Checklist – Employment and financial matters after the birth of a child

Notification of maternity leave to the employer

Employees are entitled to parental leave during the first two years of the child’s life (up to and including the day before the second birthday) if they live with the child in the same household.

Parental leave following the protection period must be notified to the employer by the mother within that period (usually 8 weeks after the birth), and by the father no later than 8 weeks after the birth.

If the parent who initially takes care of the child is not entitled to parental leave (e.g. self-employed persons, students, homemakers), and if the employed parent takes parental leave at a later date, he or she must give notice of the parental leave at least three months before it begins.

The parental leave should be notified to the employer in a verifiable manner, for example by registered letter.

The employer must issue confirmation of the start and duration of the parental leave. The confirmation serves as proof that the other parent is not benefiting from parental leave at the same time. It must be signed by both the employer and the employee. Such confirmations are exempt from stamp fees and federal administrative levies.

More detailed information about "parental leave and partial parental leave"German text can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Family allowances

Since 1 May 2015, family allowances for the birth of a child have been available without the need to apply for them. The data of the child born in Austria and the civil status data of the parents are recorded by the registry office in the Central Civil Status Register. The Federal Ministry of the Interior (responsible for keeping the Central Civil Status Register) then transmits this data to the tax authorities. On the basis of the electronic data available, the tax authorities will automatically check whether all the conditions for the granting and disbursement of family allowances are met and all the information required for that purpose is present.

If this is the case, the parents do not need to do anything else and do not need to fill out a family allowance application or contact their local tax office. You will receive an information letter from the tax authorities informing you of your entitlement to family allowances for your child. At the same time as this letter is sent, the family allowance amount will be transferred to your account.

If the tax authorities still require information, such as the account number (IBANBIC), the parents are asked to provide the missing data or to answer any questions that are still unanswered. There is also no need to apply for family allowances in this case. It is sufficient to return the information letter with the answers and any supporting documents.

In all other cases, it is still necessary to apply for the granting of family allowances. The application for family allowances can be submitted to the tax office of the place of residence electronically via FinanzOnline.

Advice

The child tax credits are automatically paid out together with the family allowances. They do not have to be applied for separately.

Detailed information about family allowances and cross-border family benefits in the EU can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Applying for childcare allowance

The childcare allowance can be applied for at the earliest on the day of the birth. The amount of the childcare allowance is linked to the extent to which the first ten mother-child health passport examinations have been carried out correctly and documented (five for the mother during pregnancy and five for the child after the birth).

There are various disbursement variants. In contrast to the flat-rate childcare allowance, the earnings-related childcare allowance is granted only to those persons who have actually engaged in gainful employment subject to compulsory insurance under the social security scheme in Austria in the 182 calendar days preceding the birth of the child. The flat-rate childcare allowance is also granted to those groups of persons who are not/have not been gainfully employed or compulsorily insured. These include, for example, homemakers, students or those in minor employment.

Other conditions are that the child must live in the same household, and entitlement to or actual receipt of family allowances for the child.

An application for childcare allowance must be made to the competent authority. This is:

  • the sickness insurance institution from which the maternity benefit or operating aid is or was received;
  • otherwise, the sickness insurance institution with which one of the parents is (co-)insured or was last (co-)insured;
  • in all other cases: the location of the Austrian Health Insurance Fund (Österreichische Gesundheitskasse) to which the application for childcare allowance is submitted.

The application can be submitted in person, in writing or electronically (with a Citizen Card or mobile phone signature or via FinanzOnline).

In principle, recipients of maternity allowance should receive the forms automatically, but they can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

The original copy of the application form must be completed in full, signed and submitted to the competent authority or electronically signed and sent. The necessary documentation must be attached. Where applications are submitted electronically, they may subsequently have to be submitted in person or by post.

If you wish to take turns receiving the childcare allowance with the other parent, the second parent must submit a separate application. If this results in two applications for the same period, written notification of the termination and of the receiving parent’s consent to the change is required. As a check of the eligibility requirements can only be carried out towards the start of entitlement, however, it is recommended that the application not be submitted until around four to six weeks before the planned change. The other parent is bound to the variant already chosen and therefore cannot choose another variant.

Low-income recipients of one of the flat-rate variants of the childcare allowance can additionally apply for a supplement to the flat-rate childcare allowance. The supplement to the flat-rate childcare allowance can be applied for at the earliest at the same time as the childcare allowance.

Detailed information about the childcare allowance and the supplement to the flat-rate childcare allowance for newborn babies can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Partnership bonus

If the parents have received the childcare allowance in approximately equal proportions (50:50 to 60:40) and for a period of at least 124 days each, they can apply for a partnership bonus of EUR 1 000.

Detailed information about the Partnership bonus can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Family-time bonus for fathers

It is possible to obtain financial support for fathers who devote themselves to the family immediately after the birth (so-called ‘family-time bonus’). In order to receive it, all gainful employment must be ceased temporarily.

Detailed information about cross-border family benefits in the EU can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Annual tax assessment/tax allowances and relief for families

  • Sole breadwinner’s allowance, single parent’s allowance
  • Tax credits for maintenance
  • Anyone who can demonstrate that he/she pays statutory maintenance for a child who does not live in the same household is entitled to monthly tax credits for maintenance.
  • Tax relief for children
  • Tax relief for children can be claimed up to and including the assessment for the 2018 calendar year.
  • Family Bonus Plus
  • As from 2019, the Family Bonus Plus replaces the tax deductibility of childcare costs and the tax relief for children. The Family Bonus Plus is a tax deduction of EUR 1 500 per child per year until the child reaches the age of 18. After the child’s 18th birthday, parents are entitled to a reduced Family Bonus Plus of EUR 500 per year, provided that they receive family allowances for that child.

The child tax credits are automatically paid out together with the family allowances. Detailed information about tax allowances and relief for families, annual tax assessments and income tax returns can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Maintenance payments

Parents must pay child maintenance for their children in equal proportions until the point at which they are able to support themselves. Detailed information about maintenance can be found at oesterreich.gv.at. Further information (also in English) about Maintenance – Austria can also be found for EU citizens on the European e-Justice Portal.

Mother-child health passport examinations for the child

As a general rule, the first mother-child health passport examination for the child must be conducted in the first week of the child’s life. Five medical examinations of the child are scheduled for the first 14 months of the child’s life. It is recommended that a hip ultrasound examination be conducted in the first and in the sixth, seventh or eighth week of the child’s life. Four further medical examinations of the child are scheduled for the period running up to 62nd month of the child’s life.

In order to receive childcare allowance, the five examinations during pregnancy and the five examinations during the first 14 months of the child’s life must be correctly carried out and documented. Since failure to carry out an examination (or several examinations), late examinations and failure to provide proof of the examinations to the sickness insurance fund will lead to a reduction in the childcare allowance (from the age of 25, 17, 13 or ten months, depending on the type of benefit chosen), the examinations must be carried out within the prescribed periods. Only under certain circumstances is it possible to deviate from the prescribed examination dates.

Information about the examination programme can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Extension of parental leave – Notifying the employer

Up until three months before the end of the notified parental leave at the latest, it is possible to inform the employer that the leave is to be extended and to specify the amount of time by which it is to be extended (the extension cannot go beyond the point at which the child reaches the age of two). If parental leave of less than three months was originally notified, the extension must be notified two months before the end of that period.

More detailed information about "parental leave and partial parental leave" can also be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 21 April 2021

Responsible for the content: oesterreich.gv.at Editorial Staff

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Checkliste − Beruf und Finanzielles nach der Geburt eines Kindes

Meldung der Karenz an den Arbeitgeber

Arbeitnehmerinnen/ Arbeitnehmer haben Anspruch auf Karenz bis zum Ablauf des zweiten Lebensjahres (Tag vor dem zweiten Geburtstag) des Kindes, wenn sie mit dem Kind im gemeinsamen Haushalt leben.

Eine Karenz im Anschluss an die Schutzfrist muss die Mutter innerhalb dieser Frist (in der Regel 8 Wochen ab der Geburt), der Vater spätestens acht Wochen nach der Geburt der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber bekannt geben.

Hat der Elternteil, der das Kind zunächst betreut, keinen Anspruch auf Karenz (z.B. Selbstständige, Studierende, Hausfrauen/Hausmänner), und nimmt der unselbständig erwerbstätige Elternteil zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt Karenz, hat er die Karenz mindestens drei Monate vor Beginn bekannt zu geben.

Die Meldung der Karenz an die Arbeitgeberin/den Arbeitgeber sollte in nachweislicher Form erfolgen, beispielsweise als eingeschriebener Brief.

Die Arbeitgeberin/der Arbeitgeber muss eine Bestätigung über den Beginn und die Dauer der Karenz ausstellen. Die Bestätigung dient dem Nachweis, dass der andere Elternteil zur selben Zeit keine Karenz in Anspruch nimmt. Sie ist sowohl von der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber als auch von der Arbeitnehmerin/dem Arbeitnehmer zu unterfertigen. Derartige Bestätigungen sind von Stempelgebühren und Bundesverwaltungsabgaben befreit.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Thema "Elternkarenz und Elternteilzeit" finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Familienbeihilfe

Seit 1. Mai 2015 gibt es die antraglose Familienbeihilfe bei der Geburt eines Kindes. Die Daten des im Inland geborenen Kindes sowie die Personenstandsdaten der Eltern werden durch das Standesamt im Zentralen Personenstandsregister (ZPR) erfasst. Anschließend werden diese Daten vom Bundesministerium für Inneres (Betreiber des Zentralen Personenstandsregisters) der Finanzverwaltung übermittelt. Die Finanzverwaltung wird auf Basis der vorliegenden elektronischen Daten automatisiert prüfen, ob alle Voraussetzungen und Informationen für die Gewährung und Auszahlung der Familienbeihilfe vorliegen.

Ist dies der Fall, brauchen die Eltern nichts weiter zu tun und weder einen Familienbeihilfenantrag auszufüllen noch mit ihrem zuständigen Finanzamt Kontakt aufzunehmen. Sie erhalten von der Finanzverwaltung ein Informationsschreiben, das sie über den Familienbeihilfenanspruch für ihr Kind informiert. Zeitgleich mit diesem Schreiben wird der Familienbeihilfenbetrag auf ihr Konto überwiesen.

Fehlen der Finanzverwaltung noch Informationen, wie beispielsweise die Kontonummer (IBANBIC), so werden die Eltern ersucht, die fehlenden Daten bekannt zu geben bzw. noch offene Fragen zu beantworten. Auch in diesem Fall muss kein Familienbeihilfenantrag gestellt werden. Es genügt, das Informationsschreiben mit den Antworten und eventuellen Nachweisen zurückzuschicken.

In allen anderen Fällen ist − nach wie vor − ein Antrag auf die Gewährung der Familienbeihilfe notwendig. Der Familienbeihilfenantrag kann elektronisch über FinanzOnline an das Wohnsitzfinanzamt übermittelt werden.

Hinweis

Der Kinderabsetzbetrag wird automatisch gemeinsam mit der Familienbeihilfe ausbezahlt. Er muss nicht gesondert beantragt werden.

Ausführliche Informationen zu den Themen Familienbeihilfe und Grenzüberschreitenden Familienleistungen in der EU finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Kinderbetreuungsgeld beantragen

Das Kinderbetreuungsgeld kann frühestens am Tag der Geburt beantragt werden. Die Höhe des Kinderbetreuungsgeldes ist an die korrekte Durchführung und den Nachweis der ersten zehn Mutter-Kind-Pass-Untersuchungen (fünf der Mutter während der Schwangerschaft und fünf des Kindes nach der Geburt) gekoppelt.

Es gibt verschiedene Auszahlungsvarianten. Im Unterschied zum pauschalen Kinderbetreuungsgeld wird das einkommensabhängige Kinderbetreuungsgeld nur solchen Personen gewährt, die in den letzten 182  Kalendertagen vor der Geburt des Kindes eine sozialversicherungspflichtige Erwerbstätigkeit in Österreich tatsächlich ausgeübt haben. Das pauschale Kinderbetreuungsgeld wird auch jenen Personengruppen gewährt, die nicht erwerbstätig oder pflichtversichert sind/waren. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Hausfrauen/Hausmänner, Studierende oder geringfügig Beschäftigte.

Weitere Voraussetzungen sind ein gemeinsamer Haushalt mit dem Kind und Anspruch bzw. tatsächlicher Bezug der Familienbeihilfe für das Kind.

Das Kinderbetreuungsgeld muss bei der jeweils zuständigen Stelle beantragt werden. Diese ist:

  • Der Krankenversicherungsträger, bei dem Wochengeld oder Betriebshilfe bezogen wird bzw. wurde
  • Ansonsten der Krankenversicherungsträger, bei dem ein Elternteil (mit-)versichert ist oder zuletzt (mit-)versichert war
  • In allen anderen Fällen: der Standort der Österreichischen Gesundheitskasse, bei dem der Antrag auf Kinderbetreuungsgeld gestellt wird

Die Antragstellung kann persönlich, schriftlich oder elektronisch (mit Bürgerkarte bzw. Handy-Signatur oder über FinanzOnline) erfolgen.

Wochengeldbezieherinnen erhalten die Formulare grundsätzlich automatisch zugesendet, sie finden sich aber auch auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Das Antragsformular muss vollständig ausgefüllt und unterschrieben im Original bei der zuständigen Stelle eingereicht bzw. elektronisch signiert und abgesendet werden. Die erforderlichen Unterlagen müssen beigelegt werden. Bei elektronischer Antragstellung müssen diese gegebenenfalls persönlich oder per Post nachgereicht werden.

Wenn Sie sich beim Bezug des Kinderbetreuungsgeldes mit dem anderen Elternteil abwechseln möchten, muss der zweite Elternteil einen eigenen Antrag stellen. Die schriftliche Bekanntgabe der Beendigung und Zustimmung zum Wechsel durch den beziehenden Elternteil ist notwendig, wenn dadurch für denselben Zeitraum zwei Anträge vorliegen. Da eine Überprüfung der Anspruchsvoraussetzungen jedoch erst zeitnahe zum Bezugsbeginn erfolgen kann, wird empfohlen, den Antrag erst etwa vier bis sechs Wochen vor dem geplanten Wechsel zu stellen. Der andere Elternteil ist an die bereits gewählte Variante gebunden und kann daher keine andere Variante wählen.

Einkommensschwache Bezieherinnen/einkommensschwache Bezieher einer der Pauschalvarianten des Kinderbetreuungsgeldes (KBG) können zusätzlich eine Beihilfe zum pauschalen Kinderbetreuungsgeld beantragen. Die Beihilfe zum pauschalen Kinderbetreuungsgeld kann frühestens gleichzeitig mit dem Kinderbetreuungsgeld beantragt werden.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Kinderbetreuungsgeld sowie zur Beihilfe zum pauschalen Kinderbetreuungsgeld für Geburten finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Partnerschaftsbonus

Haben die Eltern das Kinderbetreuungsgeld zu annähernd gleichen Teilen (50:50 bis 60:40) und mindestens im Ausmaß von je 124 Tagen bezogen, so können sie einen Partnerschaftsbonus in der Höhe von 1.000 Euro beantragen. 

Ausführliche Informationen zum Partnerschaftsbonus finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Familienzeitbonus für Väter

Es gibt die Möglichkeit, auf Antrag eine finanzielle Unterstützung für Väter zu erhalten, die sich direkt nach der Geburt der Familie widmen (sogenannter "Familienzeitbonus"). Dafür müssen alle Erwerbstätigkeiten vorübergehend eingestellt werden.

Ausführliche Informationen zu Grenzüberschreitenden Familienleistungen in der EU finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Arbeitnehmerveranlagung/Absetz- und Freibeträge für Familien

  • Alleinverdiener- oder Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag
  • Unterhaltsabsetzbetrag
  • Wer für ein Kind, welches nicht im selben Haushalt wohnt, nachweislich gesetzlichen Unterhalt zahlt, hat Anspruch auf einen monatlichen Unterhaltsabsetzbetrag 
  • Kinderfreibetrag
    Der Kinderfreibetrag kann bis einschließlich der Veranlagung für das Kalenderjahr 2018 geltend gemacht werden.
  • Familienbonus Plus
    Ab dem Jahr 2019 ersetzt der Familienbonus Plus die steuerliche Abzugsfähigkeit der Kinderbetreuungskosten und den Kinderfreibetrag. Der Familienbonus Plus ist ein Steuerabsetzbetrag in der Höhe von 1.500 Euro pro Kind und Jahr bis zum 18. Lebensjahr des Kindes. Nach dem 18. Geburtstag des Kindes steht ein reduzierter Familienbonus Plus in Höhe von 500 Euro jährlich zu, sofern für dieses Kind Familienbeihilfe bezogen wird.

Der Kinderabsetzbetrag wird automatisch gemeinsam mit der Familienbeihilfe ausbezahlt. Ausführliche Informationen zu Absetz- und Freibeträgen für Familien, zur Arbeitnehmerveranlagung bzw. zur Einkommensteuererklärung finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Unterhaltsleistungen

Eltern müssen gegenüber ihren Kindern bis zu deren Selbsterhaltungsfähigkeit anteilig Kindesunterhalt leisten. Ausführliche Informationen zum Unterhalt finden sich auf oesterreich.gv.at. Weitere Informationen (auch in Englischer Sprache) zum Unterhalt - Österreich finden sich für EU-Bürgerinnen/EU-Bürger auch im Europäischen Justizportal.

Mutter-Kind-Pass-Untersuchungen des Kindes

Die erste Mutter-Kind-Pass-Untersuchung des Kindes muss grundsätzlich in der 1. Lebenswoche vorgenommen werden. In den ersten 14 Lebensmonaten sind fünf ärztliche Untersuchungen des Kindes vorgesehen. In der 1. und in der 6., 7. oder 8. Lebenswoche des Kindes wird jeweils eine Hüftultraschalluntersuchung empfohlen. Bis zum 62. Lebensmonat sind vier weitere ärztliche Untersuchungen des Kindes vorgesehen.

Für den Bezug von Kinderbetreuungsgeld müssen die fünf Untersuchungen während der Schwangerschaft und die fünf Untersuchungen in den ersten 14 Lebensmonaten des Kindes korrekt durchgeführt und nachgewiesen werden. Da die Nichtdurchführung einer Untersuchung (oder mehrerer Untersuchungen), verspätete Untersuchungen sowie das Unterlassen des Nachweises der Untersuchungen bei der Krankenkasse zu einer Kürzung des Kinderbetreuungsgeldes (je nach gewählter Leistungsart ab dem 25., 17., 13. oder 10. Lebensmonat) führen, sollten die Untersuchungen unbedingt in den vorgeschriebenen Zeiträumen durchgeführt werden. Nur unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen ist eine Abweichung von den vorgeschriebenen Untersuchungsterminen möglich.

Informationen zum Untersuchungsprogramm finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Verlängerung der Karenz – Meldung an den Arbeitgeber

Spätestens drei Monate vor dem Ende der gemeldeten Karenz kann der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber bekannt gegeben werden, dass die Karenz verlängert werden soll und wie lange (höchstens bis zum Ablauf des zweiten Lebensjahres des Kindes). Wurde ursprünglich eine Karenz von weniger als drei Monaten gemeldet, muss die Verlängerung erst zwei Monate vor dem Ende gemeldet werden.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Thema "Elternkarenz und Elternteilzeit" finden sich ebenfalls auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Inhaltlicher Stand: 25. Mai 2020

Abgenommen durch: oesterreich.gv.at-Redaktion