Holiday work practice and social insurance

Holiday work experience trainees

'Genuine holiday work experience trainees' are school pupils and students who perform a required or standard activity as part of the curriculum and study regulations. Registration with the social insurance as an employee is only reimbursable if the holiday work experience trainee receives pocket money from the employer. If the marginal employment threshold is exceeded, the holiday work experience trainees are subject to full insurance (i.e. health, accident, pension and unemployment insurance). However, if the holiday work experience trainee does not receive pocket money, she/he only receives accident based on the statutory school pupil/student accident insurance scheme. No separate registration for accident insurance by the employer is required.

As a rule, the citizenship of school pupils attending school in Austria is irrelevant in terms of statutory accident insurance (Unfallversicherung). However, students studying at a domestic higher education institution are only insured against accidents at work if they hold Austrian citizenship.

Nationals of other countries are only treated as insured if there is a social security agreement (Sozialversicherungsabkommen) in place between Austria and the other country. For individuals from Switzerland or another EU/EEA member state, checks should be carried out to determine which country should be held responsible for dealing with any social-security related issues. This rule also applies to residents of "third countries".

Where students and pupils studying at educational institutions outside Austria undertake holiday work practice in Austria, checks must be carried out to ensure they have accident insurance in their home countries, and that this insurance will cover them for the duration of their stay in Austria.

More detailed information on the subject of 'Holiday work placement trainees' can be found at USP.gv.at.

Holiday staff/workers

Holiday staff and workers are treated under social insurance law as 'normal' employees. This means that the holiday staff member/holiday worker musy be registered with the social insurance by the employer. Holiday staff and holiday workers must have full insurance (i.e. health, accident, pension and unemployment insurance), provided that the marginal employment threshold is exceeded. If their pay remains below the marginal employment threshold, they only received accident insurance.

Detailed information on ‘Holiday staff/holiday workers’ can be found at USP.gv.at.

Unpaid trainees

Unpaid trainees must be provided with compulsory accident insurance through the employer. To do this, the employer must register the unpaid trainee with the General Accident Insurance Institution (AUVA). Generally, an informal letter stating the employment start and end dates and the insurance number of the unpaid trainee. The AUVA website also has a registration formGerman text available for download.

More detailed information on the subject of ‘Unpaid trainees’ can be found at USP.gv.at.

Certified Translation
Last update: 15 February 2021

Responsible for the content: Association of Austrian Social Insurance Institutions

Ferialpraxis und Sozialversicherung

Ferialpraktikanten

"Echte Ferialpraktikanten" sind Schülerinnen/Schüler bzw. Studentinnen/Studenten, die eine im Rahmen des Lehrplanes bzw. der Studienordnung vorgeschriebene oder übliche Tätigkeit verrichten. Eine Anmeldung bei der Sozialversicherung als Dienstnehmerin/Dienstnehmer muss nur erstattet werden, wenn die Ferialpraktikantin/der Ferialpraktikant Taschengeld vom Dienstgeber erhält. Wird die Geringfügigkeitsgrenze überschritten, unterliegen Ferialpraktikantinnen/Ferialpraktikanten der Vollversicherung (d.h. Kranken-, Unfall-, Pensions- und Arbeitslosenversicherung). Erhält die Ferialpraktikantin/der Ferialpraktikant jedoch kein Taschengeld, ist sie/er nur aufgrund der gesetzlichen Schüler- bzw. Studentenunfallversicherung unfallversichert. Eine Anmeldung zur Unfallversicherung durch die Dienstgeberin/durch den Dienstgeber ist nicht gesondert erforderlich.

Bei Schülerinnen/Schülern, die in Österreich zur Schule gehen, ist die Staatsbürgerschaft für die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung grundsätzlich gleichgültig. Studentinnen/Studenten, die an einer inländischen Hochschule zugelassen sind, sind nur dann unfallversichert, wenn sie die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft haben.

Staatsangehörige eines anderen Landes sind dann versichert, wenn mit diesem ein Sozialversicherungsabkommen über die Unfallversicherung besteht. Für jede Person, die aus einem EU-, EWR-Staat oder der Schweiz stammt, muss geklärt werden, welcher der beteiligten Staaten der für die sozialversicherungsrechtlichen Belange zuständige Staat ist. Dies gilt auch für sogenannte Drittstaatsangehörige.

Absolvieren Schülerinnen/Schüler und Studierende, die eine ausländische Bildungseinrichtung besuchen, ein Ferialpraktikum in Österreich, muss geklärt werden, ob sie im Herkunftsland über eine Unfallversicherung verfügen, die auch während des Aufenthalts in Österreich Versicherungsschutz bietet.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema "Ferialpraktikanten" finden sich auf USP.gv.at.

Ferialangestellte/Ferialarbeiter

Ferialangestellte und Ferialarbeiterinnen/Ferialarbeiter werden sozialversicherungsrechtlich wie "normale" Arbeitnehmerinnen/"normale" Arbeitnehmer behandelt. Das bedeutet, dass die/der Ferialangestellte bzw. die Ferialarbeiterin/der Ferialarbeiter von der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber bei der Sozialversicherung angemeldet werden muss. Ferialangestellte und Ferialarbeiterinnen/Ferialarbeiter unterliegen der Vollversicherung (d.h. Kranken-, Unfall-, Pensions- und Arbeitslosenversicherung), sofern die Geringfügigkeitsgrenze überschritten wird. Bleibt das Entgelt unter der Geringfügigkeitsgrenze werden sie nur unfallversichert.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema "Ferialangestellte/Ferialarbeiter" finden sich ebenfalls auf USP.gv.at.

Volontäre

Volontärinnen/Volontäre sind von Seiten der Arbeitgeberin/des Arbeitgebers nur in der Unfallversicherung pflichtversichert. Hierfür muss die Arbeitgeberin/der Arbeitgeber die Volontärin/den Volontär bei der Allgemeinen Unfallversicherungsanstalt (AUVA) anmelden. Prinzipiell genügt ein formloses Schreiben mit Angabe des Eintritts- bzw. Austrittsdatums sowie der Versicherungsnummer der Volontärin/des Volontärs. Auf den Seiten der AUVA steht auch ein Anmeldeformular zum Download zur Verfügung.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema "Volontäre" finden sich ebenfalls auf USP.gv.at.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Dachverband der Sozialversicherungsträger