Motorcycle licence – categories A1, A2, A

Category A1:

  • Motorcycles with or without a sidecar with a cylinder capacity not exceeding 125 cc and an engine power not exceeding 11 kW (15 hp); maximum power to weight ratio of 0.1 kW/kg
  • Three-wheeled motor vehicles with an engine power of up to 15 kW (20 hp)

Category A2:

  • Motorcycles with or without a sidecar with an engine power not exceeding 35 kW (48 hp) and a power to weight ratio not exceeding 0.2 kW/kg, and which when unrestricted do not have more than double the engine power

Category A:

  • Motorcycles with or without a sidecar, three-wheeled vehicles (category A also covers AM, A1 and A2)


In general, these rules also apply to EU citizens in Austria.

Further information

From the age of 16, individuals may begin theory and practical lessons at a driving school (→ WKO)German text for the category A2 licence if they are also doing L17 training at the same time. However, they may not take their practical driving test until the age of 18.


‘AL’ licences issued before 1 November 1997 will be immediately converted to category A licences. All you have to do is request the conversion of your licence – this will allow you to obtain an (unrestricted) category A licence.

First phase of training before the test:

  • At least 6 sessions of vehicle category-specific theory training
  • At least 14 sessions of practical training (for those over the age of 39: 16 sessions)

Second phase of training after the test:

This must be completed within 14 months of passing the test:

  • 6 sessions of road safety training
  • 3 sessions of traffic psychology group discussions and hazard perception training

Detailed information about the minimum number of sessions for the individual licence categories and the multi-phase training for categories A and B can also be found at

Further links

Flyer ‘Respect: Want the freedom of two wheels? Do it safely’ (→ BMK)German text

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 3 April 2024

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology