern Foreign Languages or Mathematics, either at "Standard AHS" or "Standard" level. If these requirements are not met in any of the performance-differentiated compulsory subjects, the pupil will have to sit an entrance examination.

Transferring to a polytechnic school

Anyone can transfer to a polytechnic school.

Transferring from an AHS Junior School to secondary school

Pupils who have successfully completed an AHS junior school are entitled to transfer to the next level of a secondary school.

Advancing to Year 6

Pupils whose performance is assessed as "Insufficient" in one or two compulsory subjects during Year 5 are entitled to repeat their examinations. If their performance is deemed unsatisfactory in three or more subjects, they must repeat Year 5 of secondary school.

Advancing to Years 7 and 8

Pupils whose performance in subjects that are performance-differentiated in secondary schools has been assessed as "Insufficient" in Year 6 or 7 of an AHS can move up to the next year, where they will be assessed according to the "Standard" level.

Pupils' whose performance is assessed to be "Insufficient" in one or two non-differentiated compulsory subjects can repeat examinations. If their performance in three or more non-differentiated compulsory subjects is assessed as unsatisfactory, they will have to repeat the school year at secondary school.

Overview

Secondary school

Year

5th to 8th year (9 to 13 years old)

Requirements

Successful completion of Year 4 (primary school)

Proof of having attended primary school or a special school for pupils with special educational needs

Duration

Four years

Curriculum
  • All pupils are encouraged according to their interests, inclination, aptitude and ability
  • Provides a general education
  • Prepares pupils for professional life through practically-focused lessons
  • Supports pupils in choosing their careers or further education
  • Prepares pupils to attend higher-level schools or sandwich courses (apprenticeships)
  • Provides digital education
Special features
  • Lessons are adapted to suit the strengths of individual pupils using contemporary pedagogical methods of individualisation and differentiation
  • All pupils are usually taught together, although individual schools have the freedom to set up long-term groups.
  • Four possible areas of focus
  • New forms of feedback on performance
School types Some secondary school set additional areas of focus (e.g. music or physical education). Pupils may need to take an aptitude test to assess their skills in these specialist areas.
After graduation

Once a pupil has completed middle school, they can move on to the following types of school:

Further links

Certified Translation
Last update: 16 June 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Mittelschule

Mit dem Schuljahr 2020/21 ersetzt die Mittelschule (MS) die Neue Mittelschule (NMS) als Pflichtschule für die 10- bis 14-Jährigen. Die Weiterentwicklung der Neuen Mittelschule zur Mittelschule, die mit dem Pädagogik-Pakets 2018 beschlossen wurde, umfasst unter anderem die Ermöglichung von dauerhafter Gruppenbildung in den Gegenständen Deutsch, Mathematik und Lebende Fremdsprache und die Weiterentwicklung der Leistungsbeurteilung in diesen Fächern.

Die Mittelschule hat das Ziel, jede Schülerin und jeden Schüler im Sinne der Chancengerechtigkeit bestmöglich individuell zu fördern. Durch eine fundierte Bildungs- und Berufsorientierung erhalten Schülerinnen und Schüler gezielte Beratung, um eine verbesserte Bildungs- und Berufsentscheidung am Ende der Mittelschule sicherzustellen.

Grundsätzlich werden in der Mittelschule alle Schülerinnen und Schüler in allen Unterrichtsgegenständen gemeinsam in der Klasse unterrichtet. In den Fächern Deutsch, Mathematik und Lebende Fremdsprache (Englisch) sowie in Pflichtgegenständen eines (schulautonomen) Schwerpunktbereiches stehen den Lehrkräften verschiedene pädagogische Maßnahmen zur Verfügung, um die Schülerinnen und Schüler bestmöglich zu unterstützen. Dazu gehören unter anderem das Unterrichten im Lehrendenteam (Teamteaching), flexible Gruppenbildung oder die Förderung in Förder- und Leistungskursen.

Der Lehrplan der Mittelschule ist in den Fachinhalten ident mit dem des Realgymnasiums. Er sieht dabei vier mögliche Schwerpunktbereiche vor:

  • Sprachlich-humanistisch-geisteswissenschaftlich
  • Naturwissenschaftlich-mathematisch
  • Ökonomisch-lebenskundlich
  • Musisch-kreativ

Es bestehen zudem auch Sonderformen von Mittelschulen mit musischem oder sportlichem Schwerpunkt (Sportmittelschulen, Musikmittelschulen).

Leistungsbeurteilung NEU ab dem Schuljahr 2020/21

In der 5. Schulstufe wird das Notensystem wie in der Volksschule mit der 5-teiligen Notenskala in allen Unterrichtsgegenständen fortgeführt.

Ab der 6. Schulstufe wird bei der Beurteilung der Leistungen der Schülerinnen und Schüler in den Unterrichtsgegenständen Deutsch, Mathematik und Lebende Fremdsprache zwischen zwei Leistungsniveaus, mit den Bezeichnungen „Standard“ und „Standard AHS“, unterschieden. In beiden Leistungsniveaus sind Noten von 1-5 möglich. Dabei entspricht die Beurteilung

  •  nach dem Bildungsziel des Leistungsniveaus „Standard AHS“ der Beurteilung an der AHS-Unterstufe,
  • mit „Genügend“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard AHS“ der Beurteilung mit „Gut“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard“,
  • mit „Nicht Genügend“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard AHS“ bestenfalls der Beurteilung mit „Befriedigend“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard“,
  • mit „Sehr gut“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard“ zumindest der Beurteilung mit „Befriedigend“ im Leistungsniveau „Standard AHS“.

Ergänzende Rückmeldung

Um die individuellen Stärken sichtbar zu machen, erhalten alle Schülerinnen und Schüler wie bisher zusätzlich zu den Zeugnissen eine Ergänzende Differenzierende Leistungsbeschreibung (EDL), in der die Leistungsstärken und Lernfortschritte beschrieben sind. Darüber hinaus finden regelmäßig Kind-Eltern-Lehrende-Gespräche (KEL-Gespräche) statt, in denen Schülerinnen und Schüler gemeinsam mit den Erziehungsberechtigten und Lehrenden über Lernerfolge, Lernfortschritte und Lernprozesse sprechen.

Übertrittsberechtigungen NEU ab dem Schuljahr 2020/21

Übertritt in eine allgemeinbildende oder berufsbildende höhere Schule

(mit Matura; zum Beispiel AHS, HTL, HAK, BORG, HLW)

Eine Schülerin oder ein Schüler, die oder der die erste Klasse der Mittelschule erfolgreich absolviert hat, darf in die zweite Klasse der AHS-Unterstufe wechseln, sofern die Beurteilung in den Gegenständen Deutsch, Lebende Fremdsprache und Mathematik nicht schlechter als „Gut“ ist.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der zweiten, dritten oder vierten Klasse der Mittelschule ist der Übertritt in die nächste Klasse einer höheren Schule möglich, wenn die Schülerin oder der Schüler in allen leistungsdifferenzierten Pflichtgegenständen gemäß dem höheren Leistungsniveau (Standard AHS) oder gemäß dem niedrigeren Leistungsniveau (Standard) nicht schlechter als mit „Gut“ beurteilt wurde.

Aus jenen Pflichtgegenständen, in denen die Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllt werden, ist eine Aufnahmsprüfung abzulegen. Dies gilt für den Übertritt in eine allgemeinbildende höhere Schule auch für jene Pflichtgegenstände, die die Schülerin bzw. der Schüler bisher nicht besucht hat, die jedoch in der angestrebten Klasse weiterführend unterrichtet werden.

Abweichend von den vorstehenden Bestimmungen setzt die Aufnahme von Schülerinnen und Schülern mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf in die 2., 3. oder 4. Klasse einer allgemeinbildenden höheren Schule den Besuch der vorhergehenden Stufe der Mittelschule oder der Sonderschule voraus.

Übertritt in eine mindestens 3-jährige mittlere Schule

(ohne Matura; zum Beispiel Fachschule, Handelsschule)

Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in eine berufsbildende mittlere Schule ist der erfolgreiche Abschluss der 8. Schulstufe. Zusätzlich zum erfolgreichen Abschluss der 8. Schulstufe setzt die Aufnahme in eine mindestens dreijährige berufsbildende mittlere Schule von Schülerinnen und Schülern der Mittelschule voraus, dass sie in den Gegenständen Deutsch, Lebende Fremdsprache und Mathematik gemäß dem Leistungsniveau „Standard AHS“ oder gemäß dem Leistungsniveau „Standard“ nicht schlechter als mit „Befriedigend“ beurteilt wurden. Aus jenen leistungsdifferenzierten Pflichtgegenständen, in denen diese Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllt werden, ist eine Aufnahmsprüfung abzulegen.

Übertritt in die Polytechnische Schule

Der Übertritt in eine Polytechnische Schule steht allen offen.

Übertritt von der AHS-Unterstufe in die Mittelschule

Schülerinnen und Schüler, die eine Schulstufe der AHS-Unterstufe erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben, sind berechtigt in die nächsthöhere Schulstufe einer Mittelschule zu wechseln.

Aufsteigen in die 6. Schulstufe

Schüler/innen, die in der 5. Schulstufe einer AHS in einem oder zwei Pflichtgegenständen mit „Nicht genügend“ beurteilt wurden, sind berechtigt Wiederholungsprüfungen abzulegen. Bei mehr als zwei negativen Beurteilungen müssen sie die 5. Schulstufe in der Mittelschule jedenfalls wiederholen.

Aufsteigen in die 7. und 8. Schulstufe

Schüler/innen, die in der 6. bzw. 7. Schulstufe einer AHS in jenen Pflichtgegenständen, die in der Mittelschule leistungsdifferenziert geführt werden, mit „Nicht genügend“ beurteilt wurden, sind zum Aufstieg in die nächsthöhere Schulstufe berechtigt und werden dort dem Leistungsniveau „Standard“ zugeordnet.

Bei der Beurteilung mit „Nicht genügend“ in einem oder zwei nicht differenzierten Pflichtgegenständen sind sie berechtigt Wiederholungsprüfungen abzulegen. Bei mehr als zwei negativen Beurteilungen in nicht differenzierten Pflichtgegenständen muss die Schulstufe auch in der Mittelschule wiederholt werden.

Übersicht

Mittelschule
Schulstufe

5. bis 8. Schulstufe (10. bis 14. Lebensjahr)

Voraussetzungen

Erfolgreicher Abschluss der 4. Schulstufe (Volksschule)

Nachweis des Besuches der Volksschule oder Sonderschule bei Schülerinnen und Schülern mit Sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf

Dauer

Vier Jahre

Inhalte
  • Förderung aller Schülerinnen/Schüler je nach Interesse, Neigung, Begabung und Fähigkeit
  • Vermittlung von Allgemeinbildung
  • Vorbereitung auf das Berufsleben durch praxisnahen Unterricht
  • Unterstützung bei der Bildungs- und Berufswahl
  • Vorbereitung auf den Besuch weiterführender Schulen oder einer dualen Ausbildung (Lehre)
  • Vermittlung digitaler Berufsbildung
Besonderheiten
  • Anpassung des Unterrichts an die individuellen Stärken der Schülerinnen/Schüler mittels zeitgemäßer pädagogischer Methoden der Individualisierung und Differenzierung
  • Gemeinsamer Unterricht aller Schülerinnen und Schüler – bzw. schulautonome Ermöglichung dauerhafter Gruppen
  • Vier mögliche Schwerpunktbereiche
  • Neue Formen der Leistungsrückmeldung
Schulformen Mittelschulen setzen an einigen Standorten zusätzliche Schwerpunkte (z.B. Musik oder Sport). Zur Feststellung spezieller Fertigkeiten, die Schwerpunkte betreffen, muss unter Umständen ein Eignungstest abgelegt werden.
Abschluss

Mit einem erfolgreichen Abschluss der Mittelschule ist der Besuch folgender weiterführender Schulen möglich:

 

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 8. Januar 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung