Getting married in Austria without a place of residence (‘tourist weddings’)

People can also get married in Austria if they do not have Austrian citizenship or a place of residence in Austria.

Legal validity of the marriage

Under Austrian law, a marriage comes into being in a legally valid form if it is concluded by means of a civil marriage ceremony. However, it should be verified whether there are stricter conditions governing marriages under the law of the country of origin in order to ensure that the marriage is also recognised in the country of origin. Information on this can be provided by the respective diplomatic representations in Austria (→ BMEIA)German text.

Same-sex marriage

In Austria, same-sex couples can also get married. Under Austrian law, if the law applicable in accordance with the personal status (generally the law in the country of nationality) does not permit one or both future spouses to marry on the basis of the sex of one or both of the future spouses, in accordance with Austrian law, the conditions for marriage must be assessed in accordance with the law of the country in which the marriage takes place. In the case of a marriage ceremony in Austria, that would be Austrian law. Please note: this marriage will not, however, automatically be legally recognised in all other countries.

Registering to get married

It is possible to register to get married at any registry office in Austria.

Whether there is a requirement for certification of the marriage certificate in international legal transactions (legalisation) or an Apostille – a simplified form of legalisation – will also depend on whether an agreement has been concluded between Austria and the respective country of origin on legal transactions involving documents taking place between the two states.

Vienna

In Vienna, the department for tourist weddings must be contacted via touristenhochzeit@ma63.wien.gv.at if someone does not have a place of residence in Austria.

Foreign-language documents must be submitted

  • in an international format; or
  • with a translation into German by a court translator

Salzburg

The city of Salzburg also offers a special service for bridal couples from other countries. Anyone who does not have Austrian nationality or must provide evidence of their civil status abroad can also contact the city of Salzburg by telephone for information: +43 662 8072 – 3510.

In Salzburg, the original copy of foreign-language documents must be submitted together with a translation certified in Austria. If it is necessary to submit an original document in a foreign language together with a certified translation, as a general rule the translation may only be carried out by sworn and legally certified translators.

Further information about registering to get married in Austria can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Changing your name after marriage

In principle, the law relating to names is governed by the legal provisions in the country of nationality of the person concerned. It should also be checked whether the marriage in Austria needs to be reported to the diplomatic representation of the respective country of origin (→ BMEIA)German text.

Further information on changing your name after marriage, the legal implications of marriage – obligations in a marriage and marriage for international couples can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Further links

Legal basis

Sections 16, 17 IPR-Gesetz

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Justice

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Eheschließung in Österreich ohne Wohnsitz ("Touristenhochzeit")

In Österreich können auch Personen heiraten, die weder die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft besitzen noch einen Wohnsitz in Österreich haben.

Rechtsgültigkeit der Ehe

Eine Ehe ist nach österreichischem Recht formwirksam zustande gekommen, wenn sie durch eine standesamtliche Trauung geschlossen wurde. Darüber hinaus sollte jedoch das Vorliegen strengerer Eheschließungsvoraussetzungen nach dem jeweiligen Heimatrecht überprüft werden, damit die Eheschließung auch im Heimatstaat anerkannt wird. Informationen darüber geben die jeweiligen Vertretungsbehörden in Österreich (→ BMEIA).

Gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe

In Österreich können auch gleichgeschlechtliche Paare heiraten. Nach österreichischem Recht gilt: Wenn das nach dem Personalstatut anzuwendende Recht (in der Regel das Recht des Staates, dessen Staatsbürgerschaft jemand besitzt) eines oder beider Verlobten die Eheschließung wegen des Geschlechts eines oder beider Verlobten nicht vorsieht, so sind nach österreichischem Recht die Voraussetzungen der Eheschließung nach dem Recht des Staates zu beurteilen, in dem die Ehe begründet wird. Das wäre dann bei einer Eheschließung in Österreich, österreichisches Recht. Achtung: Diese Eheschließung wird jedoch nicht automatisch in allen anderen Ländern rechtlich anerkannt.

Anmeldung zur Eheschließung

Die Anmeldung zur Eheschließung kann bei jedem Standesamt in Österreich vorgenommen werden.

Ob eine Beglaubigung der Heiratsurkunde im internationalen Rechtsverkehr (Legalisation) der Heiratsurkunde bzw. eine Apostille – eine vereinfachte Form der Legalisation erforderlich ist, hängt auch davon ab, ob zwischen Österreich und dem jeweiligen Heimatstaat ein Abkommen über den untereinander stattfindenden Rechtsverkehr mit Urkunden getroffen wurde.

Wien

In Wien ist das Referat für Touristenhochzeiten unter touristenhochzeit@ma63.wien.gv.at zu kontaktieren, wenn jemand keinen Wohnsitz in Österreich hat.

Fremdsprachige Urkunden müssen

  • in internationaler Ausfertigung oder
  • mit einer Übersetzung in die deutsche Sprache von einer Gerichtsdolmetscherin/einem Gerichtsdolmetscher

vorgelegt werden.

Salzburg

Auch die Stadt Salzburg bietet den Brautpaaren aus anderen Ländern ein besonderes Service an. Wer nicht die österreichische Staatsangehörigkeit hat bzw. Personenstandsfälle im Ausland vorzuweisen hat, hat zudem die Möglichkeit, sich bei der Stadt Salzburg telefonisch zu informieren: +43 662 8072 – 3510.

In Salzburg müssen fremdsprachige Urkunden im Original gemeinsam mit einer in Österreich beglaubigten Übersetzung vorgelegt werden. Wenn eine fremdsprachige Urkunde im Original gemeinsam mit einer beglaubigten Übersetzung vorgelegt werden muss, darf die Übersetzung in der Regel nur von beeideten und gerichtlich zertifizierten Dolmetscherinnen/Dolmetschern vorgenommen werden.

Weitere Informationen zur Anmeldung zur Eheschließung in Österreich finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at

Namensänderungen nach der Heirat

Das Namensrecht unterliegt grundsätzlich den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen des Staates, dessen Staatsbürgerschaft die betroffene Person besitzt. Zu prüfen ist auch, ob die Heirat in Österreich bei der Vertretungsbehörde des jeweiligen Heimatstaates (→ BMEIA) gemeldet werden muss.

Weitere Informationen zu Namensänderung im Zusammenhang mit einer Eheschließung, Rechtliche Auswirkungen der Heirat − Pflichten in der Ehe sowie Heirat internationaler Paare finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

§§ 16, 17 IPR-Gesetz

Letzte Aktualisierung: 5. August 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Justiz