Information for Ukrainian citizens

Numerous people have have been displaced from Ukraine due to the armed conflicts, some of them also seek protection in Austria. These people need initial information, contact options and support services.
→ FAQs for displaced persons from Ukraine are answered o the website the Federal Office for Immigration and Asylum (BFA).

Entry and residence

A hotline has been set up by the Federal Chancellery for central questions of displaced persons from Ukraine. Consultations are offered in German and Russian in addition to Ukrainian. The hotline can be reached at +43 1 715 10 51 - 120.

Registration and residency information and answers to other questions can be found on the Website of the Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI).

Since 12 March 2022: Temporary right of residence in Austria

The following persons are granted a temporary right of residence in Austria until 3 March 2023:

  • Ukrainian citizens who had to flee from Ukraine as of 24 February 2022 and their family members (spouses, registered partners, minor children, close relatives).
  • Persons entitled to protection in Ukraine (e.g. recognised refugees) who had to flee from Ukraine as of 24 February and their family members.
  • Ukrainian citizens who cannot return to Ukraine and who had a valid Austrian residence title on 24 February that was withdrawn or not renewed.
  • Ukrainian citizens who cannot return to Ukraine and who were legally residing in Austria on 24 February. They are also granted a temporary right of residence after expiry of their visa-free or visa-required stay.

Persons belonging to one of these groups are issued an ID card for displaced persons by the BFA. For this purpose they should register at the registration offices of the police (at police stations or in special reception or registration centers). With this temporary right of residence in Austria it is not necessary to apply for asylum. Information on the temporary right of residence for displaced persons from Ukraine can be found on the website of the BFA.

Excluded from this are persons who are presumed to have committed certain serious crimes.

Temporary protection also ensures access to labor market, education and medical care and is also valid for the time being until 3 March 2023.

Persons entering Austria due to armed conflict are not subject to COVID-19 entry restrictions (entry into Austria and pre-travel-clearance).

Advice

For Ukrainian nationals, the Federal Agency for Reception and Support Services (BBU) has set up a hotline: +43 1 2676 870 9460. Further information for Ukrainian citizens in Austria (→ BBU) can be found online.

The BBU coordinates and provides basic care for foreigners in need of assistance and protection. This includes accommodation, food, social, medical and psychological care as well as the provision of goods for daily needs such as clothing.

If accommodation with relatives is not possible and financial resources are not available, temporary accommodation will be provided in a neighborhood assistance quarter of the federal government or a federal state.

Further information on counseling and support for asylum seekers, recognized refugees as well as migrants can also be found on oesterreich.gv.at.

Medical care

In addition to a residence card, displaced persons from Ukraine receive a social insurance number and an e-card replacement slip. Insurance numbers are initiated via the registration of Ukrainian displaced persons and are not issued via the customer service points of the Austrian Health Insurance Fund (→ ÖGK)German text. Further information on health insurance (→ ÖGK)German text and physician search (→ Österreichische Ärztekammer)German text can be found on their respective websites.

Work and job search

The Austrian Public Employment Service (→ AMS) has more information on employment in Austria.

The following platforms, for example, support the job search in Austria:

Further information on job exchanges and vacancies and types of childcare can also be found on oesterreich.gv.at.

Education

Information on free online German courses and learning materials can be found on the Sprachportal (→ ÖIF).

How the Austrian education system is structured and what opportunities it offers are shown in a Ukrainian-language leaflet (→ OeAD). English language information about school can also be found on the BMBWF Website.

In addition to schulpsychologie.at - hotline (school: psychological counseling for students, teachers and guardians) social work counseling for students is offered in Ukrainian and Russian at 0664/883 80 377.

Answers to questions regarding the equivalence of foreign vocational training with the Austrian apprenticeship-leave exam or assessment to determine professional equivalenceGerman text can be found on the website of the BMDW. Within the framework of the recognition of foreign professional qualifications, there is the possibility of a facilitated procedure for the assessment of qualifications.

The Austrian National Union of Students has provided a special emergency aid (→ ÖH) for all students affected by the war in Ukraine. It also offers counseling in Ukrainian and Russian: ukraine@oeh.ac.at.

An overview of all universities and universities of applied sciences in Austria can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Further information on schools and universities, support services, recognition options for degrees and contact options (including, in particular, contact persons in the individual education directorates for families with school-age children) can be found on the BMBWF website:

Family allowance

The entitlement to family allowance for persons expelled from Ukraine exists at the earliest from March 2022 and ends on the day of termination of the temporary right of residence, but no later than March 2024. The application for the granting of family allowance must be submitted to the Tax Authority Austria. An application can be made using the form Familienbeihilfe – Antrag – Beih100 or via FinanzOnline, but not via e-mail. Further information on family allowance for displaced persons from UkraineGerman text can be found on the website of the Federal Chancellery. General information on family allowance in Austria can also be found on oesterreich.gv.at.

Ukraine information of the federal provinces

Information partly in German, English and Ukrainian on arrival centers, registration, accommodation, counseling, etc.

Further information and support services

Not certified translation
Last update: 2 August 2022

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Informationen für ukrainische Staatsangehörige

Інформацію англійською мовою можна знайти тут.

Zahlreiche Menschen wurden aufgrund der kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen aus der Ukraine vertrieben, einige von ihnen suchen auch in Österreich Schutz. Diese Personen benötigen erste Informationen, Kontaktmöglichkeiten und Unterstützungsangebote.

 → FAQs für Vertriebe aus der Ukraine werden auf der Website des Bundesamts für Fremdenwesen und Asyl (BFA) beantwortet.

Einreise und Aufenthalt

Für zentrale Fragestellungen von aus der Ukraine Vertriebene wurde vom Bundeskanzleramt eine Hotline eingerichtet. Beratungen werden neben Ukrainisch in Deutsch und Russisch angeboten. Die Hotline ist unter der Telefonnummer +43 1 715 10 51 – 120 erreichbar.

Informationen zu Erfassung und Aufenthalt und Antworten auf sonstige Fragen finden sich auf der Website des BMI.

Seit 12. März 2022: Vorübergehendes Aufenthaltsrecht in Österreich

Folgende Personen erhalten bis 3. März 2023 ein vorübergehendes Aufenthaltsrecht in Österreich:

  • Ukrainische Staatsangehörige, die ab dem 24. Februar 2022 aus der Ukraine vertrieben worden sind und ihre Familienangehörigen (Ehegatten, eingetragene Partner, minderjährige Kinder, enge Verwandte).
  • In der Ukraine schutzberechtigte Personen (z.B. anerkannte Flüchtlinge), die ab dem 24. Februar aus der Ukraine vertrieben worden sind und ihre Familienangehörigen.
  • Ukrainische Staatsangehörige, die nicht in die Ukraine zurückkehren können und am 24. Februar einen gültigen österreichischen Aufenthaltstitel hatten, der ihnen entzogen wurde oder der nicht verlängert wurde.
  • Ukrainische Staatsangehörige, die nicht in die Ukraine zurückkehren können und die sich am 24. Februar rechtmäßig in Österreich aufgehalten haben. Sie erhalten nach Ablauf ihres visumfreien oder visumpflichtigen Aufenthaltes ebenfalls ein vorübergehendes Aufenthaltsrecht.

Davon ausgeschlossen sind Personen, bei denen angenommen wird, dass sie bestimmte schwere Verbrechen begangen haben.

Personen, die zu einer dieser Gruppen gehören, stellt das BFA einen Ausweis für Vertriebene aus. Dafür müssen sie sich bei den Erfassungsstellen der Polizei registrieren lassen (bei Polizeidienststellen oder in besonderen Aufnahme- oder Registrierungszentren). Mit diesem vorübergehenden Aufenthaltsrecht in Österreich ist es nicht notwendig, einen Asylantrag zu stellen.  Information zum vorübergehenden Aufenthaltsrecht für Vertriebene aus der Ukraine finden sich auf der Website des BFA.

Der vorübergehende Schutz stellt auch den Zugang zu Arbeitsmarkt, Bildung und medizinische Versorgung sicher und gilt ebenso vorerst bis zum 3. März 2023.

Für Personen, die auf Grund von kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen nach Österreich einreisen, gelten keine COVID-19 bedingten Einreisebeschränkungen (Einreise nach Österreich und Pre-Travel-Clearance).

Betreuung und Beratung

Hinweis

Für ukrainische Staatsangehörige hat die Bundesagentur für Betreuungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen (BBU) eine Hotline eingerichtet: +43 1 2676 870 9460. Weitere Informationen für ukrainische Staatsangehörige in Österreich (→ BBU) finden sich online.

Die BBU koordiniert und übernimmt die Grundversorgung von hilfs- und schutzbedürftigen Fremden. Dazu zählen die Unterbringung, Verpflegung, soziale, medizinische und psychologische Betreuung sowie Versorgung mit Gütern des täglichen Bedarfs wie Kleidung.

Wenn keine Unterbringung bei Verwandten möglich ist und keine finanziellen Mittel vorhanden sind, kann eine vorübergehende Unterbringung in einem Nachbarschaftshilfe-Quartier des Bundes oder eines Bundeslandes erfolgen.

Weitere Informationen zu Beratung und Betreuung für Asylwerber, anerkannte Flüchtlinge sowie Migranten finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Medizinische Versorgung

Aus der Ukraine Vertriebene bekommen neben einer Aufenthaltskarte einer Sozialversicherungsnummer und einen e-card-Ersatzbeleg. Versicherungsnummern werden über die Erfassung der ukrainischen Vertriebenen angestoßen und nicht über die Kundenservicestellen der Österreichischen Gesundheitskasse (→ ÖGK) vergeben. Weitere Informationen zur Krankenversicherung (→ ÖGK) und zur Arztsuche (→ Österreichische Ärztekammer) finden sich auf deren jeweiliger Website.

Jobsuche und Arbeiten

Das Arbeitsmarktservice (→ AMS) hat mehr Informationen über das Arbeiten in Österreich.

Folgende Plattformen unterstützen beispielsweise die Jobsuche in Österreich:

Weitere Informationen zu Jobbörsen und Stellenangebote und zu Formen der Kinderbetreuung finden sich ebenfalls  auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Ausbildung

Informationen zu kostenlosen Online-Deutschkursen und Lernmaterialien finden sich im Sprachportal (→ ÖIF).

Wie das österreichische Bildungssystem aufgebaut ist und welche Möglichkeiten es bietet, wird in einem ukrainischsprachigen Faltblatt (→ OeAD) aufgezeigt. Englischsprachige Informationen zur Schule finden sich auch auf der Website des BMBWF.

Neben der schulpsychologie.at - Hotline wird sozialarbeiterische Beratung für Schülerinnen/Schüler in Ukrainisch und Russisch unter der Telefonnummer 0664/883 80 377 angeboten.

Antworten zur Fragen der Gleichhaltung einer ausländischen Berufsausbildung mit der österreichischen Lehrabschlussprüfung oder Bewertung zur Feststellung der fachlichen Entsprechung finden sich auf der Website des BMAW. Im Rahmen der Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsabschlüsse besteht die Möglichkeit eines erleichterten Verfahrens zur Bewertung von Qualifikationen.

Die Österreichische Hochschüler/innenschaft hat für alle vom Ukrainekrieg betroffene Studierende ein eigenes Soforthilfepaket (→ ÖH) zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie bietet darüber hinaus Beratung in ukrainischer und russischer Sprache an: ukraine@oeh.ac.at

Eine Übersicht über alle Universitäten und Fachhochschulen in Österreich findet sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Weitere Informationen zu Schulen und Hochschulen, Unterstützungsangeboten, Anerkennungsmöglichkeiten von Abschlüssen sowie Kontaktmöglichkeiten (insbesondere auch Ansprechpersonen in den einzelnen Bildungsdirektionen für Familien mit schulpflichtigen Kindern) finden sich auf der Website des BMBWF:

Familienbeihilfe

Der Familienbeihilfeanspruch für aus der Ukraine vertriebene Personen besteht frühestens ab März 2022 und endet mit dem Tag der Beendigung des vorrübergehenden Aufenthaltsrechts, spätestens jedoch im März 2024. Der Antrag auf die Gewährung der Familienbeihilfe ist beim Finanzamt Österreich zu stellen. Eine Antragstellung ist mit dem Formular Familienbeihilfe – Antrag – Beih100 oder über FinanzOnline möglich, nicht jedoch via E-Mail. Weitere Informationen zur Familienbeihilfe für aus der Ukraine Vertriebene finden sich auf der Website des Bundeskanzleramtes. Allgemeine Informationen zur Familienbeihilfe in Österreich finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Ukraine-Informationen der Bundesländer

Informationen zum Teil in deutscher, englischer und ukrainischer Sprache zu Ankunftszentren, Registrierung, Unterbringung, Beratung  etc.

Weitere Informationen und Unterstützungsangebote

Letzte Aktualisierung: 2. August 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion