"Old properties"

This term is understood as referring to properties that were acquired prior to 31 March 2002 and were thus, in principle, not liable for tax on 31 March 2012 (i.e. the basic ten-year speculation period provided for by law prior to the 1. Stabilitätsgesetz 2012 (→ USP) had already expired). These properties are subject to the following calculation of the flat-rate costs of acquisition:

  • Generally speaking, the costs of acquisition are fixed at a flat rate of 86 percent of the proceeds of the sale. The taxable capital gain thus amounts to only 14 percent of the proceeds of the sale. This is subject to taxation at the special tax rate of 30 percent (from 2016; previously 25 percent). In practice, this means that the tax burden amounts to 4.2 percent (14 percent x 30 percent) of the proceeds of the sale.
  • If, after 31 December 1987 – and after the most recent acquisition against payment – the classification was changed from grassland to building land, the costs of acquisition are fixed at a flat rate of only 40 percent of the proceeds of the sale rather than 86 percent. In this way, the increase in value associated with the reclassification should be recorded as a flat rate. This has often been referred to as the "reclassification tax" in public debate, which is, however, misleading in that it is not the actual reclassification itself that triggers the taxation, but rather the subsequent sale of the reclassified property. The taxable capital gain thus amounts to 60 percent of the proceeds. This is subject to taxation at the special tax rate of 30 percent (from 2016; previously 25 percent). In practice, this means that the tax burden amounts to 18 percent (60 percent x 30 percent) of the proceeds of the sale.

In both cases, at the request of the taxpayer, the capital gain may also be determined - as in the case of new real estate - on the basis of the actual (and adapted if necessary) costs of acquisition of the property ("regular income calculation").

Example

Sale of a property (old property)
A holiday home was purchased for EUR 100,000 in 1990 and sold for EUR 170,000 in 2021. The capital gain thus amount to EUR 70,000.
As the property was acquired prior to 31 March 2002, in practice the tax burden amounts to 4.2 percent of the proceeds of the sale (Euro 170,000), i.e. EUR 7,140: the costs of acquisition are fixed at a flat rate of 86 percent of the proceeds of the sale. The balance of 14 percent is to be recorded at the special tax rate of 30 percent.

Example

Sale of a reclassified property (old property)
A property was acquired for Euro 5,000 in 1985, reclassified from arable land to building land in 1995, and sold for Euro 30,000 in 2021.
As the property has been reclassified, in practice the tax burden amounts to 18 percent of the proceeds of the sale (Euro 30,000), i.e. Euro 5,400: the costs of acquisition are fixed at a flat rate of 40 percent of the proceeds of the sale. The balance of 60 percent is to be recorded at the special tax rate of 30 percent.

Example

Sale of a reclassified property with a building (old property)
A property has been owned by a family for generations (the original costs of acquisition are not known). The property was reclassified to building land in 2001. A holiday villa was built on the property in 2003; it is a self-constructed building. The construction costs for the holiday villa amount to Euro 500,000. The property, including the holiday villa, is sold for Euro 600,000 in 2021 (Euro 400,000 for the holiday villa, Euro 200,000 for the land).
A distinction must be made between land and buildings when determining the capital gain. The proceeds of the sale relating to the land (Euro 200,000) are, in practice, subject to taxation at 18 percent of the proceeds of the sale, i.e. Euro 36,000. The proceeds of the sale relating to the self-constructed building (Euro 400,000) are not subject to taxation, as the tax exemption for self-constructed buildings applies.

Advice

No further deductions should be made under this flat-rate calculation method, with the exception of the flat-rate costs of acquisition. If, within the last 15 years, the costs of building the sold property have not been deducted by depreciation for normal wear and tear, but have rather been subject to accelerated depreciation under section 28 paragraph 3 Einkommensteuergesetz (e.g. expenses under sections 3 to 5 Mietrechtsgesetz over 15 to ten years), half of the depreciations are to be (re)added to the income at a flat rate.

In addition to the flat-rate calculation method at the special tax rate of 30 percent, it is also possible to exercise the regular taxation option. From 2016, the deduction of operating expenses or professional expenditure is also permitted.

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

"Alt-Grundstücke"

Unter diesem Begriff sind Grundstücke zu verstehen, die vor dem 31. März 2002 angeschafft wurden und damit am 31. März 2012 grundsätzlich nicht steuerverfangen waren (das heißt, die grundsätzlich zehnjährige Spekulationsfrist gemäß Rechtslage vor dem 1. Stabilitätsgesetz 2012 (→ USP) war bereits abgelaufen). Für diese gilt folgende pauschale Anschaffungskostenermittlung:

  • Im Normalfall werden die Anschaffungskosten pauschal mit 86 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses angesetzt. Der zu versteuernde Veräußerungsgewinn beträgt daher nur 14 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses. Dieser ist mit dem besonderen Steuersatz in Höhe von 30 Prozent (ab dem Jahr 2016; vorher 25 Prozent) zu versteuern. Effektiv heißt das, dass die Steuerbelastung 4,2 Prozent (14 Prozent mal 30 Prozent) vom Veräußerungserlös beträgt.
  • Erfolgte nach dem 31. Dezember 1987 – und nach dem letzten entgeltlichen Erwerb – eine Änderung der Widmung von Grünland in Bauland, werden die Anschaffungskosten pauschal statt mit 86 Prozent nur mit 40 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses angesetzt. Dadurch soll mit der Umwidmung verbundene Wertsteigerung pauschal miterfasst werden. Dies wurde in der öffentlichen Diskussion häufig als "Umwidmungssteuer" bezeichnet, was allerdings insoweit missverständlich ist, weil die Umwidmung selbst noch keine Besteuerung auslöst, sondern erst ein nachfolgender Verkauf des umgewidmeten Grundstücks. Der zu versteuernde Veräußerungsgewinn beträgt damit 60 Prozent des Erlöses. Dieser ist mit dem besonderen Steuersatz in Höhe von 30 Prozent Prozent (ab dem Jahr 2016; vorher 25 Prozent) zu versteuern. Effektiv heißt das, dass die Steuerbelastung 18 Prozent (60 Prozent mal 30 Prozent) vom Veräußerungserlös beträgt.

In beiden Fällen kann auf Antrag der Steuerpflichtigen/des Steuerpflichtigen die Ermittlung des Veräußerungsgewinnes auch – wie bei Neu-Grundstücken – unter Zugrundelegung der tatsächlichen (und gegebenenfalls adaptierten) Anschaffungskosten für das Grundstück erfolgen ("Regel-Einkünfteermittlung").

Beispiel

Verkauf eines Grundstücks (Alt-Grundstück)
Ein Ferienhäuschen wurde im Jahr 1990 um 100.000 Euro gekauft und wird im Jahr 2021 um 170.000 Euro veräußert. Der Veräußerungsgewinn beträgt somit 70.000 Euro.
Da das Grundstück vor dem 31. März 2002 angeschafft wurde, beträgt die Steuerbelastung effektiv 4,2 Prozent vom Veräußerungserlös (Euro170.000), das sind 7.140 Euro: Die Anschaffungskosten werden pauschal mit 86 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses angesetzt. Der Saldo von 14 Prozent ist mit dem besonderen Steuersatz in Höhe von 30 Prozent zu erfassen.

Beispiel

Verkauf eines umgewidmeten Grundstücks (Alt-Grundstück)
Ein Grundstück wurde im Jahr 1985 um 5.000 Euro erworben, im Jahr 1995 wurde es von Acker- in Bauland umgewidmet, im Jahr 2021 wird es um 30.000 Euro veräußert.
Da es sich um ein umgewidmetes Grundstück handelt, beträgt die Steuerbelastung effektiv 18 Prozent vom Veräußerungserlös (30.000), das sind 5.400 Euro: Die Anschaffungskosten werden pauschal mit 40 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses angesetzt. Der Saldo von 60 Prozent ist mit dem besonderen Steuersatz in Höhe von 30 Prozent zu erfassen.

Beispiel

Verkauf von Umwidmungsgrundstück mit Gebäude (Alt-Grundstück)
Ein Grundstück befindet sich seit Generationen im Familienbesitz (die ursprünglichen Anschaffungskosten sind nicht bekannt). Im Jahr 2001 wurde das Grundstück zu Bauland umgewidmet. 2003 wurde auf dem Grundstück eine Ferienvilla errichtet; es handelt sich um ein selbst hergestelltes Gebäude. Die Errichtungskosten für die Ferienvilla belaufen sich auf 500.000 Euro. Im Jahr 2021 wird das Grundstück samt Ferienvilla um 600.000 Euro veräußert (400.000 Euro entfallen auf die Ferienvilla, 200.000 Euro auf den Grund und Boden).
Bei der Ermittlung des Veräußerungsgewinnes ist zwischen Grund und Gebäude zu unterscheiden. Der auf den Grund und Boden entfallende Veräußerungserlös (200.000 Euro) ist effektiv mit 18 Prozent des Veräußerungserlöses zu versteuern, das sind 36.000 Euro. Der auf das selbst hergestellte Gebäude entfallende Veräußerungserlös (400.000 Euro) unterliegt nicht der Besteuerung, weil die Steuerbefreiung für selbst hergestellte Gebäude zur Anwendung gelangt.

Hinweis

Bei dieser pauschalen Berechnungsmethode dürfen abgesehen von den pauschalen Anschaffungskosten keine weiteren Abzüge vorgenommen werden.

Sollten für das veräußerte Grundstück innerhalb der letzten 15 Jahre Herstellungskosten nicht durch eine Normal-AfA, sondern nach § 28 Abs. 3 Einkommensteuergesetz – EStG beschleunigt abgesetzt worden sein (z.B. Aufwendungen nach den §§ 3 bis 5 Mietrechtsgesetz – MRG auf 15 bis 10 Jahre), ist die Hälfte der Absetzungen pauschal den Einkünften (wieder) zuzurechnen.

Neben der pauschalen Berechnungsmethode zum besonderen Steuersatz von 30 Prozent ist die Ausübung der Regelbesteuerungsoption möglich. Dabei ist ab dem Jahr 2016 auch der Abzug von Betriebsausgaben bzw. Werbungskosten zulässig.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Jänner 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen